• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 11 General Discussion

Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
4,542 (3.28/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x16 GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 Rev E @ 3800 CL16
Video Card(s) RTX3080 Ti FE
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster G6 | Fidelio X2 | Sennheiser 6XX
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400 | SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
That is the status quo. Note nowehere in your statement or in that article is a "master key" backdoor mandated.

Of course they are legally required to assist. But if it's real encryption (no backdoor), there is no real assistance they can provide beyond "what is the password?"
Yup, backdoor is a big no no.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,351 (6.20/day)
Location
USA
money.cnn.com

FBI says it has cracked terrorist's iPhone without Apple's help

The Department of Justice has broken into the phone used by a San Bernardino terrorist without the help of Apple. The FBI says it "no longer requires the assistance from Apple." money.cnn.com
That was an isolated incident with one phone. Most of the time cracking encryption doesn't work if it's done properly because it can't work.
 
Joined
May 17, 2021
Messages
1,948 (3.42/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard B550 Elite
Cooling Hyperx 212
Memory 32GB Fury Beast DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 3060 ti gaming oc pro
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1TB, WD SN850x 1TB, plus some random HDDs
Display(s) LG 27gp850 1440p 165Hz 27''
Case Lian Li Lancool II performance
Power Supply MSI 750w
Mouse G502
I got to try it on my laptop, and i can't understand this back and forth from MS. Just like with 8 they fell they have the need to reinvent the wheel. Especially the start menu.

What they should have done was improve the formula not make triangular wheels. Complete the damn dark mode for example.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
18,678 (3.34/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard EVGA X570 FTW Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (4 x 8GB SR Samsung B-Die) @ DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850W T2
Mouse Steelseries Prime Wireless
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 Keyboard with MX Cherry Green Switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
That was an isolated incident with one phone. Most of the time cracking encryption doesn't work if it's done properly because it can't work.
To take it full circle, it was only able to work because Apple holds the keys in the phone in a TPM-like device and they were able to extract the key with some trickery.

Yet another reason hardware security is awful.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2021
Messages
39 (0.09/day)
I'll echo what the others have stated, but don't use microsoft's built-in bit-locker. It has a known backdoor. Use something like Veracrypt. It's rock solid and has no known vulnerabilities.

Full disc encryption carries the benefit of guaranteeing that what you have on your drive will remain unseen by anyone who does not have the password. So if you have something worth protecting, or you need to protect, by all means encrypt your drives.

But if you don't, don't worry about it and just make sure you have backups.


No, they are not. Total myth.


Please stop giving people bad advice. You have no idea what you're talking about.
I went to their website, Mr. Lex, and the whole affair of downloading and installing looks a little spooky !!!! ..... LOL :)
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,351 (6.20/day)
Location
USA
I went to their website, Mr. Lex, and the whole affair of downloading and installing looks a little spooky !!!! ..... LOL :)
?!? Wait, what?

What's wrong with either one of those?
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2021
Messages
39 (0.09/day)
?!? Wait, what?

What's wrong with either one of those?
LOL ...... what I really should have said was i need to listen to you folks and read to get a better understanding of this ........ it is all new to me ...... I am done with the days of downloading something and using the software without a clue how and why it works....... :)
 
Joined
May 21, 2020
Messages
45 (0.05/day)
I returned to W10.

It was driving me crazy angry not having all those lost basic functionalities such as the start menu, the not-combined taskbar, the good old handy quick launch toolbar to have all my desired folders direct icons there, the logical context menu back, etc, all the backward steps of W11 are gone, all the lots and lots of daily unnecessary clicks to open basic stuff, etc.

W11 has a nice design but I couldn't stand losing all those functionalities for no reason at all, just going much worse and making me waste a hell of a lot of time every single day.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2021
Messages
39 (0.09/day)
I returned to W10.

It was driving me crazy angry not having all those lost basic functionalities such as the start menu, the not-combined taskbar, the good old handy quick launch toolbar to have all my desired folders direct icons there, the logical context menu back, etc, all the backward steps of W11 are gone, all the lots and lots of daily unnecessary clicks to open basic stuff, etc.

W11 has a nice design but I couldn't stand losing all those functionalities for no reason at all, just going much worse and making me waste a hell of a lot of time every single day.
.......and W11 does some goofy stuff with Firefox, enabling/disabling NVIDIA image scaling ....... just things the OS did not do under W10 ......... they are "glitches" I have encountered but just live with as they are easily fixable ..... too late for me to go back :banghead:
 
Joined
May 21, 2020
Messages
45 (0.05/day)
.......and W11 does some goofy stuff with Firefox, enabling/disabling NVIDIA image scaling ....... just things the OS did not do under W10 ......... they are "glitches" I have encountered but just live with as they are easily fixable ..... too late for me to go back :banghead:
Why can't you go back? I installed the iso myself.

For me W11 worked as fine as W10 and looks prettier to me, but those simple little things mentioned above where enough. I am an early adopter and love all new stuff and got W11 the first moment of receiving my new laptop meeting all requirements for it, but no way I'm going to waste millions of unnecessary clicks with no benefits at all, only the more modern design.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2021
Messages
39 (0.09/day)
Why can't you go back? I installed the iso myself.

