• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 7 Gaming Compatibility ?

Polarman

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,626 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Rimouski
System Name Polar's Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II 975BE
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD65 (Bios 18.7)
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Led
Memory Gskill 8GB DDR3-1333 (8,8,8,21)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6870 Hawk
Storage WD Raptor 250 - WD RE4 500GB
Display(s) Samsung T240 (1920 X1200)
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750 (Red)
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit + SP1
#1
Just out of curiosity, for those who are running Windows 7 (whatever build). Do you have any trouble running certain games? How about those oldies?

For my part, i'm using Vista 32bit and all my games (New, Old and Ancient) all work fine.

Does the same rule apply in Windows 7 ?

Anyone wants to start a list?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
471 (0.15/day)
Likes
77
System Name AMD Black Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 4GB OCZ PC2-6400 Platinum (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB GDDR5 w AC Twin Turbo
Storage Crucial C300 64GB SSD, 500GB and 2TB Drives
Display(s) Samsung 2494hm, Dell (Samsung?) 1907FP
Case Lancool (Lian-Li on a budget) K7
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC889A, M-Audio Fast Tracks
Power Supply OCZ Mod-X-Stream Pro 600W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64, XP Pro
#2
I simply can't believe how well Crysis x64 runs on Windows 7 64 bit and DX10. I still had it stuck in my head that DX10 was a performance killer (and perhaps it still is with some games) but man it ran better than it did in 32 bit XP DX9! I've only played a few other games like Bioshock in DX10 and it seems to run just as good as it did in XP DX9. I don't know about older games but I think 7 handles older programs in general better than Vista because it uses VM for DOS and 9X does it not?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
294 (0.08/day)
Likes
34
Location
New York
System Name Geraldo RiveraII
Processor Intel Core2Quad q6600 @ 3.2ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK x38-t2rb
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1264 CPU fan, case fans
Memory 4 gigs (2x2gig) G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD3870 @ 850/1305
Storage WD 500gb Caviar, WD Mybook 1tb external
Display(s) Asus 24" VK246H
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek
Power Supply PCP&C Silencer 750 quad 750w
Software Windows 7 (7100), Sony Vegas Pro 9, Photoshop CS4+
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06=12680 (Vista Business 32x) 3dmark06=12852 (Windows 7 7100 64x)
#3
I run windows 7 64 bit build 7100

Every game I've run so far runs fine :) The oldest I've run is roller coaster tycoon. ran fine, but then again, thats not really a tough game to run, even during its day. But yeah, you should be fine.
 

Pyeti

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
180 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
Location
Way down the South of NZ
System Name Magnum
Processor e6500 @ 3.3 (11*300) @ 1.25v
Motherboard GA-EP45-DS3P
Cooling Noctua NH-U9B
Memory 4gig A-Data Extreme 800+
Video Card(s) HIS 5770
Storage 250gig WD + 2 x 1tb WD Green
Display(s) 2 x BenQ E2200HD
Power Supply Corsair VX450w
Software Windows 7
#4
The only problems i've encountered have been because of 64bit with some older games but apart from that everything ive tried has run perfect
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,945 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,055
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#5
I've used 7 Beta 7000 and RC 7100. Here are some notes:

CoD4 - SP ran great, same as Vista! MP ran great till PB kicked me for not knowing my OS...thanks evenbalance.
BF2142 - Again ran great, same as Vista, till PB...see above
BF2 - Same as 2142
World in Conflict - No issues, no noticable change in performance ran great on Vista too.
Bioshock - same as above
Unreal Tournament III demo - same as above.
Far Cry 2 - Ran great, seemed smoother than on Vista at least in DX10 mode, never tried 9 mode, iirc this has PB issues too..but I could be wrong there.
Warhammer 40K: Dawn of War II - Ran great, same performance as Vista for me. No issues.
NFS: Pro Street - Same as Vista, ran great. Didn't try online.
Freespace 2 + open source + mods - Umm...this game doesn't even need my card's power in 2D mode lol. Same as Vista, ran great.
Evochron: Legends - Same as Vista, ran great, no issues, mp was solid.
Frontlines: Fuel of War - At the time I played and possibly related to drivers this game had issues in 7...the performance would start out to be great, but would slowly degrade to about 15FPS then every once in a while shoot up to about 25-30 then back down...but it would start in the 70-80 range where it usually ran under Vista. Between that and the PB issues, pass...this game is fun with a clan, but there's too many issues to keep enjoying it long term imo.
Burnout: Paradise - Same as Vista, ran great, no issues.

