1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 advanced sharing settings not staying

Discussion in 'General Software' started by hat, Nov 23, 2009.

  1. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,959 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,753
    Location:
    Ohio
    In Windows 7, I can't get my advanced sharing settings to stick. If I change something in the Home profile, the Public profile might change along with it, or it just won't stick at all.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,309 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,204
    ugh, ive pretty much given up trying to understand how windows 7 handles sharing. i hope you get it figured out.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,959 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,753
    Location:
    Ohio
    It would be nice if it would stay to the settings I set it to though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,959 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,753
    Location:
    Ohio
    This is getting really annoying. On my laptop, I can go in and turn on file and printer sharing, save settings, go back in and it will still be off. On my desktop, I can turn on network discovery, save changes, go back and it's still off.

    Why does it simply refuse to accept my settings?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,959 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,753
    Location:
    Ohio
    This is the screen I am talking about. I can click on "Turn on network discovery", click on save changes, then go back in and it will still be set to off, even though I had just turned it on.

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i recall something like this


    i think it may have been related to being in a homegroup - leave one if you're in one
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,959 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,753
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm not in a homegroup

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    have you got it set to a "home" profile and not work or public?

    [​IMG]


    (BTW, use TPU capture - it'll make your screenshots a lot easier to manage)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,959 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,753
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, it's a home profile. I have the same problem on my laptop as well, only it's with file and printer sharing.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i remember running into this on the RC, but not the solution - i found it via google, and it fixed it so i forgot it since it never came back
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,959 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,753
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ermmm... do you remember what you searched for when you found the solution, or what website it was on?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i just tried googling now and cant find it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    http://social.technet.microsoft.com.../thread/29373cf8-0c1b-4bdb-aeb2-8bf458adef27/


    [​IMG]

    Change settings -> network ID

    i think choosing "home" may fix it


    i also recall something about a service beign disabled may be related... did you disable the windows firewall service, for example?


    edit: from the thread

     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,959 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,753
    Location:
    Ohio
    I didn't disable the Windows Firewall service (although I did turn off the firewall in the Network properties). I use the "tweaked" configuration found here. SSDP in set to Manual and on, UPnP is set to Manual but it's off.

    It suddenly works on my desktop but I still have the same problem on my laptop.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    When I was setting up my parents network, I had to go into everest and check how the PC's naming was. For some reason, their two laptops where done with two different PC names and so I had to go and reset those in order for them to show up.

    Hope it helps.
     
  16. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,959 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,753
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nah, my computers all have seperate names: Kuma, Laptop, Sempron_3000, and Coppermine (but it's not running atm). They're also all part of the Workgroup network.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, but what I was saying is this.. Everest will show you the names of the computer.. if the computer isn't named right on all fields, meaning all fields have to be Worded right (caps lowercase letters/numbers), it leads to sharing not happening.. That's what I'm throwing at ya.
     
  18. MaxSerge New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I disabled certain Windows features using the Windows 7 Manager Software to increase my computer's performance.
    Enabling those features allowed me to change advaced sharing settings (they didn't reset afterwards) and also 'Sharing' appeared in my folders' properties.
    I reenabled
    'Disable the discovery of UPnP devices on your local network'
    'I do not use Security Center'
    'I am a single user with one internet connection'
    'I do not need to shares Windows Media Player libraries to other networked pi...'
    found in Windows 7 Manager -> Optimizer -> Service Manager -> Optimize.
    Not sure which of the four did the trick though.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)