• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 11 General Discussion

Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
9,340 (5.78/day)
Location
Louisiana
System Name Ghetto Rigs z490|x99|Acer 17 Nitro 7840hs/ 5600c40-2x16/ 4060/ 1tb acer stock m.2/ 4tb sn850x
Processor 10900k w/Optimus Foundation | 5930k w/Black Noctua D15
Motherboard z490 Maximus XII Apex | x99 Sabertooth
Cooling oCool D5 res-combo/280 GTX/ Optimus Foundation/ gpu water block | Blk D15
Memory Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb | Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) Titan Xp-water | evga 980ti gaming-w/ air
Storage 970evo+500gb & sn850x 4tb | 860 pro 256gb | Acer m.2 1tb/ sn850x 4tb| Many2.5" sata's ssd 3.5hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 | Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1000P2 with APC AX1500 | 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U
Mouse Redragon 901 Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
That's quite the unique viewpoint that i think no one else will ever agree with. Good luck with the problems you cause yourself, in the future.

I'll just say that these complaints belong over here, on the HWinfo bug report forums
HWiNFO32 & HWiNFO64 Bug Reports | HWiNFO Forum

Oh, if you have core isolation enabled in windows it prevents some settings being read accurately, particularly when Hyper-V is installed
IMPORTANT - Core frequency reading in Windows 11 | HWiNFO Forum

Because these arent windows 11 problems - they're problems with HWinfo
(Seriously, you thought the ads on the website you downloaded from were in HWinfo??)
Hi,
Well at least one member did give one reason to use beta releases and if you missed it, is when using beta channel/ insider channel builds for testing apps
No normal windows user or business user would go out of their way to install beta releases of much of anything if you do rock on lol

Also since this thread is about sharing good and bad points of win-11 and the hwinfo developer said on a thread on his/ her website it's a win-11 bug is why I brought it up here to see if anyone else has seen the bug.

I tested a few newer stable releases since it takes upward to 30+ minutes to show it's not practical to keep looking back for the first stable release this issue started happening.
I agree it should be bought up on his/ her forum but this isn't important enough to join another forum to do it.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,776 (1.68/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2.5
Processor Ryzen 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Pro V2
Cooling Enermax ETX-T50RGB
Memory CL16 BL2K16G36C16U4RL 3600 1:1 micron e-die
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE RTX 3070 Ti GAMING OC
Storage ADATA SX8200PRO NVME 512GB, Intel 545s 500GBSSD, ADATA SU800 SSD, 3TB Spinner
Display(s) LG Ultra Gear 32 1440p 165hz Dell 1440p 75hz
Case Phanteks P300 /w 300A front panel conversion
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus+ Platinum 750W
Mouse Kone burst Pro
Keyboard EVGA Z15
Software Windows 11 +startisallback
its not a windows 11 BUG
its a windows 11 feature. aka virtualisation based security and its here to stay and microsofts appers to be set on ratching it even tighter

when VBS is enabled The kernel is being virtrualised. aka run under a hypervisor. this is going to cause problems with hwinfo polling sensors and or bkclk/fsb/uncore

there is nothing the devloper of hwinfo can do other then try various work arounds for boards that don't have SVM/VT-D implamented in such a way where there is relaible access to those data sources


but making base-less blanket statements about beta software is assinine at best there is plenty of reasons to update to a beta versions particuarlly with amd and beta bios's because it can offen be litteral years before a board vendor gets around to removing the 'beta' tag from a release containing a updated agesa version (looking at you gigabyte,asrock)

you know that every single nvidia game ready driver is techically a beta right ?. game ready just sounds cooler then beta because game ready drivers are not WHQL certified
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
12,541 (1.91/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Hi,
Well at least one member did give one reason to use beta releases and if you missed it
I'm with Mussels on this one. You took his reply out of context. You said, "Beta versions have never been the answer for anything".

Like all blanket statements, that clearly is not true.

No normal windows user or business user would go out of their way to install beta releases of much of anything if you do rock on lol
Clearly not true either - depending on your definition of "normal", which definitely is subjective.

