• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 Upgrades Could Take Over 20 Hours

Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.63/day)
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
I don't know if this will be posted or not, but according to the wonderful people over at Maximum, PC state,
According to a new study released by Microsoft software engineer Chris Hernadez, upgrade times can range wildly depending upon your hardware configuration, and the amount of data it needs to migrate during the install.
It is understandable, and only two seem to really go a tad beyond 10 hours,
but if you look at the chart, I wouldn't think it would be this bad...


That looks pretty bad for some people willing to upgrade their systems with more than 1TB of files/data/programs.
I seriously hope it won't take as long as they say...That would just be ridiculous.




Source: Maximum PC
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,772 (2.48/day)
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
It does not take that long : /

I done an upgrade in the Heavy User sort of range, with mid end hardware, and it took 30-40 minutes : /

Obviously this was with the Beta but it be ridiculous if it took that long .
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.63/day)
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
Well, I'm not saying it's what I believe, just spreading some news about what MS says.
I wouldn't think the average computer would take more than 2 hours to upgrade...
 

AKlass

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
297 (0.07/day)
Location
MD
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E2180~MO 3.16ghz 316x10
Motherboard Gigabyte 945GCM-S2C
Cooling HDT S963 2x120mm Rosewill intake fans 2x80mm Rosewill exhaust fans
Memory 2 x 2GB Wintec Ampo DDR2 632 5-4-4-14 2.0v
Video Card(s) ATI 5770 950/1400
Storage 750GB WD Caviar Black SATA
Display(s) Sceptre x42 naga
Case Apevia Qboii
Audio Device(s) C-Media 8768
Power Supply OCZ ModXstream 500w
Software Win7 Ultimate (X64)
I did An Upgrade last night from Vista, It took about 4 hours
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,772 (2.48/day)
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
That sounds about right for your system.

Mine was using

Intel e5200@ 3.4ghz
4gb Corsair ddr3 ram @ 1600mhz
and a sata HDD.
 

beyond_amusia

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.25/day)
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
I cannot comment on 7 per se, but I've seen upgrades from 98 SE and Me to XP SP2 that took a few hours, so not too unbelievable. I always do a clean install for maximum performance, so I did not have to experience a long wait to get an OS loaded on.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,484 (5.21/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 3TB with 500GB MX500 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Never, I repeat NEVER do an in place upgrade!
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,904 (0.48/day)
System Name You can't handle the cores!
Processor Intel Core i9 9900k @ 5.1GHZ all core load (8c 16t)
Motherboard MSI MEG Z390 ACE
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 240mm
Memory 32GB Corsair 3200mhz C16 (2x16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 1080ti
Storage 256GB WD Black NVME drive, 2.5TB across various SSDs, 4TB HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator 27" 1440p (G-sync, 165hz, IPS) & wireless HTC Vive
Case Corsair 760T
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 pro
Yeah i guess it could take that long, but then again it could take 10 mins to boot vista on a machine with a nackered hard drive (giving lots of errors) and decent specs otherwise - so i'd take these figures with a pinch of salt.

If you had a 1tb hdd with only 10gb of free space on it (taking the install size into account for win7) then it would take a VERY long time to get the upgrade completed on a single core machine with a small amount of ram.

To be fair enthusiasts (and everyone else to be honest, if only people knew how&why) should be doing clean installs anyway as it will run better afterwards - i've been using a seperate partition for my OS away from everything else in my system for a few years now and it makes re-installs a breeze - most my apps don't need re-installing on a new OS and those few that do can be done in a couple of hours so it's no biggie.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.40/day)
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
After a few failed attempts doing a RAID 0 clean install, I figured out how to install it and took about 20 minutes on my system.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,245 (0.52/day)
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel i9 - 9900k @ 5.1Ghz - 1.31v
Motherboard Asux ROG Maximus XI Hero Wifi
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, 2xEK 360 Radiators, ek d5 pump/res combo, ek full cover 2080ti block
Memory 16GB DDR 3600 Trident Z RGB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080TI
Storage 1xWD black NVME 500GB, 1xSamsung 970 Evo Plus NVME 1TB
Display(s) 2 Dell Gaming 27" 1440P Gsync
Case Lian LI PC-011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Evga P2 1200Watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
yeah i never do an upgrade, always do a clean install, maybe for the average home user an upgrade is feasable but for a power user, i feel that there is to much done to an os to "upgrade" it, service and registry tweaks, software hacks, performance changes, anything and not to mention possible driver issues.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,145 (3.58/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
I don't know if this will be posted or not, but according to the wonderful people over at Maximum, PC state,


It is understandable, and only two seem to really go a tad beyond 10 hours,
but if you look at the chart, I wouldn't think it would be this bad...
http://www.maximumpc.com/files/u46173/win7upgradetimesfull.png

That looks pretty bad for some people willing to upgrade their systems with more than 1TB of files/data/programs.
I seriously hope it won't take as long as they say...That would just be ridiculous.

