1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 install issue

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ChewyBrownSuga, Apr 19, 2010.

  1. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,639 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,137
    Link takes me to my album for some reason. :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    how about now
     
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,582 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,057
    Location:
    Florida
    it seems to be that it thinks their is a driver required that it doesnt have. You running RAID or something?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    No just whats in my system specs
     
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,582 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,057
    Location:
    Florida
    thumb drive or disk? if disk is it scratched? if not have a spare DVD drive? If thumbdrive format set it up again.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    its a new DVD
     
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,582 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,057
    Location:
    Florida
    OT were in NH? on topic do you have a spare DVD drive? if not do you have another rig you can put the DVD into and setup a thumbdrive?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    I live in North Woodstock near loon and no I don't have a spare rig or a spare DVD drive
     
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,582 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,057
    Location:
    Florida
    damn if u were closer to concord id see if i can bring over my stuff and help out but im not sure how to get to loon. Have you tried continuing the install? Or does it just fail?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Yeah I live like 45 minutes away from concord and the install just fails right after
     
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,582 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,057
    Location:
    Florida
    When it fails after that message does it throw another?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    you have the SATA controller in AHCI mode most likely, just put the drivers from AMD on a flash drive and add them in.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire

    yeah gives 1 more just 1 second need to take pics
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2010
  15. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    will try it now
     
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,582 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,057
    Location:
    Florida
    agreed mussels idea is a good one. Thats why i asked if you were running RAID.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    also, what SATA port is the HDD on?

    [​IMG]

    i think those blue ports are a different controller, and may need different drivers

    edit: yep, black are AMD SB750, blue are Jmicron JMB322
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    The SSD is in the blue and eveything else is in the black
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    well if you're installing to the SSD then you're gunna need the JMICRON drivers on the flash drive
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,582 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,057
    Location:
    Florida
    is the second controller enabled? try moving everything to the black.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Ok i moved everything to the black ports with the same result
     
  22. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,582 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,057
    Location:
    Florida
    is it in IDE or ACHI mode?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    whatever controller its on, you still need to add the drivers for it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    I wouldn't know how to check, I never used a IDE so i guess ACHI
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    BIOS setting. go look.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)