• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 7, Non System Disk?

Joined
Apr 11, 2010
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Overland Park KS/Daytona Beach FL
System Name SUPERly AWES0ME COOL
Processor i7 920 (3.6Ghz)
Motherboard DX58SO
Cooling Air
Memory 6GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 1GB 4870 Dark Knight
Display(s) Crap
Case Cooler Master Sniper
Power Supply Sparkle 1000W
#1
Its uncommon that I cant figure out how to solve these problems myself. But this one has be very confused.


Heres the situation: I just got my SSD (awesome btw); clean install of Windows 7 Ultimate on the SSD. I am still using my other 2 harddrives as storage.

Each time I boot the system, i get an error saying "Non system disk, press any key to continue." So i click whatever, and it loads the Windows Boot Manager to have me select which OS to use (only 1 installed/available?). It proceeds to boot just fine after that. So my question is, how do I fix the Non-System Disk errror? and how do I skip the Windows Boot Manager if i only have 1 OS?

Note: Yes, my SSD is the first drive set to boot from. I get this error even with the other drives disconnected. Tips?
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#2
check bios, you may have it set to boot off cd/dvd and have a disk in that drive (also could be A:\ with non system disk in too)
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2010
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Overland Park KS/Daytona Beach FL
System Name SUPERly AWES0ME COOL
Processor i7 920 (3.6Ghz)
Motherboard DX58SO
Cooling Air
Memory 6GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 1GB 4870 Dark Knight
Display(s) Crap
Case Cooler Master Sniper
Power Supply Sparkle 1000W
#3
check bios, you may have it set to boot off cd/dvd and have a disk in that drive (also could be A:\ with non system disk in too)
No A drive at all, and its set to boot from the SSD first, then everything else later.

Like I said, I can disconnect every drive except the SSD and still get the error. It seems to me like if it was a "non system disk" it wouldnt be able to boot, would it?

:banghead::banghead:Strange:banghead::banghead:
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#4
in the bios change it from ACHI/IDE to vice versa see if it fixes your issue.

you may also need to do some MBR work. One of my drives currently has the MBR forcing me to select that drive as #1 in the bios at which point it passes it off to the correct drive upon reading. Im just too lazy to fix it atm.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2010
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Overland Park KS/Daytona Beach FL
System Name SUPERly AWES0ME COOL
Processor i7 920 (3.6Ghz)
Motherboard DX58SO
Cooling Air
Memory 6GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 1GB 4870 Dark Knight
Display(s) Crap
Case Cooler Master Sniper
Power Supply Sparkle 1000W
#5
in the bios change it from ACHI/IDE to vice versa see if it fixes your issue.

you may also need to do some MBR work. One of my drives currently has the MBR forcing me to select that drive as #1 in the bios at which point it passes it off to the correct drive upon reading. Im just too lazy to fix it atm.
I had a feeling I needed to do some MBR work. Unfortunately im a total noob. Any tips/links on how to go about it?

Currently running ACHI, because ive been told that its recommended for Intel SSDs. However, i tried IDE and it does the same thing.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6
Try disabling all other drives in the boot menu. Perhaps for some reason one of your other drives is trying to boot first anyways.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#7
MBR work isnt that scary just time consuming. you can use my utility DVD that has a program on it to mod the MBR's. However in your case you can do it a few ways without needing my disk.

Option A: Use the windows DVD/USB(ISO) to Repair the windows boot problem/installation. (SSD must be only drive in system)

Option B: backup your stuff and completely format/reinstall with just the SSD in.

Option C: Use my disk and install All drives. Create one for the SSD and delete the one on the other HDD.

options A and B Should work though complete formatting (writing 0's) to the other hard drive(s) is a good practice because having 2 MBR's is just going to be a pain.
 

_Zod_

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
172 (0.06/day)
Likes
37
System Name Zim
Processor AMD FX-6300
Motherboard GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 2.0)
Cooling AMD Stock with heat pipes
Memory Corsair CMV8GX3M2A1333C9 2x 8GB Kit DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti FPB
Storage Western Digital WD RE4 1TB - Main
Display(s) HP LP2465 1920x1200
Case COOLMAX CS-480
Audio Device(s) Intergrated VIA VT2021
Power Supply hec X-Power Pro 600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#8
You can fix this easily by re-installing Win 7, but this time disconnect all of the drives except the SSD. What happened is the boot loader got installed on one of the disc drives and not the SSD. Once installed, then reconnect the disc drives and you should be golden.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2010
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Overland Park KS/Daytona Beach FL
System Name SUPERly AWES0ME COOL
Processor i7 920 (3.6Ghz)
Motherboard DX58SO
Cooling Air
Memory 6GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 1GB 4870 Dark Knight
Display(s) Crap
Case Cooler Master Sniper
Power Supply Sparkle 1000W
#9
You can fix this easily by re-installing Win 7, but this time disconnect all of the drives except the SSD. What happened is the boot loader got installed on one of the disc drives and not the SSD. Once installed, then reconnect the disc drives and you should be golden.
I'm aware that reformatting and reinstalling will fix it. However, its clearly not necessary. Everything worked fine for about 3 days, then for some reason it started doing this. No hardware changed, so im not sure what caused it. Everybody seems to immediately jump to a reinstall
 

_Zod_

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
172 (0.06/day)
Likes
37
System Name Zim
Processor AMD FX-6300
Motherboard GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 2.0)
Cooling AMD Stock with heat pipes
Memory Corsair CMV8GX3M2A1333C9 2x 8GB Kit DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti FPB
Storage Western Digital WD RE4 1TB - Main
Display(s) HP LP2465 1920x1200
Case COOLMAX CS-480
Audio Device(s) Intergrated VIA VT2021
Power Supply hec X-Power Pro 600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#10
You're other choice is to try and move the boot manager to the SSD assuming that is the problem.

1. Is your SSD win 7 on a primary and active partition?

2. In the root of the SSD is the file bootmgr present?

If the answer to 1 is true and 2 is false then you can try the following..

Locate the bootmgr file on one of the other drives. Copy it to the root of the SSD. Then execute the following from an elevated (run as admin) command prompt:

bcdedit /export X:\boot\bcd

where X is your SSD drive.

Change bios to boot from SSD drive and you should be ok.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2010
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Overland Park KS/Daytona Beach FL
System Name SUPERly AWES0ME COOL
Processor i7 920 (3.6Ghz)
Motherboard DX58SO
Cooling Air
Memory 6GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 1GB 4870 Dark Knight
Display(s) Crap
Case Cooler Master Sniper
Power Supply Sparkle 1000W
#11
You're other choice is to try and move the boot manager to the SSD assuming that is the problem.

1. Is your SSD win 7 on a primary and active partition?

2. In the root of the SSD is the file bootmgr present?

If the answer to 1 is true and 2 is false then you can try the following..


1- True. The SSD is Primary and Active. Its also the only active
2- I'm not entirely sure where the file would be, or what it looks like. (Im a total OS noob, thanks for all the help thus far guys :respect::respect: )
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#12
Joined
Apr 11, 2010
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Overland Park KS/Daytona Beach FL
System Name SUPERly AWES0ME COOL
Processor i7 920 (3.6Ghz)
Motherboard DX58SO
Cooling Air
Memory 6GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 1GB 4870 Dark Knight
Display(s) Crap
Case Cooler Master Sniper
Power Supply Sparkle 1000W
#13