I have worked for several organizations that encountered problems or had new requirements that necessitated the developers modify the software they were using. The developers went "out of their way" to create the beta and the company went "out of their way" to install the beta to see if it addressed their issues. They had their "normal users" try it out.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
9,340 (5.78/day)
Location
Louisiana
System Name Ghetto Rigs z490|x99|Acer 17 Nitro 7840hs/ 5600c40-2x16/ 4060/ 1tb acer stock m.2/ 4tb sn850x
Processor 10900k w/Optimus Foundation | 5930k w/Black Noctua D15
Motherboard z490 Maximus XII Apex | x99 Sabertooth
Cooling oCool D5 res-combo/280 GTX/ Optimus Foundation/ gpu water block | Blk D15
Memory Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb | Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) Titan Xp-water | evga 980ti gaming-w/ air
Storage 970evo+500gb & sn850x 4tb | 860 pro 256gb | Acer m.2 1tb/ sn850x 4tb| Many2.5" sata's ssd 3.5hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 | Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1000P2 with APC AX1500 | 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U
Mouse Redragon 901 Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
Problem is the old version works so none of the new features are blocking it so back to the drawing board lol

By the way I never said this was a win-11 bug hwinfo developer said it was

I simply ask if anyone using win-11 and hwinfo has seen this issue.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,100 (6.47/day)
That's quite the unique viewpoint that i think no one else will ever agree with.
I agree with it. When have beta versions of software(any software) EVER been a great solution?

Like all blanket statements, that clearly is not true.
Yes it is. Beta software is not fit for general public use. That is why "Beta" testing is a thing.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
12,541 (1.91/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Who said anything about anyone using beta software for "general public use". I sure didn't so why are you quoting me, and pretending that is what I said?

That makes no sense, and frankly is deceitful. :(

I made it clear above it should not be used unless one is willing to accept the risks. That clearly suggests it is not for general public use.

And there are always exceptions. That's why that blanket statement, and now yours, are incorrect.

I agree with it.
Understand what you are agreeing with. You are saying no beta release have ever, as in NEVER EVER been the answer for any problem EVER! Not once in the history of mankind!

Really? If that is what you are saying, you are wrong!

You have made it clear in the past, Lex, that you feel your vast experience in IT makes you aware of all things IT. But come on! You have great experience, no question. But it doesn't make you aware of all things IT.

I did beta testing professionally as part of my job at a major software development company. I currently beta test for more than one company. We see all the time where beta versions have been solutions to problems. In fact, many beta versions are created specifically to fix problems. And when we (the testers) report they do fix the problem (without creating more or collateral problems) THEN they are released to the public - not as beta versions, but as patches or new releases.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
9,340 (5.78/day)
Location
Louisiana
System Name Ghetto Rigs z490|x99|Acer 17 Nitro 7840hs/ 5600c40-2x16/ 4060/ 1tb acer stock m.2/ 4tb sn850x
Processor 10900k w/Optimus Foundation | 5930k w/Black Noctua D15
Motherboard z490 Maximus XII Apex | x99 Sabertooth
Cooling oCool D5 res-combo/280 GTX/ Optimus Foundation/ gpu water block | Blk D15
Memory Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb | Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) Titan Xp-water | evga 980ti gaming-w/ air
Storage 970evo+500gb & sn850x 4tb | 860 pro 256gb | Acer m.2 1tb/ sn850x 4tb| Many2.5" sata's ssd 3.5hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 | Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1000P2 with APC AX1500 | 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U
Mouse Redragon 901 Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
Okay
Just like windows updates attempt to fix some thing then break countless others lol
Gotcha taking things out of context is way to common went it's main focus is an argument over splitting hairs I'll give you that :laugh:

Give you a hint normal is not beta abnormal usage.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
21,015 (3.40/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage Intel 905p Optane 960GB boot, +2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches + PBT DS keycaps
Software Gentoo Linux x64 / Windows 11 Enterprise IoT 2024
game ready just sounds cooler then beta because game ready drivers are not WHQL certified
I'm pretty sure they are. Other than that, I am with you.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
12,541 (1.91/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Just like windows updates attempt to fix some thing then break countless others lol
"Just like"? No way. Windows Updates is totally different. They are not beta versions. I wish in many cases, they were (and documented as such) or least went through more extensive beta testing before being released to the public. But still, WU gets a bad rap. For most users, most of the time, the updates work just fine. But with over 1 billion W10 users, and 100s of millions of W11 users - all running unique setups, it is no wonder, IMO, there are not more problems. But when starting out with 1 billion+ a tiny percentage is still 10s of 1000s. And if one those users, any problem with WU is unacceptable.

