• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 11 General Discussion

Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
2,531 (0.69/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling OEZM HSK | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 6450 | Onboard
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Hmm I remember installing off brand drivers for my ATI card at the time "Can't remember the name" but was BSOD after BSOD
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
4,748 (3.08/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Street Meat
Processor AMD R7 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-XE
Cooling Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN750 1TB, SN750 500GB, Asus Hyper M.2, 2x Intel 545S 256GB, 1TB Toshiba spinner
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA G+ 750, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Reminds me of old skool versions of Windows, where I had to reformat and reinstall Windows! Including a crash, possibly even after uninstalling the 3rd party video driver before changing the video card. :(
Ahh the good old days, kinda miss them kinda don’t..
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,351 (6.20/day)
Location
USA
It's a fantastic repair feature for windows 8/10/11 - as it installs a new OS, undoes errors, corruption, and dumb user changes - but leaves files, programs and user content alone.
Oh, you're talking about a repair install through install media. I've done plenty of those, and they work about 95% of the time.

Ahh the good old days, kinda miss them kinda don’t..
Right there with you.
 
Last edited:

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
4,748 (3.08/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Street Meat
Processor AMD R7 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-XE
Cooling Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN750 1TB, SN750 500GB, Asus Hyper M.2, 2x Intel 545S 256GB, 1TB Toshiba spinner
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA G+ 750, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
She's boppin out the Flops, but something doesn't seem right..

Screenshot 2021-11-14 103447.png
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,801 (0.53/day)
Location
Northants. UK
System Name Bad Moon Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 7 5700X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Pro4-F
Cooling Vetroo V5
Memory Crucial Ballistix 32Gb (8gb x 4) 3200 MHz DDR 4
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 3080 GAMING Z TRIO 12GB LHR
Storage Samsung 860 Evo 1Tb, Samsung 860 Evo 500Gb,WD Black 8Tb, WD Blue 2Tb
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG270bmiix & 4K Samsung TV
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 Compact w/Dark Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply MSI MPG A850GF (850w)
VR HMD Rift S
I might be overlooking it. What doesn't seem right?
Cache benchmark, it's the same story on my system, irregular results but game performance seems unaffected so I'm not really bothered :)
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
55,573 (8.37/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
249GB/s, she's fiiiiiiiiine
(it should be over 1000 on that system, lex)


Nice memory latency tho, 3200 C14 showing its teeth again
 
Joined
May 17, 2021
Messages
1,948 (3.42/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard B550 Elite
Cooling Hyperx 212
Memory 32GB Fury Beast DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 3060 ti gaming oc pro
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1TB, WD SN850x 1TB, plus some random HDDs
Display(s) LG 27gp850 1440p 165Hz 27''
Case Lian Li Lancool II performance
Power Supply MSI 750w
Mouse G502
Joined
May 17, 2021
Messages
1,948 (3.42/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard B550 Elite
Cooling Hyperx 212
Memory 32GB Fury Beast DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 3060 ti gaming oc pro
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1TB, WD SN850x 1TB, plus some random HDDs
Display(s) LG 27gp850 1440p 165Hz 27''
Case Lian Li Lancool II performance
Power Supply MSI 750w
Mouse G502
This problem is completely negated if you remove(delete/uninstall) Edge.

BTW, screw you on this one microsoft. :slap:

I don't have W11 installed but if it is like W10 you can't unistall it, at least not normally like other apps. Sure there are always ways, but most people don't know about them.
 
D

Deleted member 24505

Guest
This problem is completely negated if you remove(delete/uninstall) Edge.

BTW, screw you on this one microsoft. :slap:

I have removed edge, have chrome set as default. that article is saying, if win gets a call for edge, you get a blank window? instead of it opening edge. Well i can't say i have had any blank windows pop up, so maybe completely removing it does indeed do the trick
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,351 (6.20/day)
Location
USA
I have removed edge, have chrome set as default. that article is saying, if win gets a call for edge, you get a blank window? instead of it opening edge. Well i can't say i have had any blank windows pop up, so maybe completely removing it does indeed do the trick
It does.

