• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 Micro stutter Fix - Core Parking

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,542 (4.18/day)
Hi Everyone

I just found a great fix to stop win7 parking the cores when Idle.

This is an aggressive power saving approach which makes the system feel sluggish and underpowered..

Who is affected
It only applies to Windows 7 X64 and X32 and only in systems using more than 2 physical CPU's and/or more than 2 "logical" cores - ie: Core i7's.

The Problem
Core Parking is a feature of Windows 7 that is causing rare performance problems. I don't notice it on my home i7 / Win7 system but some people are getting microstutters and odd behavior in certain programs. Without the following " tweak" you may see CPU spiking in your programs and Windows Task Manager - some CPU cores will be "turned off" / "parked" depending on load and they will be dynamically turned on or off and dynamically loaded up or down as the system deems necessary - the scope for glitches / pops / clicks / dropouts etc.... in such an environment is simply enormous. To the best of my knowledge, there is no known "switch" to turn it off - no utility I am aware of to "tweak" it off.

The Fix
- Go to Regedit
- Select Edit > Find... and find this key: "Specify the minimum number of unparked cores/packages allowed (in percentage)."
- Within this key, there is a value called: " ValueMax " This value represents the % number of cores the system will park
- Change the value of " ValueMax" to 0 so that, it matches " ValueMin "
- You will have to find the key a few times and repeat the process for each time it is found - the number of instances will depend on the number of power profiles in your system. To do this go back up to Edit > Find Next. (I had 3 instances of this key in my registry.)
- Do a full shutdown and power-off and cold-re-start.

This seems to work better.

SOURCE

Thanks guys in the BF3 clubhouse.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,826 (1.79/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
Cool tip. Surprised no BIOS exposes that setting, or prhaps it does in a different way?
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,542 (4.18/day)
Cool tip. Surprised no BIOS exposes that setting, or prhaps it does in a different way?

Its something windows 7 does to save some energy. This fix has been known to help anyone with HT shuttering issues in BF3
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,826 (1.79/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
Its something windows 7 does to save some energy. This fix has been known to help anyone with HT shuttering issues in BF3

Yes, I knew that part, but there's a hardware/software layer that allows Win7 to do this, and my assumption is it's talking through the BIOS. Much like the power saving modes of old.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,188 (2.90/day)
I made the changes, will check it out this afternoon.

First thing to report is that it did not affect idle temps at all.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,542 (4.18/day)
I made the changes, will check it out this afternoon.

First thing to report is that it did not affect idle temps at all.

Nice! Please let us know how it works out for you!
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
348 (0.09/day)
Location
Tirana,Albania
System Name Th3 R3D X
Processor AMD RYZEN 5 5600X
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Pro
Cooling Arctic eSports Duo
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Reference Gigabyte RX5700XT
Storage Couple ssd , nvme etc
Display(s) AORUS FI25F 240hz
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Software Win 11 64bit
Same here...Temps are normal
Gonna try BF3 in a few minutes
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,761 (1.07/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor Xeon 1680 v2
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory 32 GBs
Video Card(s) GTX 980Ti
Storage 4x SSDs = 1.750TB 2xStorage Drives=8TB
Display(s) 2x 1080
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar U7 MKII
Power Supply EVGA 750 Watt
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky
Software Kubuntu 22.04
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Just tried this myself with winrar, and it does indeed increase performance by a fair bit. However there is an easier way, just one reg mod and you can set it in power options! 0% is fully enabled, and 100% and parking is fully disabled:
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,188 (2.90/day)
Just tried this myself with winrar, and it does indeed increase performance by a fair bit. However there is an easier way, just one reg mod and you can set it in power options! 0% is fully enabled, and 100% and parking is fully disabled:
http://img.techpowerup.org/120202/CorePark.png

I already tried to make those adjsutments, and "Core Parking" still seemed to be enabled, as the power plan here on my system didn't list core parking in the power options.


I wonder why it shows in yours? Weird...
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,270 (1.05/day)
Location
New York
Processor INTEL CORE I9-9900K @ 5Ghz all core 4.7Ghz Cache @1.305 volts
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z390-P ATX
Cooling CORSAIR HYDRO H150I PRO RGB 360MM 6x120mm fans push pull
Memory CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 3000Mhz 4x8 32gb @ 4000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORECE RTX 2080 SUPER XC HYBRID GAMING
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB 3D NAND NVMe,Intel 660p 1TB m.2 ,1TB WD Blue 3D NAND,500GB WD Blue 3D NAND,
Display(s) 50" Sharp Roku TV 8ms responce time and Philips 75Hz 328E9QJAB 32" curved
Case BLACK LIAN LI O11 DYNAMIC XL FULL-TOWER GAMING CASE,
Power Supply 1600 Watt
Software Windows 10
Just tried this myself with winrar, and it does indeed increase performance by a fair bit. However there is an easier way, just one reg mod and you can set it in power options! 0% is fully enabled, and 100% and parking is fully disabled:
http://img.techpowerup.org/120202/CorePark.png