***

Drivers are another issue. And as a hardware guy, really confuses me since a driver is (or should be) very specific to a specific piece of hardware. The problem, as I see it, is some HW makers bundle many (dozens? 100s??) of different HW devices into one driver bundle. I understand the economics for doing that but I think it creates the possibility of (as TZ illustrates) "countless other" issues. :(
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
9,340 (5.78/day)
Location
Louisiana
System Name Ghetto Rigs z490|x99|Acer 17 Nitro 7840hs/ 5600c40-2x16/ 4060/ 1tb acer stock m.2/ 4tb sn850x
Processor 10900k w/Optimus Foundation | 5930k w/Black Noctua D15
Motherboard z490 Maximus XII Apex | x99 Sabertooth
Cooling oCool D5 res-combo/280 GTX/ Optimus Foundation/ gpu water block | Blk D15
Memory Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb | Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) Titan Xp-water | evga 980ti gaming-w/ air
Storage 970evo+500gb & sn850x 4tb | 860 pro 256gb | Acer m.2 1tb/ sn850x 4tb| Many2.5" sata's ssd 3.5hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 | Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1000P2 with APC AX1500 | 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U
Mouse Redragon 901 Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
its not a windows 11 BUG
its a windows 11 feature. aka virtualisation based security and its here to stay and microsofts appers to be set on ratching it even tighter
Hi,
Well since you think it's a security feature messing with hwinfo reading correctly I suppose you're also confirming you to have the same issue I posted about
Yeah thanks for confirming the issue :cool:
Both the images below were running the same win-11 but not at the same time.

1680127883175.png


Nice happening on win-10 also beta will fix it though ;)
1680128096527.png
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
16,671 (4.67/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
Anyone else have this problem on Windows 11 where when you have File Explorer open, you can't click the x button in top right corner to close it? It doesn't even show the x button sometimes, sometimes it does, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Mostly it doesn't.

It's very annoying.

I have a dual boot system, Windows 11 is my games and stuff, and Windows 10 is my work stuff. I have 0 issues when I go to Windows 10.

Any thoughts or anyone heard of this before? If not it's cool, just thought I'd ask.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
2,813 (2.86/day)
Location
Knoxville, TN, USA
System Name Work Computer | Unfinished Computer
Processor Core i7-6700 | Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Dell Q170 | Gigabyte Aorus Elite Wi-Fi
Cooling A fan? | Truly Custom Loop
Memory 4x4GB Crucial 2133 C17 | 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 C26
Video Card(s) Dell Radeon R7 450 | RTX 2080 Ti FE
Storage Crucial BX500 2TB | TBD
Display(s) 3x LG QHD 32" GSM5B96 | TBD
Case Dell | Heavily Modified Phanteks P400
Power Supply Dell TFX Non-standard | EVGA BQ 650W
Mouse Monster No-Name $7 Gaming Mouse| TBD
The whole tip bar, or just the X button?
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
2,805 (0.66/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling OEZM HSK | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 6450 | AMD RX 550 4GB
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Yes at times It doesn't close. Probably a glitch
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
3,643 (0.57/day)
Location
Northern Ontario Canada
Processor Ryzen 5700x
Motherboard Gigabyte X570S Aero G R1.1 BiosF5g
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 w/ NF-A15 HS-PWM Fan 1500rpm
Memory Micron DDR4-3200 2x32GB D.S. D.R. (CT2K32G4DFD832A)
Video Card(s) AMD RX 6800 - Asus Tuf
Storage Kingston KC3000 1TB & 2TB & 4TB Corsair MP600 Pro LPX
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W (27" 4k)
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220-VB
Power Supply SuperFlower Leadex V Gold Pro 850W ATX Ver2.52
Mouse Mionix Naos Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe with browns
Software W10 22H2 Pro x64
So whats the verdict now on W11 vs W10 current 'pro' versions...............both in stock unmodified/untweaked states?
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
16,671 (4.67/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
The whole tip bar, or just the X button?

1680131650414.png


its working right now, so I can't show it sadly, lol... but all three buttons in upper right corner - i can still use the x next to where to says home to close it.

but minimize maximize and close in upper right are invisible and won't let me click. I did a sfc /scannow and it didn't find any issues, so I don't know.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2016
Messages
1,653 (0.54/day)
Processor Intel i5 8400
Motherboard Asus Prime H370M-Plus/CSM
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken & Noctua NF-A15 HS-PWM chromax.black.swap
Memory 8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ROG-STRIX-GTX1060-O6G-GAMING
Storage 1TB 980 Pro
Display(s) Samsung UN55KU6300F
Case Cooler Master MasterCase Pro 3
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III 750w
Software W11 Pro
How extensively have you dipped into the unofficial Power Tools type software and registry alterations to make visual and other improvements from stock W11?

Alternately where are you on the update cycle? They are getting sneakier about turning WU on or doing stealth installs.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
21,015 (3.40/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage Intel 905p Optane 960GB boot, +2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches + PBT DS keycaps
Software Gentoo Linux x64 / Windows 11 Enterprise IoT 2024
Alternately where are you on the update cycle? They are getting sneakier about turning WU on or doing stealth installs.
Can't say I have ever had it toggled on.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,100 (6.47/day)
You are saying no beta release have ever, as in NEVER EVER been the answer for any problem EVER! Not once in the history of mankind!
Let's review...
When have beta versions of software(any software) EVER been a great solution?
Beta software is not fit for general public use. That is why "Beta" testing is a thing.
...hmm. There it is, plain as day.

