1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 and 4TB Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Storage' started by icmk, Jul 4, 2014.

  1. icmk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I seem to be running into trouble with getting W7 to work with a WD Red 4TB, I would be grateful if someone can point out my errors.

    After I connected and initialized the drive as a GPT disk, W7 reported it as a 1.67TB partition. DISKPART, EASEUS/Paragon PMs all reported the same so I used GPARTED to format it as a 4TB NTFS drive. Reboot back to W7 which now see all 4TB in a single partition, so I assumed that everything was fine.

    Used ROBOCOPY to populate the drive overnight with about 2TB of data. But the next day W7 reports the drive as not accessible. Thought I must have received a bad drive so I ran an extended Data LifeGuard test. But WinDLG reported NO error.

    However W7 now report the drive as unformatted and want to format it. So I ran the EASEUS/Paragon PMs and some parts of them see the 4TB, other parts see only 1.67TB. DISKPART reports different sizes too.

    This is the output from DISKPART:

    DISKPART> list disk

    Disk ### Status Size Free Dyn Gpt
    -------- ------------- ------- ------- --- ---
    Disk 0 Online 931 GB 0 B
    Disk 1 Online 931 GB 0 B
    Disk 2 Online 1678 GB 0 B *
    Disk 3 Online 223 GB 0 B


    DISKPART> list volume

    Volume ### Ltr Label Fs Type Size Status Info
    ---------- --- ----------- ----- ---------- ------- --------- -------
    Volume 0 R DVD-ROM 0 B No Media
    Volume 1 G Black NTFS Partition 931 GB Healthy Pagefil
    Volume 2 H Blue NTFS Partition 931 GB Healthy
    Volume 3 D NTFS Partition 3726 GB Healthy
    Volume 4 C Root NTFS Partition 223 GB Healthy System


    DISKPART> select disk 2

    Disk 2 is now the selected disk.

    DISKPART> list partition

    Partition ### Type Size Offset
    ------------- ---------------- ------- -------
    Partition 1 Primary 3726 GB 1024 KB



    I've Googled the problem but most of them seem to involve initializing the drive as a MBR disk. I'd be truly thankful if someone can give me some help on this.
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,907 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,354
    you need to install windows 7 fresh on the drive with no other drives attached
     
  3. icmk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    I'm using the 4TB strictly as a data drive. Actually I'm just attaching it to my desktop to copy backed up data onto it. Its final destination will be a Hyper-V server.
     
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,509 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,944
    Location:
    Florida
    the partition map is damaged because you keep using diffirent programs

    clean the disk using disk part and then re format it and init as GPT
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  5. icmk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks for the reply, happy 4th to you.

    DISKPART | clean | convert gpt gives me a 1.67TB disk. Am I using the wrong commands/arguments?


    DISKPART> clean

    DiskPart succeeded in cleaning the disk.

    DISKPART> list disk

    Disk ### Status Size Free Dyn Gpt
    -------- ------------- ------- ------- --- ---
    Disk 0 Online 931 GB 0 B
    Disk 1 Online 931 GB 0 B
    * Disk 2 Online 1678 GB 1678 GB
    Disk 3 Online 223 GB 0 B


    DISKPART> convert gpt

    DiskPart successfully converted the selected disk to GPT format.

    DISKPART> list disk

    Disk ### Status Size Free Dyn Gpt
    -------- ------------- ------- ------- --- ---
    Disk 0 Online 931 GB 0 B
    Disk 1 Online 931 GB 0 B
    * Disk 2 Online 1678 GB 1677 GB *
    Disk 3 Online 223 GB 0 B
     
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,509 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,944
    Location:
    Florida
    yes your converting clear it again and handle the rest in disk manager
     
    icmk says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  7. icmk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    DISKPART | clean, DISKMGMT.MSC initialize as GPT disk.

    Same result, 1.67TB disk. 8-(

    Edit: Just to add that it's W7 64bit and the system has dealt with a number of 3TB drives without problem before but it's the 1st 4TB and WD Red.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2014
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,907 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,354
    Killdisk to completely wipe it
     
    icmk says thanks.
  9. icmk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Found out what's causing the probem.

    It's the Intel Matrix Storage Manager. Once I've uninstalled it W7/DISLPART/etc see the whole 4TB.

    Thanks everyone for their replies.
     
    AsRock and Solaris17 say thanks.
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,509 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,944
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks for letting us know what it was.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,907 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,354
    Might want to see if there is an update to it
     
  12. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,291 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,797
    I was just going to suggest the mobo or the disk driver chipset driver may not handle it correctly.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  13. Scott-Geek New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I had the same problem. No matter what I did I could not see beyond 1687 GB
    * Disk 2 Online 1678 GB 1677 GB *

    This will be a secondary drive for me too.
    I tried all of the above to no avail.

    When I was ready to give up, thinking my 6-year old system (Alienware X58 with Asus P6T Deluxe MB with Marvell Raid Controller) would not handle the drive, I went through WD pages about the drive, and saw Windows 7 support as long as you have the latest Intel drive:

    Do I need a special driver to install a WD Advanced Format Drive on an Intel chipset?

    If your operating system is either Windows 7 or Vista, we recommend the following for maximum performance in all situations:
    This surprised me since I still see the WD Green 4TB drive appearing during bios boot disk list with 1687 GB.

    Hope this helps other people looking for this solution.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)