There were some others I have since removed due to rarely playing them, but those are the ones I had experience with playing in 7 x64, currently running Vista x64 Sp2 though. PB blows, but unfortunately a few of the games it's anchored to I love to play.

:toast:
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
276 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
Location
Texas
System Name Alienware Aurora
Processor i970 @3.8
Motherboard Alienware x58
Cooling Alienware liquid
Memory 12 gigs Corsair XMS tri-channel
Video Card(s) Visiontek 7950 3 gig
Storage Barrucuda 500 gig sata II x 2
Display(s) Dell U2312HM
Case Aurora
Audio Device(s) Realtec 7.1
Power Supply 875 watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#6
From what Im hearing and observed PB is causing problems due to the fact they are saying they will not update the code until Windows 7 is officially released, some people have no issues with it and others cant play mp in some games because of it who knows.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,145 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,292
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#7
Oldest game Ive run on my Win7 7100 is Call Of Duty United Offense. gotta set it in compatiblity mode to XP or Vista otherwise it wont work though.

why did i reinstall the game & play it you ask? I wanted to re-live the glory days when i could get in a jeep & run someone over. first time ive picked it up since i stopped playing it at the end of 2005, they dont make games like they use to - Huge maps & vehicles you use to get from A to B
 

Sonido

New Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
356 (0.10/day)
Likes
85
Location
USA
System Name Sonido
Processor E6600 @ 3.20 GHz (1600 FSB)
Motherboard abit IX38 QuadGT
Cooling Tt SpinQ (load @ 29c)
Memory TopRam SpeedRAM A.K.A "El Cheapo" @ 800 MHz
Video Card(s) Diamond HD 4870 (@ Stock)
Storage Primary: 500 GB WD
Display(s) 32" Samsung 1080p HDTV
Case Antec Twelve hundred (Modded Tri-cool fans)
Audio Device(s) On-board HD Audio
Power Supply 700W Rocketfish
Software Vista\7\Linux\Hackintosh
#8
Just out of curiosity, for those who are running Windows 7 (whatever build). Do you have any trouble running certain games? How about those oldies?

For my part, i'm using Vista 32bit and all my games (New, Old and Ancient) all work fine.

Does the same rule apply in Windows 7 ?

Anyone wants to start a list?
If it runs on Vista, it will run on 7.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.29/day)
Likes
2,801
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
#9
Has anyone had any trouble playing F.E.A.R. or Half-Life2 on Win7 RC?
 
Joined
Feb 29, 2008
Messages
311 (0.09/day)
Likes
28
Location
Tempe, AZ
System Name GAMING BEAST
Processor i7 920
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLi
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P 120mm
Memory 6gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6850
Storage 2x640gb WD AALS Matrix RAID 0/RAID 5 (180mb/s, 7.2ms Access)
Display(s) Acer X233Hbd 23" Monitor (1920x1080)
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 (9600gt): 12,567 3DMark06 (HD4870): 16,587 3DMarkVantage: P4740
#10
Any reviews that have fps and testing between the Windows 7 and Vista performance? We can all talk about how similar but would like to know hard facts. ;)
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#11
Anything I have tried has worked fine: Age of Empires 3, WoW, Mass Effect, BF 2, LOTRO, and quiet a few others.
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#12
Has anyone had any trouble playing F.E.A.R. or Half-Life2 on Win7 RC?
I installed FEAR a couple of days ago as it happens!

I installed and ran under XP compatability mode, and can confirm it runs better than with Vista 64. In the performance test with everything maxed I get 215 FPS Average at 1920x1080. On Vista I "only" get around 190 Av, LOL.