@lexluthermiester
Would this work? if not how did you completely uninstall it?
View attachment 225280
No. I've tried that. It's one of the very few packages that can be removed. It works on Edge, but system and startmenu links will remain. They just won't do anything. It's best to use custom ISO's to install Windows, but these methods are good for situation where that is not an easy to use a custom ISO.
 
D

Deleted member 24505

Guest
It does.


No. I've tried that. It's one of the very few packages that can be removed. It works on Edge, but system and startmenu links will remain. They just won't do anything. It's best to use custom ISO's to install Windows, but these methods are good for situation where that is not an easy to use a custom ISO.

Is there a way i can scrub it from my system without a reinstall?
 
Joined
May 17, 2021
Messages
1,948 (3.42/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard B550 Elite
Cooling Hyperx 212
Memory 32GB Fury Beast DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 3060 ti gaming oc pro
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1TB, WD SN850x 1TB, plus some random HDDs
Display(s) LG 27gp850 1440p 165Hz 27''
Case Lian Li Lancool II performance
Power Supply MSI 750w
Mouse G502
You need a utility to help do so, but it is easily done. OpenShell has a function to do so, as does CCleaner.

Sure, but i don't think you got my point. It's a shitty move because MS knows full well that 90% will never go search/know what to search/care to search.
That's how i read the article too, this is another push from them to get more people to use their browser, after that fiasco some years ago with the EU and the fines.

There also those "you aren't using the recomended web browsing tool" or whatever the BS they put even on W10.

Anyway kind of sidetracking the topic, sorry about that
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
2,054 (0.47/day)
Location
Right where I want to be
System Name Miami
Processor Ryzen 3800X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VII Formula
Cooling Ek Velocity/ 2x 280mm Radiators/ Alphacool fullcover
Memory F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) XFX 6900 XT Speedster 0
Storage 1TB WD M.2 SSD/ 2TB WD SN750/ 4TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) DELL AW3420DW / HP ZR24w
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 1000W+750W
Mouse Corsair Scimitar/Glorious Model O-
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
Is TPM really Treacherous Computing? Whose agenda is being followed?
I've always wandered if it was just a smoke screen and never believed for a minute that TPM is supposed to make us more secure.

I already threw that out there when the requirements were first made public and that notion was as well received as random babble from a tin foil hat wearing individual. What people don't realize is that this even has the potential to circumvent VPNs, and other current methods used to obfuscate a user's identity online.
 
Low quality post by outpt
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
394 (0.29/day)
Location
Texas
Processor AMD R9 5950x
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk
Memory corsair vengeance rgb pro 32gb
Video Card(s) Power Color Red Dragon Rx 6800 16gb
Storage nvmex2 ssdx2 4tb wd spinner for storeage
Display(s) LG Ultra Gear 1440p 32" 165hz hdr monitor
Case Corsair icue 220t rgb
Mouse logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software W10
Long time before I put this crap system again on my machine.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
107 (0.15/day)
Processor AMD 5800X
Motherboard MSI MPG B550 GAMING EDGE WIFI
Cooling Water Cooler SilverStone PF360-ARGB
Memory HyperX Fury, 32GB (4x8GB), 3600MHz, DDR4, CL17, HX436C17FB3K4/32
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT Sapphire Nitro+ OC
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 34"
Power Supply Sharkoon 850W, 80 Plus Gold, SilentStorm CoolZero
Software Windows 11 21H2 Build 22000.318
I installed Windows 11 a few days ago and so far my experience has been very good. Only annoying thing was the snipping tool not working, but that's working fine now. I do have a Windows 10 installed just in case Microsoft screws me over :p
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
1,338 (0.80/day)
Location
London, UK
Anybody care to look into my issue if any of you have had a similar one?

"I have been with youtube issues lately, but I think it might be windows 11 update .net not nvidia geforce drivers, for what is worth, will update to this drivers just in case.
Edge works without any problem on youtube, then if you install chrome, chrome will not work on youtube, however if you install firefox, chrome will work on youtube, firefox will not. On firefox connection says 51kbps buffer health dead, on edge connection is at 100.000 kbps on chrome too. If i uninstall firefox then chrome will have that same firefox issue, 51kbps and dead buffer. On edge videos are loaded, if I instal chrome, chrome will not load videos but will keep trying to load but it never does, if i install firefox, chrome will load videos without issues but firefox will not load at all, I believe this is windows 11 issue, messy."