So whats the verdict now on W11 vs W10 current 'pro' versions...............both in stock unmodified/untweaked states?
Strictly Pro "Stock", as in default? It's 6's. Neither one is fit for general consumer use in the "stock" config.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2016
Messages
1,653 (0.54/day)
Processor Intel i5 8400
Motherboard Asus Prime H370M-Plus/CSM
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken & Noctua NF-A15 HS-PWM chromax.black.swap
Memory 8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ROG-STRIX-GTX1060-O6G-GAMING
Storage 1TB 980 Pro
Display(s) Samsung UN55KU6300F
Case Cooler Master MasterCase Pro 3
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III 750w
Software W11 Pro
Can't say I have ever had it toggled on.

O&O Shutup let something change the single setting that stops blocking WU. Twice now I've found a certain browser installed and double checked my 'seals' for a leak on this machine.

Typically I download new version ISO and do a clean install. Last few times I lazily allowed WU ability to complete it on active copy. My guess is that's where things went wrong.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
21,015 (3.40/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage Intel 905p Optane 960GB boot, +2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches + PBT DS keycaps
Software Gentoo Linux x64 / Windows 11 Enterprise IoT 2024
O&O Shutup let something change the single setting that stops blocking WU. Twice now I've found a certain browser installed and double checked my 'seals' for a leak on this machine.

Typically I download new version ISO and do a clean install. Last few times I lazily allowed WU ability to complete it on active copy. My guess is that's where things went wrong.
Well there's your problem. Edge does not update via WU, it uses a scheduled task.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2016
Messages
1,653 (0.54/day)
Processor Intel i5 8400
Motherboard Asus Prime H370M-Plus/CSM
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken & Noctua NF-A15 HS-PWM chromax.black.swap
Memory 8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ROG-STRIX-GTX1060-O6G-GAMING
Storage 1TB 980 Pro
Display(s) Samsung UN55KU6300F
Case Cooler Master MasterCase Pro 3
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III 750w
Software W11 Pro
Update is one thing. Install from a point it had been removed and blocked etc?

Edit: Meaning all of this happens before giving a fresh install an internet connection. Since inception of W11 nothing in the store or otherwise has self installed because I took pains to keep it from doing so. WU also going live was a secondary feature of whatever has taken place.
 
Joined
May 17, 2021
Messages
3,005 (2.58/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 5700x
Motherboard B550 Elite
Cooling Thermalright Perless Assassin 120 SE
Memory 32GB Fury Beast DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 3060 ti gaming oc pro
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 1TB, WD SN850x 1TB, plus some random HDDs
Display(s) LG 27gp850 1440p 165Hz 27''
Case Lian Li Lancool II performance
Power Supply MSI 750w
Mouse G502
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
3,643 (0.57/day)
Location
Northern Ontario Canada
Processor Ryzen 5700x
Motherboard Gigabyte X570S Aero G R1.1 BiosF5g
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 w/ NF-A15 HS-PWM Fan 1500rpm
Memory Micron DDR4-3200 2x32GB D.S. D.R. (CT2K32G4DFD832A)
Video Card(s) AMD RX 6800 - Asus Tuf
Storage Kingston KC3000 1TB & 2TB & 4TB Corsair MP600 Pro LPX
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W (27" 4k)
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220-VB
Power Supply SuperFlower Leadex V Gold Pro 850W ATX Ver2.52
Mouse Mionix Naos Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe with browns
Software W10 22H2 Pro x64
Strictly Pro "Stock", as in default? It's 6's. Neither one is fit for general consumer use in the "stock" config.
Well that's all I got and have been running. Well with the default OO defaults enabled.

Have some good sites for tweaking?? As in the basics that can be done or should be done? With minimal time.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
26,100 (6.47/day)


We are living the dream.
Customers that opened VLC also like to purchase this underwear
That crap can EASILY be block. Worry not people, the shenanigans of microsoft are wildly offensive, but manageable.

Have some good sites for tweaking??
Yes, WinAero Tweaker.

Well there's your problem. Edge does not update via WU, it uses a scheduled task.
Which is easily blocked.
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
16,671 (4.67/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
fyi, I figured out the Windows 11 glitch I was having where I could not close/minize in upper right corner of file explorer.

it had something to do with my roccat kone aimo mouse failing. ever since i finally retired it due its double click, and went to a different mouse I have had 0 issues.

that is so strange, lol. computers really do have a mind of their own sometimes. i just can't equate a mouse failing to causing errors in file explorer (but I was still able to browse the internet/play games just fine 99% of the time)
 
Top