• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

windows 7 mouse accel

fish00

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
150 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 720
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA77OT-UD3P
Cooling Zerotherm
Memory 4 GIG DDR3 Gskill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 250 1GIG
Storage one 1TB and one 250 GIG
Display(s) Viewsonic Q20wb (20in WS)
Case CM Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Power Supply OCZ 600watt stealth
Software XP pro 32bit
#1
I cannot get rid of windows 7 mouse accel for the life of me. And i play counter strike source on a competitive level so i kind of need to get rid of it. I dont really want to go back to xp.

i am using win 7 ultimate 64bit

I have tries the cheese and the markc mouse fixes.
I have unchecked the enhance mouse thing
I have tried my steelsereies xai driver option for mouse accel
I even tried plugging in my mx518 and installing those drivers and turning off mouse accel with that as well.

Nothing i have tried works

Is their any real 100% way to get rid of mouse accelt with win 7?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.48/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#2
MarkC Windows 7 Mouse Acceleration Fix

MarkC Windows 7 Mouse Acceleration Fix works for me just fine. But we need to understand what you are trying to do here. For me, I wanted to remove the acceleration that happens when I move the mouse at certain speeds. I want the mouse to remain consistent regardless of how fast or slow I move the mouse. Is this what you are trying to achieve or are you experiencing some other issue?
 
Last edited:

fish00

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
150 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 720
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA77OT-UD3P
Cooling Zerotherm
Memory 4 GIG DDR3 Gskill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 250 1GIG
Storage one 1TB and one 250 GIG
Display(s) Viewsonic Q20wb (20in WS)
Case CM Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Power Supply OCZ 600watt stealth
Software XP pro 32bit
#3
well what im talking about is, when u move the mouse faster your cursor goes further.

Like i will put my mouse at one side of the pad and do a full slow swipe and it will go a certain distance in a game or w/e. Then i will put it back to the side of the pad and do a full swipe but a lot faster this time and it will go alot further.

I do not want that to happen. And i have tried that Markc fix and it did not work.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,411 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,541
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
Unchecking Enhance Pointer Precision does exactly that for me.
 

fish00

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
150 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 720
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA77OT-UD3P
Cooling Zerotherm
Memory 4 GIG DDR3 Gskill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 250 1GIG
Storage one 1TB and one 250 GIG
Display(s) Viewsonic Q20wb (20in WS)
Case CM Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Power Supply OCZ 600watt stealth
Software XP pro 32bit
#5
it dont work for me:(

i dont get it. Its rly making me mad lol
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.48/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#6
well what im talking about is, when u move the mouse faster your cursor goes further.

Like i will put my mouse at one side of the pad and do a full slow swipe and it will go a certain distance in a game or w/e. Then i will put it back to the side of the pad and do a full swipe but a lot faster this time and it will go alot further.

I do not want that to happen. And i have tried that Markc fix and it did not work.
I've never had the mouse go further then where I moved it. Yes, it does go faster which is the acceleration part. I'm beginning to wonder if you are experience some sort of lag issue. If you tried the MarkC fix did you also try using his mouse movement recorder? If so what were the results? Unless someone else has any other suggestions?
 

fish00

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
150 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 720
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA77OT-UD3P
Cooling Zerotherm
Memory 4 GIG DDR3 Gskill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 250 1GIG
Storage one 1TB and one 250 GIG
Display(s) Viewsonic Q20wb (20in WS)
Case CM Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Power Supply OCZ 600watt stealth
Software XP pro 32bit
#7
i kinda messed around with the recorder but didnt know what i was looking for. Tell me what i have to look for and i can report back.

Also keep in mind when i was using windows xp just a few days ago this was not an issue
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.48/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#8
i kinda messed around with the recorder but didnt know what i was looking for. Tell me what i have to look for and i can report back.

