• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 7 64-bit now used by majority of Steam owners

Do you use 64 or 32


  • Total voters
    137

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#26
I actually still have machines that don't have a 64-bit processor, so I have to use Win7 32-bit on some.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,884 (1.03/day)
Likes
881
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#27
I have taken a second look at the survey and noticed something that definitely wasn't there the last time I checked.
The most used DX11 card is (now) the GTX 560. It used to be the HD 5770. When did that happen? :confused:
 

zootac

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
124 (0.06/day)
Likes
39
Location
england
#28
It's a world market now, for computers, computer components, and computer gaming. It doesn't matter where those people come from; it tells you what most game developers need to factor into their designs, and what hardware manufacturers need to produce for a world market.
I bet Steam sell on that info there get two the game devs for makeing games must land Steam some good cash that side line,
 
Last edited:

keling

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
93 (0.02/day)
Likes
10
System Name X
Processor Intel Core 2 i5 2500K (Stock)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68-DS3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeange 2X2GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE ATI RADEON HD 5850 1GB @ 771mhz
Storage WESTERN DIGITAL 2TB Black Edition
Display(s) SAMSUNG 2232BW 22" LCD 1680X1050
Case The same one from 2003. The Nameless One.
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP-702 700W
Software WINDOW 7 PRO 64bit OEM
#29
After a week of playing around with my freshly installed Windows 7 64 bit last September, I was so disappointed with myself for not getting it earlier.

I still have the old Win XP on another HDD just in case. Unfortunately it have been months since I last booted it up since the Win 7 seems to handle the older games rather exceptionally.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.70/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#30
I use 32 bit for gaming and 64 bit for web surfing. :rockout: :pimp: :roll:
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#31
The real question is when are the developers going to start releasing 64-bit games?

That will be the real game changer.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#32
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#33
Any others? How long has x64 OSes been with us?

I was really expecting BF3 to be x64, shouldn't have been surprised.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#34
Any others? How long has x64 OSes been with us?

I was really expecting BF3 to be x64, shouldn't have been surprised.
There are several, but 64-bit games are rather pointless considering most games don't benefit from the extra memory allocation space beyond 4GB.

Now I'm not saying PCs don't benefit from more than 4GB of RAM. What I'm saying is that a properly coded 32-bit game/executable run in a 64-bit OS can access up to 4GB of RAM just for the game/executable itself, and most games barely use half that.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#35
Wasn't there something that the wayt that x32 OS handles graphics that the game couldnt address Ram and Vram separately, and was therefore limited cumulatively to both.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#36
Wasn't there something that the wayt that x32 OS handles graphics that the game couldnt address Ram and Vram separately, and was therefore limited cumulatively to both.
No, that is actually the OS limitation. I don't believe games directly address VRAM.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#37
There are several, but 64-bit games are rather pointless considering most games don't benefit from the extra memory allocation space beyond 4GB.

Now I'm not saying PCs don't benefit from more than 4GB of RAM. What I'm saying is that a properly coded 32-bit game/executable run in a 64-bit OS can access up to 4GB of RAM just for the game/executable itself, and most games barely use half that.
Got some more examples? I'm interested.

Um I'm pretty sure the reason games don't use more then 4GB of ram is because they are x86. Thus has to allocate not only system ram but also VRam, etc. Though I've never programmed a modern game so I could be wrong there. Also I'm pretty sure that the game controls the textures and such that are loaded in to the VRam, thus it has to account for that address space since it and not the OS handles that.

According to that link for the x64 WoW executable, at least that game, benefits from the extra address space that is available. By quite a bit too.

edit: Thanks to Mussels posting I remembered his x86 vs x64 thread and found this:

MS article: "On a modern operating system such as Windows Vista, applications run within their own private virtual address space. Typically, the size of the virtual address space is fixed at 2 gigabytes (GB) for 32-bit applications. How much virtual address space is available is not related to how much physical memory there is on the computer.