As a sidenote, when I first tried FEAR on Vista performance was great at first, but it would slow to a crawl after a few minutes. Thats why I run it in compatability mode now.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,227 (0.61/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight
Processor QX9650 @4.4GHz max OC
Motherboard DFI x48 Dark Knight
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory 8 Gb Geil Esoteria rev.2
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 2 x 500 Gb wd (ext. port), 1 x 1.500 Gb Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate (AC Ryan box)
Display(s) LG M2094D-PZ 20'' HD (1920 X 1080)
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
Benchmark Scores 18509 single 4870 - 23996 3dmark06 4870 crossfire(vista ult.64@4Ghz)/ P16213 3dmark vantage
#13
all I have tried up to now work fine!
COD2, COD4, COD5, PES'09, Oblivion, Mass effect, Prototype, Far Cry 2...
have not tested any older games, though! I might just install some of them, just to see what will work...

no problems.... btw, I had to put Company of Heroes in vista 64 sp2 compatibility mode! and works fine!:rockout:

I used ati 9.5 drivers.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,104 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,535
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
Just out of curiosity, for those who are running Windows 7 (whatever build). Do you have any trouble running certain games? How about those oldies?

For my part, i'm using Vista 32bit and all my games (New, Old and Ancient) all work fine.

Does the same rule apply in Windows 7 ?

Anyone wants to start a list?
if it works in vista, it works in 7. They maintained compatibility in every way, with vista.
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
1,088 (0.35/day)
Likes
232
Location
Latvia
System Name Personal \\ Work - HP EliteBook 840 G1
Processor i7-4790K \\ i7-4600U
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Intel stock for now
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB 2400 MHz \\ 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X DirectCU II OC \\ Intel 4400 HD
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, WD Black 2 TB \\ Micron 256GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z \\ FullHD + 2x HP ZR2440w external screens via docking station
Case Fractal Design Define Arc Midi R2 with window
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 with Logitech Z323
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 10
#15
Every game worked for me.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#16
Any game with punkbuster doesn't work. Good thing I know of a few non-PB CoD4 servers :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,104 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,535
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#17
Any game with punkbuster doesn't work. Good thing I know of a few non-PB CoD4 servers :)
the games work, SOME games have issues with their version of punkbuster. I know CoD 4 works, and 5/WaW doesnt. (or the other way around, i'm a little hazy)

Anyway, thats punkbusters fault. it'll get updated soon enough.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#18
Crysis is the only game which wont work instantly, I have to run it in Vista Compatibility mode.

Then there is BioShocks infamous sound issue, but thats no different from Vista, I just enable Stereo Mix and it works.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#19
I put the apparent win7 rtm on last night,so i will report if i find any games that dont work.
 

LeChuckle

New Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2008
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
it seems ive gained some fps after getting win7 (from vista) and catalyst 9.7 in Arma2.

my maploading times in BF2 are really slow now for some reason :&
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#21
runs much better than xp suprisingly on my rig i cant explain it, anyway ive tried dow2 all the steam based games they work without a hitch tho dow2 had an issue that was driver related and now fixed same as with the cod series bf2/2142 work tho punk buster can be a pain on the BF games now and again.
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#22
Crysis is the only game which wont work instantly, I have to run it in Vista Compatibility mode.

Then there is BioShocks infamous sound issue, but thats no different from Vista, I just enable Stereo Mix and it works.
Thats strange Alex, Crysis runs fine for me on 7 without any compatability mode:confused:...
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#23
Thats strange Alex, Crysis runs fine for me on 7 without any compatability mode:confused:...
Without compat mode it just crashes instantly :(

Unless its the NO-DVD fix Im using. (I own a legit copy FYI, but I hate having to put the disc in for CD checks)
 
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
3,404 (1.09/day)
Likes
670
Location
Brunswick, GA
System Name Haz0
Processor i7-2700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling Chicken Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripshits X 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5850
Storage Kingston 128GB SSD + WD Black 640GB + 2x 1.5TB
Display(s) 24" Acer G245HQ + 19" Lenovo L194
Case Antec NSK-4482 Orangified
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7: Electric Boogaloo
#24
In my experience, I has problems running GTA:SA, Burnout Paradise, and Mirror's Edge (all non-steam versions).

Thats strange Alex, Crysis runs fine for me on 7 without any compatability mode:confused:...
Same here.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,104 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,535
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#25
it might be related to the build he's on.