• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 7 ($30 for College Students) Question

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#1
I recieved the confirmation email from microsoft confirming me, but after looking at this offer, it says "upgrade". I am paying the ex 13 for a physical copy but is this going to be a upgrade dvd where you need to have vista installed then you can install 7? Or is it just like a normal OEM windows OS dvd where you install onto a clean or partitioned drive?


Kinda confused on their advertising.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#2
You can do a clean install just find off of an upgrade disk. No vista installed on the drive required.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#3
Yep, as long as you have a copy of Vista/XP it is legal to do a clean install. I've installed my "Upgrade" copy of XP several times onto clean partitions, I just have to insert my Windows 2000 disk to show that I have an earlier copy of Windows.
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#4
sweet, thanks guys!

What about laptops where the reformat disk is partitioned onto the hardrive? How would you upgrade that? One of my family members has a laptop that has problem.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
970 (0.25/day)
Likes
150
Processor Intel e2180 2.0ghz @ 2.8ghz w/ stock volts
Motherboard ASUS P5K-e Wifi-AP
Cooling Zalman 9500 w/ AS5
Memory G.Skill Black PI's DDR2 @ 896MHz 4-4-4-12 1.9v
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GT w/ Zalman VF-900
Storage 2x Crucial C300 64GB, Samsung F3 2TB & 1TB, F1 1TB & 750GB
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" 16:9
Case Ultra / Chieftec Black Tower
Audio Device(s) X-fi XtremeMusic -> Z-5300e's
Power Supply PCP&C 610 Silencer
Software Windows 7 x64
#5
If they have a restore partition on their laptop you can choose to get rid of it in the partition manager of the install. Windows 7 upgrade offers a clean install no matter what you're running, I'm just not sure if you need to have Vista / XP installed before you reformat or if it needs the CD / DVD to verify that you have a legit copy. Either way a clean install is the best way to go!

When buying the student upgrade, after you confirm your email address, the site should say something like "Does your school use a domain? Click here." When you click that it will change your Home Premium upgrade to Professional for the same price! It's probably been mentioned here before but it's worth saying again.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#6
btw, if your school is part of the MSDN academic alliance you can get the full version for free. you need to ask your school tho if they are a part of it.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
2,955 (0.90/day)
Likes
491
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Ruy-Love
Processor i7-6700k 4.0Mhz
Motherboard Asus Gamer Pro
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory G.Skill DDR4 3000mhz 16GB
Video Card(s) Zotac GeForce GTX 980Ti AMP Extreme Edition
Storage vertex 2 ssd 120GB, samsung evo850 SSD 250GB
Display(s) AOC 27''
Case HAF-X FULL TOWER
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA SUPERNOVA 750 G2
Mouse NYTH ROCCAT
Keyboard -
Software Windows 10
#7
My school had contract with microsoft.And we could get windows copies for free from special student accounts registred with help of high school i was studying.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
970 (0.25/day)
Likes
150
Processor Intel e2180 2.0ghz @ 2.8ghz w/ stock volts
Motherboard ASUS P5K-e Wifi-AP
Cooling Zalman 9500 w/ AS5
Memory G.Skill Black PI's DDR2 @ 896MHz 4-4-4-12 1.9v
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GT w/ Zalman VF-900
Storage 2x Crucial C300 64GB, Samsung F3 2TB & 1TB, F1 1TB & 750GB
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" 16:9
Case Ultra / Chieftec Black Tower
Audio Device(s) X-fi XtremeMusic -> Z-5300e's
Power Supply PCP&C 610 Silencer
Software Windows 7 x64
#8
Yea, if they have a contract with Microsoft I'd do that. Sadly the program we have at my university thinks that engineers only want the 32-bit copy of Professional, without option to download the 64-bit. I'll see what happens after the release, but I want to get a copy of 64-bit straight from MS, not through any other means (if that means a $30 investment, oh well). If you have an IEEE group at your school you can probably see if they'll sell it after the release. I got two copies of XP for $10 2 years ago and my friend got a copy of Vista Business for $25 through that.
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#9
how do you go about getting this for $30?
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#11
btw, if your school is part of the MSDN academic alliance you can get the full version for free. you need to ask your school tho if they are a part of it.
This is true. I have been using windows 7 RTM on my Laptop and Desktop for over a month now and it didnt cost me a cent (ofcourse I am paying for part of MSDNA though with my high tuition costs).
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#12
This is true. I have been using windows 7 RTM on my Laptop and Desktop for over a month now and it didnt cost me a cent (ofcourse I am paying for part of MSDNA though with my high tuition costs).
yea it is a SMALL consolation for paying tuition.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#13
yea it is a SMALL consolation for paying tuition.
yeah probably only a few dollars actually go to pay for the license from Microsoft. I was more stabbing at the high tuition as a whole. :p

Anyways a few bucks definitely beat paying full retail for 2x copies of Windows 7 Professional.
 

Grownman

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
139 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA
Processor Intel Q9550
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermaltake Ultra 120E
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR2 8500 (2 x 2 GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 295
Storage Seagate 500GB 32mb & Samsung 40 IDE
Display(s) Samsung T240HD/ViewSonic 15"
Case Antec 1200
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64
#14
If they have a restore partition on their laptop you can choose to get rid of it in the partition manager of the install. Windows 7 upgrade offers a clean install no matter what you're running, I'm just not sure if you need to have Vista / XP installed before you reformat or if it needs the CD / DVD to verify that you have a legit copy. Either way a clean install is the best way to go!

When buying the student upgrade, after you confirm your email address, the site should say something like "Does your school use a domain? Click here." When you click that it will change your Home Premium upgrade to Professional for the same price! It's probably been mentioned here before but it's worth saying again.
yes, the university is on the microsoft list. I suppose I should choose professional over Home Premium?

* I will prob take out that partition on the laptop and just do the clean install. However, With this clean install, this means I need to download the HP drivers from their website since the copy of 7 won't have certain drivers correct? (HP dv6000 series laptop)
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#15
Almost all Vista drivers will work fine in 7. Go for professional vs Home Premium, it has a true superset of features
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#16
If they have a restore partition on their laptop you can choose to get rid of it in the partition manager of the install. Windows 7 upgrade offers a clean install no matter what you're running, I'm just not sure if you need to have Vista / XP installed before you reformat or if it needs the CD / DVD to verify that you have a legit copy. Either way a clean install is the best way to go!

When buying the student upgrade, after you confirm your email address, the site should say something like "Does your school use a domain? Click here." When you click that it will change your Home Premium upgrade to Professional for the same price! It's probably been mentioned here before but it's worth saying again.
Whoa, did not see that! THANKS!
 

JessicaD

Microsoft Representative
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
#17
Lon,

Thank you for your support of Windows 7! Have you pre-ordered your copy of Win 7 yet? If you are planning on purchasing Windows 7 when it is released in just eight days it may be helpful to know you don't have to wait to reserve your copy of Win 7! You can pre-order your copy of Windows 7 Home Premium, Windows 7 Professional, or Windows 7 Ultimate today. For more information, see the Windows 7 Pre-Order offer page here: http://tinyurl.com/kprhkp

Also, if you are currently a student you may qualify for the $30 upgrade to Windows 7. For more information, please go here: http://tinyurl.com/m7nyxa

Jessica
Microsoft Windows Client Team