• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 Beta Suffers from MP3 Corruption Bug Before it Even Reaches the Public

Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#1
The first official public beta of Windows 7 launches today (Build 7000), but already there is a serious bug which can corrupt your mp3 files. Although it will not render them unplayable, it has the potential to cut off the first 2 or 3 seconds of the mp3 recording. According to a poster on the Neowin.net forums:
The problem only happens when you edit metadata on a certain class of MP3 file (a file with a header larger than 16KB). When the new metadata is written, it corrupts the beginning of the file. This can happen either when you edit the metadata from inside WMP or Explorer, or it can happen if you have WMP set to automatically fill in missing metadata using the online service and add the MP3 to your library. This problem is only present in the recently leaked build (7000)
This same problem has been noted on Microsofts MSDN and TechNet websites when you click to download the beta:
To protect your MP3 files
1. Before you install this Beta release, back up all MP3 files that might be accessed by the computer, including those on removable media or network shares.
2. Install the Beta release of Windows 7; download and install the Update to Windows 7 Beta (KB961367) located on this page.
Although there is no official support page for KB961367 yet, Microsoft have the updates ready for download.

You can download the 32-bit (x86) version here and the 64-bit (x64) version here.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
346 (0.10/day)
Likes
24
System Name Kincsem
Processor Core i7 3820
Motherboard GA-X79S-UP5-WIFI
Cooling Scythe Ashura
Memory Kingston 4×4GB 2133 cl11
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7970
Storage 96GB SSD +750+2000+1500
Display(s) Samsung 26" T260 + Dell 23" U2312HM
Case Cooler Master Centurion 590
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Windows7-64
Benchmark Scores http://valid.canardpc.com/rwh6sq https://www.dropbox.com/s/prcc36lhyxxw6j4/Intel%20i7%203820.png
#2
this is humiliating for M$
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#3
It's a beta!! what more can be said! When you use a beta EVERYTHING is at YOUR risk.
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.60/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#4
Whoa I did notice it but I don't really care lol the best parts in the middle and the end :rockout:
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,428 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,945
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#5
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#6
It's a beta!! what more can be said! When you use a beta EVERYTHING is at YOUR risk.
Ditto! He is correct. I don't think MS is doing things on purpose to cause problems - it causes delays and cost money to fix things...:)
 

Gam'ster

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
980 (0.24/day)
Likes
109
Location
South Wales, UK
System Name Toshiba L350
Processor AMD QL-65
Motherboard Toshiba 780G/SB700
Cooling Laptop
Memory 3GB
Video Card(s) ATI HD3000
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 17" Widescreen
Case Black/Carbon effect
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Brick
Software WIN7
#7
Its just beta being beta, when did anything in development ever work as it should..... now that they know they can fix it, its the point of a beta release.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,482 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#8
It's a beta!! what more can be said! When you use a beta EVERYTHING is at YOUR risk.
True -- Microsoft is not liable for any damage that occurs to your computer as a result of you using the Windows 7 beta.

That being said, I wonder how they could've got something so simple as writing metadata to MP3 files wrong. :confused: Did they even need to code anything new for that, considering we've all been doing it safely for years?
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#9
I'm glad it got caught in the beta.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
226 (0.06/day)
Likes
39
Location
Toronto, ON, Canada
System Name Titan
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2670v2
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X79
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon R9 290 DirectCU II
Storage Mushkin Reactor 1TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2713HM
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic X-750
Software Windows 10 Pro
#11
I don't see how this is really that big of a deal. It's not the final release and technically, most of us shouldn't have access to it anyway but who are we kidding, right? ;)

Either way, hate to be redundant but, it's a beta. Stuff happens. It's part of the development process. Microsoft caught the problem and issued a fix. Problem solved.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2007
Messages
197 (0.05/day)
Likes
40
#12
Crap, installed the patch and now my wired network connection is missing. (Does not even show up in the device manager as a hidden device.) I used system restore but that did not help either.