My power options did not change and I dont have any thing that looks like your screen shot.
Your screenie almost looks like windows is skinned to basic.?.
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,761 (1.07/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor Xeon 1680 v2
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory 32 GBs
Video Card(s) GTX 980Ti
Storage 4x SSDs = 1.750TB 2xStorage Drives=8TB
Display(s) 2x 1080
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar U7 MKII
Power Supply EVGA 750 Watt
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky
Software Kubuntu 22.04
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
You just need to use the one reg mod I showed, simply change the attribute from 1 to 0. Then it will show up in advanced power options.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,270 (1.05/day)
Location
New York
Processor INTEL CORE I9-9900K @ 5Ghz all core 4.7Ghz Cache @1.305 volts
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z390-P ATX
Cooling CORSAIR HYDRO H150I PRO RGB 360MM 6x120mm fans push pull
Memory CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 3000Mhz 4x8 32gb @ 4000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORECE RTX 2080 SUPER XC HYBRID GAMING
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB 3D NAND NVMe,Intel 660p 1TB m.2 ,1TB WD Blue 3D NAND,500GB WD Blue 3D NAND,
Display(s) 50" Sharp Roku TV 8ms responce time and Philips 75Hz 328E9QJAB 32" curved
Case BLACK LIAN LI O11 DYNAMIC XL FULL-TOWER GAMING CASE,
Power Supply 1600 Watt
Software Windows 10
You just need to use the one reg mod I showed, simply change the attribute from 1 to 0. Then it will show up in advanced power options.

where is advanced power options located?
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,761 (1.07/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor Xeon 1680 v2
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory 32 GBs
Video Card(s) GTX 980Ti
Storage 4x SSDs = 1.750TB 2xStorage Drives=8TB
Display(s) 2x 1080
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar U7 MKII
Power Supply EVGA 750 Watt
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky
Software Kubuntu 22.04
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Click "Change power settings" then "Change advanced power settings". Oh, and I didn't need a reboot for any of this, it worked right away.
Edit: and yes, I use classic interface, with classicshell ect....
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,270 (1.05/day)
Location
New York
Processor INTEL CORE I9-9900K @ 5Ghz all core 4.7Ghz Cache @1.305 volts
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z390-P ATX
Cooling CORSAIR HYDRO H150I PRO RGB 360MM 6x120mm fans push pull
Memory CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 3000Mhz 4x8 32gb @ 4000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORECE RTX 2080 SUPER XC HYBRID GAMING
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB 3D NAND NVMe,Intel 660p 1TB m.2 ,1TB WD Blue 3D NAND,500GB WD Blue 3D NAND,
Display(s) 50" Sharp Roku TV 8ms responce time and Philips 75Hz 328E9QJAB 32" curved
Case BLACK LIAN LI O11 DYNAMIC XL FULL-TOWER GAMING CASE,
Power Supply 1600 Watt
Software Windows 10
Click "Change power settings" then "Change advanced power settings". Oh, and I didn't need a reboot for any of this, it worked right away.
Edit: and yes, I use classic interface, with classicshell ect....

Ahhh...okay...now I see it...lol:toast:

Mine was set at 10% originally. Now its at 100%...
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,761 (1.07/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor Xeon 1680 v2
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory 32 GBs
Video Card(s) GTX 980Ti
Storage 4x SSDs = 1.750TB 2xStorage Drives=8TB
Display(s) 2x 1080
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar U7 MKII
Power Supply EVGA 750 Watt
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky
Software Kubuntu 22.04
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Yep, mine was at 10 as well, when I put it to 100, my winrar throughput went up a good 25%...
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,686 (0.90/day)
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
I did this awhile ago. Increased my gflops and did not increase power draw. What exactly is core parking supposed to accomplish because so far it just wastes performance.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,270 (1.05/day)
Location
New York
Processor INTEL CORE I9-9900K @ 5Ghz all core 4.7Ghz Cache @1.305 volts
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z390-P ATX
Cooling CORSAIR HYDRO H150I PRO RGB 360MM 6x120mm fans push pull
Memory CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 3000Mhz 4x8 32gb @ 4000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORECE RTX 2080 SUPER XC HYBRID GAMING
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB 3D NAND NVMe,Intel 660p 1TB m.2 ,1TB WD Blue 3D NAND,500GB WD Blue 3D NAND,
Display(s) 50" Sharp Roku TV 8ms responce time and Philips 75Hz 328E9QJAB 32" curved
Case BLACK LIAN LI O11 DYNAMIC XL FULL-TOWER GAMING CASE,
Power Supply 1600 Watt
Software Windows 10
WOW right of the bat it has lowered my temp on my core 0 while folding with smp and v7!I always had core0 running a few degrees hotter but now its on par with all the rest of the cores! Hot damn nice!:toast: :rockout: :pimp: :respect:
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,188 (2.90/day)
I did this awhile ago. Increased my gflops and did not increase power draw. What exactly is core parking supposed to accomplish because so far it just wastes performance.