For me W11 worked as fine as W10 and looks prettier to me, but those simple little things mentioned above where enough. I am an early adopter and love all new stuff and got W11 the first moment of receiving my new laptop meeting all requirements for it, but no way I'm going to waste millions of unnecessary clicks with no benefits at all, only the more modern design.
LOL ...... NO!!!! ..... that is completely out of my lane !!!!! :)
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
1,338 (0.80/day)
Location
London, UK
Yes, I disabled the firewall and windows defender and everything was still the same. I dont know what to do anymore, I used to use firefox, now I'm using chrome for the time being.
Just want to let you people know that my problem was solved, I guess my isp blocked many websites that I used to use, I might be related to data usage. I guess using too much content at 4k can made my isp to block some websites that stream videos and youtube was one of them, however what I dont understand is on chrome it did work without issues, it was blocked only on firefox, dont know how they can do that though but they did. Anyway, it was not anything on my side. It has been all good so far. Odd issue though.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
55,573 (8.37/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Just want to let you people know that my problem was solved, I guess my isp blocked many websites that I used to use, I might be related to data usage. I guess using too much content at 4k can made my isp to block some websites that stream videos and youtube was one of them, however what I dont understand is on chrome it did work without issues, it was blocked only on firefox, dont know how they can do that though but they did. Anyway, it was not anything on my side. It has been all good so far. Odd issue though.
A mistaken, broken version of throttling i would assume


Try an alternate DNS server before you go down the VPN road
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
1,338 (0.80/day)
Location
London, UK
A mistaken, broken version of throttling i would assume
yeah, close to 1TB of data downloaded last month but at 4k is nothing on optic fiber at 100mb, plan is unlimited so reason I never suspect of it, how do I know it was the isp or it might have been related to an issue they faced or were facing? is because after 2 weeks or so and as soon as December started, everything is back to normal again.

If the bs gets back then I will have to check vpns, right now still all right.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
55,573 (8.37/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
55,573 (8.37/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
I'm not seeing much of a difference in those graphs. In fact they seem to show improvement in several aspects of performance.. Did I miss something?
4k random writes halve or worse at times

Heres the big image i put up originally with %'s
5 to 20% was repeatable, so i went with that
(Crystal disk mark was consistent, AS SSD showed bigger changes but varied more between runs)
 

Attachments

  • Benches.png
    Benches.png
    872.5 KB · Views: 32
Joined
Aug 4, 2020
Messages
1,062 (1.24/day)
Location
::1
LOL ...... what I really should have said was i need to listen to you folks and read to get a better understanding of this ........ it is all new to me ...... I am done with the days of downloading something and using the software without a clue how and why it works....... :)
Be aware that the way VeraCrypt works (master key unlocking encryption table for individual ... sectors?) it'll have a fairly significant hit on random read/write performance since your disk will have to go back and lookup the keys for the sectors each time you read/write anything
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,351 (6.20/day)
Location
USA
4k random writes halve or worse at times
What now?
NeowinDiskMark.jpg

Half or worse? Not seeing that. Your own screenshots don't show that. Whatever mechanism is at play here, it's not something the user will perceive and is likely only detected in benchmarks.

While this is something that needs a solution and/or an explanation from microsoft, it is not something that needs to be blown out of proportion.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
55,573 (8.37/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
What now?
View attachment 228068
Half or worse? Not seeing that. Your own screenshots don't show that. Whatever mechanism is at play here, it's not something the user will perceive and is likely only detected in benchmarks.

While this is something that needs a solution and/or an explanation from microsoft, it is not something that needs to be blown out of proportion.
in SOME cases they got that bad, in ANOTHER program - I literally said I was showing the more repeatable, lower results and not the drastic hard to produce ones - and those results were months old


Same OS install, same hardware.
Left is 11 before all the ryzen fixes, right is todays result (also 11). The Random 4k with the 32 depth queue is much higher than it was, rest is margin of error stuff - it's an active OS
1638943461909.png



AS SSD had 2.2GB/s become 650MB/s
1638943597426.png


1638946518852.png


This is a modern result, again: same SSD, hell i havent even booted the OS on that drive since taking the last screenshots. Yet the results are basically normal.

The problem? they havent gone back to normal for everyone.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,351 (6.20/day)
Location
USA
in SOME cases they got that bad, in ANOTHER program - I literally said I was showing the more repeatable, lower results and not the drastic hard to produce ones
It's likely a programmatic problem rather than a driver or stability issue.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
55,573 (8.37/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
It's likely a programmatic problem rather than a driver or stability issue.
Very likely, which is why i focused on the (shrinking) ~20% loss the other programs reported

The same fixes for the L3 cache issue, brought my numbers back into 'close enough' territory since some results were faster while others were slower... but some people havent got that fix for whatever reason.
Might be the same issue where people didn't get the L3 fix if they swapped CPU's without an OS reinstall, on 11?

I never heard back on anyone retesting that
 
Top