Also keep in mind when i was using windows xp just a few days ago this was not an issue
When you use the recorder do you see any colors as you move the mouse?
 

fish00

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
150 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 720
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA77OT-UD3P
Cooling Zerotherm
Memory 4 GIG DDR3 Gskill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 250 1GIG
Storage one 1TB and one 250 GIG
Display(s) Viewsonic Q20wb (20in WS)
Case CM Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Power Supply OCZ 600watt stealth
Software XP pro 32bit
#9
When you use the recorder do you see any colors as you move the mouse?
i do not see any colors except when i try to move my cursor off my screen. Then it turns green. But when im moving my cursor where i can see on my desktop there are no colors
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.48/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#10
i do not see any colors except when i try to move my cursor off my screen. Then it turns green. But when im moving my cursor where i can see on my desktop there are no colors
What is the general range for Hz when moving the mouse fast?

Hmm, I recall something about changing "Ease of Access" then "Make Mouse easier to use" then select "Setup Mouse keys" but I don't recall what though.
 

fish00

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
150 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 720
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA77OT-UD3P
Cooling Zerotherm
Memory 4 GIG DDR3 Gskill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 250 1GIG
Storage one 1TB and one 250 GIG
Display(s) Viewsonic Q20wb (20in WS)
Case CM Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Power Supply OCZ 600watt stealth
Software XP pro 32bit
#11
What is the general range for Hz when moving the mouse fast?

Hmm, I recall something about changing "Ease of Access" mouse settings but I don't recall what...
anywhere between like 1000-1070

I have the steelseries xai and in the drivers u can set it up to 1000. dont know how its going higher then that though
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.48/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#12
The only other thing is "Ease of Access" then "Make Mouse easier to use" then select "Setup Mouse keys". From what I recall you set Top speed slider close to High and Acceleration close to Fast. But it's my understanding that's for using the keypad as a mouse. Unless it's integrated with the mouse when enabled?? I would hate to think that's true. By default it should be disabled with "Turn on Mouse Keys" unchecked.
 

fish00

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
150 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 720
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA77OT-UD3P
Cooling Zerotherm
Memory 4 GIG DDR3 Gskill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 250 1GIG
Storage one 1TB and one 250 GIG
Display(s) Viewsonic Q20wb (20in WS)
Case CM Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Power Supply OCZ 600watt stealth
Software XP pro 32bit
#13
i have actually tried that :(
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.48/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#14

fish00

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
150 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 720
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA77OT-UD3P
Cooling Zerotherm
Memory 4 GIG DDR3 Gskill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 250 1GIG
Storage one 1TB and one 250 GIG
Display(s) Viewsonic Q20wb (20in WS)
Case CM Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Power Supply OCZ 600watt stealth
Software XP pro 32bit
#15
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.48/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#16
yeah i have tried it
Even I don't need to do that and it works fine for me. Apparently something gone screwy on your end. I take it you also disabled accel and parms from CSS?
 

fish00

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
150 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 720
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA77OT-UD3P
Cooling Zerotherm
Memory 4 GIG DDR3 Gskill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 250 1GIG
Storage one 1TB and one 250 GIG
Display(s) Viewsonic Q20wb (20in WS)
Case CM Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Power Supply OCZ 600watt stealth
Software XP pro 32bit
#17
Even I don't need to do that and it works fine for me. Apparently something gone screwy on your end. I take it you also disabled accel and parms from CSS?
yup
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,679 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,355
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#18
create another account on your Operating system and test from that account...I believe something in your computer profile is corrupt or so hidden you cant find it.
 

fish00

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
150 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 720
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA77OT-UD3P
Cooling Zerotherm
Memory 4 GIG DDR3 Gskill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 250 1GIG
Storage one 1TB and one 250 GIG
Display(s) Viewsonic Q20wb (20in WS)
Case CM Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Power Supply OCZ 600watt stealth
Software XP pro 32bit
#19
create another account on your Operating system and test from that account...I believe something in your computer profile is corrupt or so hidden you cant find it.
hmm thx for the input. I will deff try that in a bit and ill report back with my results
 

fish00

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
150 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Processor AMD Phenom II x3 720
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA77OT-UD3P
Cooling Zerotherm
Memory 4 GIG DDR3 Gskill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTS 250 1GIG
Storage one 1TB and one 250 GIG
Display(s) Viewsonic Q20wb (20in WS)
Case CM Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Power Supply OCZ 600watt stealth
Software XP pro 32bit
#20
the making another user account did not work