• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 7 SKUs Made Official

Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#51
They make it 32 bit \ 64 bit cause of loads of people still have hardware for 32 bit, that dosent have 64 bit drivers.

And why is it, that most people that complaining that win7 ultimate is gonna be expensive, have big computers and stuff? Here in denmark a vista ultimate oem licens costs about the same as a ati 4850 does - You cant use your computer without either one of em. Sure, i can find a cheaper os or go linux\freeware. But i could also just get a gfx card from a friend.

If you cant afford it, you dont need it.
Simply put... Making large moves like heh everything is 64bit now is literally stupid and causes MAJOR issues... Look what happened when vista was released, they could have done 100% backward compatibility with XP applications, but they didn't and look what it caused.

As a starting line I know people that are running P4's with 1gb of ram running Win 7 now and are enjoying it more than XP or Vista, we are still talking about 32bit chips here... It's like asking why do they still make boards with PATA ports, why do floppy disks / drives still exist... It's nearly endless, but in turn they exist and are continued to be made for VERY good reason.

*Let's just convert ALL new gas stations to server E-85 only!*
***FYI this would make sense too at that level, you can produce "more" power from "less" E-85 then from standard E0-E10 blends.

What they should have done was individual packages as they were saying they were going to do in the first place... 99.9% of users do not need anything over Vista Basic and really need less than it gives. So if I want support for more ram, I have to get Business or H.Prem, then I get a lot of other junk I don't need nor want. It's Microsoft continuing to be fat and lazy.

I have no doubt that Windows 7 will be a great OS, I just wish they would do it "right" for once.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#52
ok MS needs to stick to the Plan they had with Win XP, Home and Professional.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.97/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#53
Yep thats what i said earlier would make sense instead of confusing ppl even though from what i read Home premium and Professional will be the ones most users see.
 

mtosev

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
1,462 (0.31/day)
Likes
144
Location
Maribor, Slovenia
Processor Core i7 930
Motherboard Asus P6X58D Premium
Memory 6gb SuperTalent WB200UX6G8
Video Card(s) xfx radeon hd 5970 black edition
Storage Intel X25-M 80
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2209wa
Case Haf 932
Audio Device(s) Integreted sound card
Software w7
#54
ok MS needs to stick to the Plan they had with Win XP, Home and Professional.
XP was/is 5 different versions: Starter, Home, Pro, Pro corp and MCE.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#55
XP was/is 5 different versions: Starter, Home, Pro, Pro corp and MCE.
Pro CE was just the Internal Test Build MS was using until it got leaked, it is XP pro just without the stupid DRM BS.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#56
Pro CE was just the Internal Test Build MS was using until it got leaked, it is XP pro just without the stupid DRM BS.
no. its the volume version that is used worldwide by businesses. Every university i've been to in australia has been using corporate, you just wouldnt know unless you investigated the CD keys as says pro when you look.