1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 Professional & Windows XP Pro Networking

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by computersolutions, Nov 12, 2009.

1. computersolutions New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hell, I am new to TPU forums so bear with me :). We had a time clock program that we used on Windows XP Pro that required the Data folder of the program (in program files) to be shared (by the host computer) and mapped to (by the client computers). We are now using 3 Windows 7 PC's and 2 Windows XP PC's. The Host Computer (Server) for this program is now on a Windows 7 machine, I am able to share the directory and map to it on the other 2 Windows 7 machines. My problem is I can see the directory on the 2 Windows XP machines but the XP machines won't allow me into the folder...access denied, make sure you have permission.

As I said i'm new to the TPU forums (although I have been watching this site for a long time now) I will be greatful for any help anyone can provide. (Let me know if you need any more info)

Mike

2. Kreij

Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    If the computers are in a workgroup, make sure that the workgroup names are the same for all machines. When MS went from XP to Vista, they changed the default workgroup name.

10 Year Member at TPU
  3. computersolutions New Member

Thanks Received:
    All of the computers are part of the same workgroup, I do a fair amount of computer work, but as you can imagine I haven't run across this problem yet (Windows 7 and all :p). Anything else you can suggest?

4. Kreij

Thanks Received:
    The only other thing I can think of is that when you share a folder there are two sets of permissions. Permissions on the folders/files themselves, and also permissions on the shares.
    Make sure the accounts on the XP computers have both file/folder access and also share access.