1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 64-bit wrong dxdiag info(pagefile)

Discussion in 'General Software' started by RuskiSnajper, May 11, 2010.

  1. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,652 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    236
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    I have pagefile disabled since i have 4GB memory and the effect is more than obvious, well it's awesome , no lag in games and no UI lag, but for some reason DXDIAG (directX diagnostic tool) reports that i have 1505MB used and 2505MB available , the settings are still 0MB and None in System Virtual Memory , and I don't feel that's any slower , or that might just be that I was used to laggy atmosphere and i don't realize that windows forces pagefile to be on. Well i don't think so , it has to be DXDIAG that's wrong.

    EDIT: In the resource monitor , the Commit Charge is clearly showed as used with 40% used in the graph , and each processes also have amounts of commit , I don't know if commit means pagefile?

    In computing, commit charge is a term used in Microsoft Windows operating systems to describe the total amount of virtual address space for which the backing store is the pagefile. It may be thought of as the maximum potential pagefile usage.

    I don't understand
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2010
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,688 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,819
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Windows never lets you completely disable it. A lot of applications, by design, require virtual memory (Windows included). A lot of applications would refuse to run without access to virtual memory.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,652 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    236
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    So it's really still on , but it doesn't have such an impact as before, oh well.

    Well , is there a way to do this , forcefully ? Since I don't use PC for any kind of important work.


    And I've been searching for pagefile.sys , and I can't find it.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2010
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,688 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,819
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Not that I am aware of.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,652 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    236
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Oh well
     
  6. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,652 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    236
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Found out that the DXIDAG is mislabled, quite some of a mistake, in the general info window (first one) , you see "Pagefile: xxxx MB used / available"

    That's not pagefile , that's commit charge , which makes the whole thing (i was working on it the whole freaking day) different , and in the way that it solves everything. It's combined with the physical ram , and that's why you see some "hidden" pagefile which is actually commit charge.

    All abord the MS fail train ... again and again
     
  7. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,790 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Location:
    Philippines
    mind if i ask a question? what is the recommended pagefile for my system? do i have to set it very high? or very low? i set up my pagefile for 12 GBs, is that bad?
     
  8. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,628 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    its not bad or good, if it dosnt need to use page file it wont, simple as that.


    personaly i have mine set at 250mb initial and 6000mb Grow. that way everything stays in ram if im not using much ram, but if i use more then 4250mb the page file will grow and give me 6000mb more.



    TBH there really is no "optimum setting" and it should never be turned off ( IT CANT BE TURNED OFF COMPLEATLY) windows will still set a pagefile. keep an eye on your ram usage over a few days and ajust your page file size accordingly.
     
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,688 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,819
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Growing the virtual memory pool can cause the system to crawl. The generally recommended settings is virtual memory should equal the amount of physical memory (this is the default setting). For example, if you have 6 GiB of RAM, you should have 6 GiB of virtual memory.
     
    lyndonguitar says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,628 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    your right Ford, but its usualy only for a second or 2 wile it creates the next pagefile. iv never had it crawl for more then 5 seconds.



    just to clarify, there is not a noticeable difference between having your pagefile set at 250mb or 4000mb if your using less then the amount of ram needed.




    main reson i only have 250mb set is coz its writing to my SSD. the other 6000 is set on my raid.
     
    lyndonguitar says thanks.
  11. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,790 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Location:
    Philippines
    thanks so maybe i will turn it down to 4Gb?
     
  12. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,628 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    wont make a difference since your not likely using more then 4GB reducing from 10GB to 2GB wont change anything except the freespace on your HDD
     
  13. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,688 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,819
    Location:
    IA, USA
    ...which you should never let get to within 20% full anyway. The closer to the center of the disk you get, the slower it transfers clusters.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,790 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Location:
    Philippines
    Oh, just checked it, the 12 GB i said is really 4 GB on each my 3 main drives.
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,519 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,514
    when you have your Paging and recycle bin set very high all you are doing is wasting space on the HD that can be used for other stuff, best is to set it to the same amt of RAM you have or about 75 % of the ram you have. If you want a machine to move a little quicker have a separate Drive with the paging on it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)