• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 7 Issue - Can't install Windows 7 64bit Asus software/drivers

Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
320 (0.08/day)
Likes
4
System Name Windows XP Pro 32 bit
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard Asus Striker II Formula
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 cpu heatsink
Memory 2x 2gb Crucial Ballistix ram
Video Card(s) Geforce 280 GTX 1gb
Storage Seagate 200 GB - ST3200820AS / 120gb Western Digital HD
Display(s) ViewSonic VX922
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply HIPER 880W Power Supply
#1
I just installed Windows 7 64 bit. I go to the asus website and try to install anything from their Windows 7 64 bit category and I get the following error.




Does anyone know what this is about? It doesn't make sense to me why none of this would work, if Asus labels it as Windows 7 64 bit software/drivers

My motherboard is a P6T Deluxe v2
http://usa.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=iRlP8RG9han6saZx&templete=2

thanks for the help and let me know if you need any other information.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
i'd be checking to make sure you're actually running 7 x64



Notice how it states x64 lower down? check if yours is the same




DXdiag also shows it
 
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
320 (0.08/day)
Likes
4
System Name Windows XP Pro 32 bit
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard Asus Striker II Formula
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 cpu heatsink
Memory 2x 2gb Crucial Ballistix ram
Video Card(s) Geforce 280 GTX 1gb
Storage Seagate 200 GB - ST3200820AS / 120gb Western Digital HD
Display(s) ViewSonic VX922
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply HIPER 880W Power Supply
#3
yep, 64 bit - shows in both dxdiag and system properties (either that or this is one hell of a 32 bit os that sees 12 gig of ram ;)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
name some of the stuff you're running


AFUDOS sounds suspicously like a DOS based flashing tool to me...
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#5
Well, that is a program that is supposed to be run in DOS mode...
Darn Blue Cat beat me again!
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
320 (0.08/day)
Likes
4
System Name Windows XP Pro 32 bit
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard Asus Striker II Formula
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 cpu heatsink
Memory 2x 2gb Crucial Ballistix ram
Video Card(s) Geforce 280 GTX 1gb
Storage Seagate 200 GB - ST3200820AS / 120gb Western Digital HD
Display(s) ViewSonic VX922
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply HIPER 880W Power Supply
#6
hmm, appears to be user error on my part xD
Doesn't Asus use a program utility to flash your bios without it being run in DOS mode? at least from my experience..
So how do I go about running this program in DOS mode - darn this new fangled technology!
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#7
Old tech is sometimes better. You wouldn't want windows to fart while you are flashing your bios.
They might, but it ain't on the download page under utilites.

EDIT: ASUS Update V7.17.06 Install Program for Windows 32/64bit XP & 32/64bit Vista & 32/64bit 7... it is in the windows 7 64 bit section under utilities, should do the trick per the manual.
 
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,606 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,331
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#8
there is a flashing tool in the bios;)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
there is a flashing tool in the bios;)
^ what he said.

Plug in a USB flash drive with the BIOS file on it, turn on the PC, go into the BIOS - select the flash menu, and away you go.

Its a feature i definitely miss since i moved from asus to DFI and gigabyte.