Anyway, firefox stopped loading videos after an update, before the update, everything was all right, .net update I think, but when I deleted the update, issue was still there, i guess it messed up something up there. Funny part is even after a clean install, youtube videos would not load on firefox. I wonder if the issue is on firefox part. Tried everything, turning off the firewall did not help, removing windows auto proxy did not help, changing connections without proxy or with proxy did not help either.

My mobile and other computers in my house work without any issues on youtube, mobile is android, computers are windows 10, so not a router or isp issue here either..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,351 (6.20/day)
Location
USA
Anybody care to look into my issue if any of you have had a similar one?

"I have been with youtube issues lately, but I think it might be windows 11 update .net not nvidia geforce drivers, for what is worth, will update to this drivers just in case.
Edge works without any problem on youtube, then if you install chrome, chrome will not work on youtube, however if you install firefox, chrome will work on youtube, firefox will not. On firefox connection says 51kbps buffer health dead, on edge connection is at 100.000 kbps on chrome too. If i uninstall firefox then chrome will have that same firefox issue, 51kbps and dead buffer. On edge videos are loaded, if I instal chrome, chrome will not load videos but will keep trying to load but it never does, if i install firefox, chrome will load videos without issues but firefox will not load at all, I believe this is windows 11 issue, messy."


Anyway, firefox stopped loading videos after an update, before the update, everything was all right, .net update I think, but when I deleted the update, issue was still there, i guess it messed up something up there.
I haven't seen any problems like what you just described. Nothing even close.

Anyone else?
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
1,338 (0.80/day)
Location
London, UK
I haven't seen any problems like what you just described. Nothing even close.

Anyone else?
Yeah, same here, to tell you the truth, I'm scared hehe

Code:
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 22000) (22000.co_release.210604-1628)
                 Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
      System Manufacturer: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd
             System Model: MS-7B86
                     BIOS: 1.H4 (type: UEFI)
                Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12-Core Processor             (24 CPUs), ~4.0GHz
                   Memory: 32768MB RAM
      Available OS Memory: 32692MB RAM
                Page File: 25228MB used, 12584MB available
              Windows Dir: C:\Windows
          DirectX Version: DirectX 12
      DX Setup Parameters: Not found
         User DPI Setting: 144 DPI (150 percent)
       System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
          DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
                 Miracast: Available, no HDCP
Microsoft Graphics Hybrid: Not Supported
DirectX Database Version: 1.2.2
           DxDiag Version: 10.00.22000.0001 64bit Unicode

Plus 1 x gtx 1070 and 2 x 3080, nvme 1tb. All windows 11 updated installed. I guess ping to google's youtube video library is not working as should be, something is blocking it on firefox or something is blocking on windows 11. Although I must point it out, youtube page load is very fast on firefox, only issue is not loading the videos, it keeps trying to load but it never loads, interesting issue.

I tried looking at the internet for similar issues and could not find any, plus too many youtube issue post spams over the years make hard to find if somebody is going through the same issue right now, usually forums have recent issues but could not find either.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
107 (0.15/day)
Processor AMD 5800X
Motherboard MSI MPG B550 GAMING EDGE WIFI
Cooling Water Cooler SilverStone PF360-ARGB
Memory HyperX Fury, 32GB (4x8GB), 3600MHz, DDR4, CL17, HX436C17FB3K4/32
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT Sapphire Nitro+ OC
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 34"
Power Supply Sharkoon 850W, 80 Plus Gold, SilentStorm CoolZero
Software Windows 11 21H2 Build 22000.318
@Metroid Did update the AMD chipset driver and BIOS? It could be your firewall/anti virus. I am using windows defender and latest BIOS with AGESA 1.2.0.3c.
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
1,338 (0.80/day)
Location
London, UK
@Metroid Did update the AMD chipset driver and BIOS? It could be your firewall/anti virus. I am using windows defender and latest BIOS with AGESA 1.2.0.3c.

Yes, I disabled the firewall and windows defender and everything was still the same. I dont know what to do anymore, I used to use firefox, now I'm using chrome for the time being.
 
Top