• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 7 Ultimate - fresh install problem

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#26
ummm have you checked one by one from resetting your bios or load default first, maybe theres something that you miss
then erase all partition then installing new os
how exactly do I reset bios on a laptop? I only know how on a desktop :D
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,622 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#27
reset all defaults in the bios options screen
 

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#28
is "Load Default Settings" in bios exit menu the same with removing the cmos battery? because load default settings didn't work, and now I am trying to reset bios using the cmos, then installing windows 7.

edit: neither way worked. I will now try win7 usb dvd and installing on a uefi :)
 
Last edited:

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#29
I tried the uefi install, it didn't work. Now I am changing it to IDE and then installing the uefi.

Also, whats this?
"Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause. To fix the problem:
1. Insert your windows installation disc and restart your computer.
2. Choose your language settings, the click next.
3. Clik "Repair your computer"

If you do not have this disc, contact your system administrator or computer manufacturer for assistance.

File: windows\system32\boot\winload.efi
Status: 0xc000000f
Info: the selected entry could not be loaded because the application is missing or corrupt."

Also, I could not locate "Boot\EFI" destination in "sources\install.wim" so I used the EFI on the 2 folder, instead of 1. There are also other folders up to six.

I am guessing the numbers represent x64 and x86?
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
686 (0.20/day)
Likes
88
Location
midway city ca
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) I-INC 28 inch 1920x1200
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#30
when you install windows there is a partition manager on the install screen in advance install on that partition manager click on advance then delete all partitions then make a new partition format it should automatically make a second partition about 100 mags in size. if it does your good install on larger partition. you need that little partition for windows to use as boot
 

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#31
The tutorial said It should automatically make 3 partitions when I click "new" and "apply" in the advanced menu
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
686 (0.20/day)
Likes
88
Location
midway city ca
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) I-INC 28 inch 1920x1200
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#32
The tutorial said It should automatically make 3 partitions when I click "new" and "apply" in the advanced menu
must be different for a laptop i only have a desktop
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#33
Are you sure your installation media is not corrupt?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,622 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#34
Have you tried a different version of Windows or Linux?
 

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#35
Are you sure your installation media is not corrupt?
I downloaded my copy of windows 7 on my institute's MS Dreamspark using my account (it's free) and the UEFI Install didn't work. (I did everything in the instructions).

Have you tried a different version of Windows or Linux?
Yes, I have tried the new Windows 8 Pro, still from dreamspark. Did the instructions on how to install windows 7/8 on a uefi laptop, and everything worked! Idk why, it's so strange.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#36
hmm i have been using this since it was available and i haven't experienced any trouble on desktop and laptop pc's.

English x86: X17-59463.iso
English x64: X17-59465.iso

it's including SP1 and it's the U version...

The latest version of Windows 7 DVD image available is of media refresh version, which commonly known as Windows 7 SP1-U (Media Refresh). Microsoft released the media refresh version of Windows 7 DVD media to fix a rare bug related to invalid computer name when small set of computer names returned error when used to install Windows 7. Otherwise, the Windows 7 with SP1 and Windows 7 with SP1-U (Media Refresh) is completely the same.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#37
If the Windows 7 copy is not corrupt.
Could be Windows 8, being newer, has something (device driver?) that Windows 7 doesn't have on the install (iso) file.

So, I am guessing you are going to be running Windows 8?
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#38
If the Windows 7 copy is not corrupt.
Could be Windows 8, being newer, has something (device driver?) that Windows 7 doesn't have on the install (iso) file.

So, I am guessing you are going to be running Windows 8?
if that is true, u can always put the driver on the usb aswell and load it, or integrate it which will be too much of a hassle....
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#39
that is just wierd...,but since it work on w8 ur good to go..:)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#40
It would be nice to confirm that your hard drive isn't failing. Normally I recommend booting up an Ubuntu live cd. Open up a terminal and run:

Code:
sudo apt-get install smartmontools
sudo smartctl -a /dev/sda
Then post us the output of the smartctl command. I'm assuming the laptop has one hard drive.
 

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#41
if that is true, u can always put the driver on the usb aswell and load it, or integrate it which will be too much of a hassle....
I don't know if my copy is corrupt, because it installs on my desktop and not on my laptop, so maybe it's a driver problem! I recently installed AHCI driver on my windows 8 (yep, windows 8 for now I think.). I will try it again when I get my work done this week :)

that is just wierd...,but since it work on w8 ur good to go..:)
Yes it is.. and windows 8 is also good looking, and it appears to be faster than windows 7. I might stick with windows 8 for now! :D

It would be nice to confirm that your hard drive isn't failing. Normally I recommend booting up an Ubuntu live cd. Open up a terminal and run:

Code:
sudo apt-get install smartmontools
sudo smartctl -a /dev/sda
Then post us the output of the smartctl command. I'm assuming the laptop has one hard drive.
Yup, my hard drive isn't the one failing.:toast:
I will let you know about the result of the code when I get my work done this week :)
Thanks!!
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,087
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#42
I don't know how to help you here but in my BIOS I have a Windows 8 configuration setting that must be disabled to use WIN7....Do you have someting like that in your BIOS?
 

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#43

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#44
Install UEFI-ied setup to a normal PC

Hello again guys. I had my Windows 8 made compatible with UEFI Bios, and it worked (yes!) but here is my question, would the UEFI-ied (that's what I would like to call it) Windows setup install on a non-UEFI pc?
 

RandelA

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Pateros, PH
System Name P55-NZXT
Processor Core i5 760 - 3.5Ghz
Motherboard MSI P55-GD55
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex+
Memory Kingston DDR3 3x2GB 1333MHz (dumb setup)
Video Card(s) Powercolor HD5770 OD 910/1395
Storage Seagate 500GB - OS/WD 160GB - Backup
Display(s) Samsung 21.5"
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 650w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#45
bump