Oh well, I am going to put my Vista harddrive back into my laptop I guess.

Edit: I rebooted after installing some Office updates and now it is back. (Well, it is a beta after all.)
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2005
Messages
480 (0.11/day)
Likes
38
Location
Silver Spring, MD
Processor Core i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB Gskill 2133MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce GTX 670 2GB
Storage 256GB Corsair M4, 240GB Samsung 840
Display(s) 27" 1440p Achevia Shimian
Case Fractal Node 304
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly USB DAC
Power Supply Corsair Builder 600W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#13
It may be a beta, but if it was spotted so quickly by MSDN users and the general public, they potentially didn't do enough checking (you do plenty of checking for beta releases too).


It's an odd problem to have though, I guess it just overwrites the song with more header information or something.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,665 (1.09/day)
Likes
953
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC / Miner
Processor i5 8600K @4.5Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970 / i5 2500k
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3/ P67 Pro 3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903 / Stock
Memory 16Gb Nighthawk 3000 MHz/ 4GB DDR3 / 16gb DDR3 / 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT / 2x1060 + 1080
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO/ 250gb Mechanical
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV/ None
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240 / Custom
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W / FSP 850 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#14
I'm guessing the policy at the M$ labs is not to have their computers contain huge amounts of MP3's, and the tech's wouldn't really be focusing on editing meta data. But yea a pretty big error and understandable that it has gone unnoticed so far. Windows7 should be a great OS because of this public beta.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2005
Messages
461 (0.10/day)
Likes
45
Location
Peterborough, UK
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe
Cooling Akasa EVO 120
Memory 2 x 1Gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1066Mhz 6,6,6,18
Video Card(s) GeCube ATi X1950Pro 512Mb PCIe (Accelro X2)
Storage Samsung 320Gb SATA2
Display(s) Samsung SM206BW 20" Widescreen TFT 1680x1050
Case Coolermaster Centurion 532
Audio Device(s) On board AC'97
Power Supply Hiper Type-R 580W
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
Benchmark Scores See my OC Blog @ http://www.rowan-house.net/
#15
I'm sure there will be plenty more bugs and fixes before release. Probably a whole load more after too!

It is a beta after all :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
1,302 (0.28/day)
Likes
646
Location
South Africa
System Name Firelance
Processor i7-3770K @ 4.6GHz / 1.23V
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H @ F16h mod BIOS
Cooling Corsair H105 + 4x Gentle Typhoon 1850
Memory 2x 8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 CL9 @ CL7
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC with Gaming X BIOS @ 2000 core / 2300 mem
Storage 2x 256GB 840 Pro (RAID-0) + 3TB Deskstar 7K3000 + 512GB BX300 + 8TB WD Purple
Display(s) Dell U2713HM (25x14) + Acer P243W (19x12)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Corsair VOID Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP² Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 Service Pack 1
#16
It's likely a buffer overrun bug. The only way you could have over 16KB of metadata in an MP3 is if you embed the album art into the audio file itself, which IMO is nothing but a good way to waste disk space.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#17
The first official public beta of Windows 7 launches today (Build 7000), but already there is a serious bug which can corrupt your mp3 files. Although it will not render them unplayable, it has the potential to cut off the first 2 or 3 seconds of the mp3 recording. According to a poster on the Neowin.net forums:

This same problem has been noted on Microsofts MSDN and TechNet websites when you click to download the beta:

Although there is no official support page for KB961367 yet, Microsoft have the updates ready for download.

You can download the 32-bit (x86) version here and the 64-bit (x64) version here.
Why is the download site for the windows 7 beta not available it just only has information on it and videos all I can find are the updates for the W7-beta but not the actual os???

I read that it would be available 12:00pm 1-09-09...so where's it at...can you please provide a proper link to the download directly.

Thanks in advance

Aw...found link for W7
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,297 (1.10/day)
Likes
510
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#18
i used the 32bit for a week with out the hotfix my mp3 are fine, using 64bit now with hotfix now though