A modern graphics processing unit (GPU) can have 512 MB or more of video memory. Applications that try to take advantage of such large amounts of video memory can use a large proportion of their virtual address space for an in-memory copy of their video resources. On 32-bit systems, such applications may consume all the available virtual address space."

Mussels: This shows another side to this - 32 bit applications can only have 2GB total for the entire application, regardless of the amount of available ram and system-wide address space. so even if you have 4GB of ram and 3.5GB showing as available, if you've got a 1GB video card in a 32 bit OS you're in for a world of hurt on high settings on modern games.
This is why a game does not use more then 2GB of system memory. It has nothing to do with a game being properly coded. It has to do with the limitations MS put on x86 programs even in a x64 OS.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
#38
I've been using 64-bit Windows months after the very first one got released. I believe that was Win XP x64.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#39
they need to add in a steam benchmark, similar to windows vista/7's WEI score, and show the average results.


that way developers know just how fast steam gamers CPU's are in single and multi threaded apps, ram, GPU, etc.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,652 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.1 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#40
I went from XP 32bit to Win7 x64bit
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,884 (1.03/day)
Likes
881
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#41
they need to add in a steam benchmark, similar to windows vista/7's WEI score, and show the average results.


that way developers know just how fast steam gamers CPU's are in single and multi threaded apps, ram, GPU, etc.
What the hell are you waiting for? Send a mail to Newell immediately! He could pay you in games for that idea!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#43
This is why a game does not use more then 2GB of system memory. It has nothing to do with a game being properly coded. It has to do with the limitations MS put on x86 programs even in a x64 OS.
No, if they are properly coded they will be large address aware, which allows a 32-bit program to access up to 4GB in a 64-bit OS, or 3GB in a 32-bit OS. That is specifically why I said "properly coded".

Also, the in memory copy of their video memory was done away with in DX10/11.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#44
If it was that simple how come all the games are not doing it? Seems too simple but odd that few (if any?) implement this flag.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#45
If it was that simple how come all the games are not doing it? Seems too simple but odd that few (if any?) implement this flag.
because if they did and then customers ran a 32 bit OS, they'd just crash passing the 2GB limit.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516 (0.85/day)
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#46
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#47
because if they did and then customers ran a 32 bit OS, they'd just crash passing the 2GB limit.
I thought that flag only worked (to expand to 4GB) on x64 OSes?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#48
If it was that simple how come all the games are not doing it? Seems too simple but odd that few (if any?) implement this flag.
because if they did and then customers ran a 32 bit OS, they'd just crash passing the 2GB limit.
I thought that flag only worked (to expand to 4GB) on x64 OSes?
The flag works in both 32 and 64-bit OSes. In 32-bit OSes it gives the executable 3GB of address space to work with, in 64-bit OSes it gives the executable 4GB of address space to work with.

And yes, it really is as simple as switching a flag, in fact there was even a program floating around somewhere on these forums that "patched" normal 32-bit executables to be large address aware.

Why aren't more games using it? Because like I said, most games don't even use 2GB of RAM, so giving them access to 4GB doesn't help any. And even most games that have 64-bit native executables don't really show any improvement over the 32-bit executable.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#49
Why aren't more games using it? Because like I said, most games don't even use 2GB of RAM, so giving them access to 4GB doesn't help any. And even most games that have 64-bit native executables don't really show any improvement over the 32-bit executable.
fordgt90 wrote that app, and its a lifesaver. supreme commander (original, and then FA before it got patched in) sims 3, sins of a solar empire, and many other games all had crashes prevented if that flag was active in an x64 os, or a modded 32bit os (for the 3GB limit)


the problem is that with or without the flag, if the apps try to use more than 2GB in a non modded 32 bit OS, they crash to desktop. so the game devs put in limits to prevent that happening (which then get breached by people running higher res displays and cranking AA and such past levels that were normal when the game was tested/launched)


it wont go away until x86 gaming machines go away, but when it does, games will finally stop suffering consolitis - look at all the texture limitations skyrim had/has, and all the crashes people get/had running a non LAA version of the game with texture mods enabled.