"Core Parking" will fully disable and power down unused cores that support "Core Parking". It takes a moment or two to "wake" the "sleeping" core, which causes the performance loss. It will also shift workloads to active cores so that only the needed amount of cores are "woken" from the ultra-low-power state. Disabling Core Parking removes the Ultra-low power staes, having the cores ready for new work.


As far as I understand it, teh WIn7 kernel isn't able to fully support CoreParking right yet, so maybe that's why there is no differnce in idle states or power consumption. It's more than possible that the cores aren't actually "sleeping" in Win7, and are merely ignored for thread-dispatch.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
348 (0.09/day)
Location
Tirana,Albania
System Name Th3 R3D X
Processor AMD RYZEN 5 5600X
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Pro
Cooling Arctic eSports Duo
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Reference Gigabyte RX5700XT
Storage Couple ssd , nvme etc
Display(s) AORUS FI25F 240hz
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Software Win 11 64bit
Maybe it's me but I'm feelin a bit of smoothness in BF3...anyone else tried yet?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,695 (0.53/day)
Location
Northants. UK
System Name Bad Moon Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 7 5700X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Pro4-F
Cooling Vetroo V5
Memory Crucial Ballistix 32Gb (8gb x 4) 3200 MHz DDR 4
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 3080 GAMING Z TRIO 12GB LHR
Storage Samsung 860 Evo 1Tb, Samsung 860 Evo 500Gb,WD Black 8Tb, WD Blue 2Tb
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG270bmiix & 4K Samsung TV
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 Compact w/Dark Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply MSI MPG A850GF (850w)
VR HMD Rift S
I'm crap with technobabble, would this encompass i5 2500k's as well?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,188 (2.90/day)
maybe, but it seems to be more for INtel CPUs with HT. Give it a try and let us know; it's easy to reverse.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,695 (0.53/day)
Location
Northants. UK
System Name Bad Moon Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 7 5700X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Pro4-F
Cooling Vetroo V5
Memory Crucial Ballistix 32Gb (8gb x 4) 3200 MHz DDR 4
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 3080 GAMING Z TRIO 12GB LHR
Storage Samsung 860 Evo 1Tb, Samsung 860 Evo 500Gb,WD Black 8Tb, WD Blue 2Tb
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG270bmiix & 4K Samsung TV
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 Compact w/Dark Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply MSI MPG A850GF (850w)
VR HMD Rift S
maybe, but it seems to be more for INtel CPUs with HT. Give it a try and let us know; it's easy to reverse.

I'll try anything for a performance increase:) Whats the best indicator of any perfomance increase? Will it mean I can run Crysis? :laugh:

But seriously, which benchmark would show up any improvement?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,188 (2.90/day)
things that are more core-instensive, liek winrar and such, should show the largest gains, but I seem to be noticing an effect in nearly everything. It might be a placebo effect, but even IE seems to load up faster.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,270 (1.05/day)
Location
New York
Processor INTEL CORE I9-9900K @ 5Ghz all core 4.7Ghz Cache @1.305 volts
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z390-P ATX
Cooling CORSAIR HYDRO H150I PRO RGB 360MM 6x120mm fans push pull
Memory CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 3000Mhz 4x8 32gb @ 4000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORECE RTX 2080 SUPER XC HYBRID GAMING
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB 3D NAND NVMe,Intel 660p 1TB m.2 ,1TB WD Blue 3D NAND,500GB WD Blue 3D NAND,
Display(s) 50" Sharp Roku TV 8ms responce time and Philips 75Hz 328E9QJAB 32" curved
Case BLACK LIAN LI O11 DYNAMIC XL FULL-TOWER GAMING CASE,
Power Supply 1600 Watt
Software Windows 10
:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
SAME HERE! I should run some benches.
 
Top