Source: Maximum PC


Sounds like crap...

For example 125Gb ? (should that not be GB lol). But anyways 40 apps what space these apps taking ?.. Like i have 30-40 apps install and take less than 10GB. But you could have other apps that take much more space than that.

I think it just depends on apps that you have installed condition of of the HDD like if it needs defraged and what hardware config you have.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,398 (8.63/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
the numbers are fudged. they're talking about that much data being in windows folders - desktop, program files, and so on.

i dont know anyone in the RW still using single partitions (well, a few lanners) for reasons just like this.

Fresh install ftw! (< 15 minutes via flash drive)
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.63/day)
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
Sounds like crap...

For example 125Gb ? (should that not be GB lol). But anyways 40 apps what space these apps taking ?.. Like i have 30-40 apps install and take less than 10GB. But you could have other apps that take much more space than that.

I think it just depends on apps that you have installed condition of of the HDD like if it needs defraged and what hardware config you have.
Yeah. I was thinking they just used base models of computers sold in retail stores and guesstimated.

But yeah I agree that it all depends on the hardware you are upgrading and what you currently have installed.
I think the chart is more of a basis of what to expect rather than the actual time to upgrade.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
2,118 (0.53/day)
Location
massachusetts
System Name VAN
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 3.0GHz LGA 775 95W @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe LGA 775 Intel P45 Intel Motherboard
Cooling Thermaltake SpinQ VT, front-rear-side 120mm, top-bottom 80mm
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tracer 8GB(4x2GB), DDR2, 800 MHz, 4-4-4-12, 2.0V, w/ Red LEDs
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD 6770 1GB
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256SSD (OS) - WD 640GB 7200 RPM (files) - Seagate 1TB 7200 (backup)
Display(s) DUAL 19" Samsung, LG LCDs
Case NZXT Lexa Blackline
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard
Power Supply OCZ 600 Stealth-X-Stream 600W RT
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 9
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
very very good point, I dont even think about the app size, that is a huge generalization

this could easily be faked
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,398 (8.63/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
as they say "amount of data migrated"

its backing up/relocating all your data to install windows, and then moving it to the relevant folders in 7 - so that if the install is cancelled or undone, it still has backups.

moving 650GB of data only takes a few hours, to be honest... but if they're moving it 2-3 times, yeah, it could take a while.
 

madmanjohn

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
213 (0.05/day)
Location
midwestern IL-WI stateline area
System Name the other woman (thats what my wife calls it)
Processor AMD Phenom X4 9850 Black Edition Agena 2.50GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128m
Cooling OEM-9850 fan & sink-added Thermaltake NB cooler with fan
Memory 8gb Corsair Dominator XMS2 1066MHz
Video Card(s) Visiontek Radeon X850 Xt
Storage Various size Seagate 7200.11's
Display(s) Several, about 20- today its a pair of Optiquest Q71's
Case Antec NSK4400 with extra self made HD fan
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 pcie and some Koss pro 4aa's
Power Supply OCZ / StealthXStream 600watt
Software Windows 7 Professional Retail 64 bit.
Benchmark Scores cool n quiet disabled- everything full up at 2.6ghz and ht at 2200. Ram at 2.2v
Speaking for my apps and such. I would never use migration. Everytime i do this its always a clean install, however, i do run appox 45 different apps.

i also have to install several pre requisites for some of the apps such as DX SDK and visual C++ both x86 and x64

I can do all of the above, including MS office, Adobe acrobat and photoshop, Nero 9 and all my other apps in just under 2 hours

thats running the rc,

the enterprise trial was even less.

in my own personal rig i usually have to do this about once every 20 days, I am using 2 trial versions of high priced software that i am not fully capable of buying quite yet.:pimp:

i keep one folder for all my documents and such located in the named folder which I can move off to another internal drive in about a minute. this has all my keys, and reg entries and backups in it. and most of my exe's that dont have to run from a disc, plus all my IE shortcuts from my favorites folder, and my audio and video and lighting interface drivers.

this unit also has four internal drives. the c drive is a seagate 7200.11 250 gig which i write to zeros about every 3rd reboot. the only thing on it is the OS. i even outboard my pagefile which i run at 10.24 gig on the seagate 1tb internal. the reason i do this is to get the full benefit of the 32mb built in cache instead of wasting it using pagefile.

I also disable system restore and hibernation. fully installed and running im only using appox 20gb. ironic for a 250 gb drive but short of running a SSD, thats the smallest drive with a 32 mb cache out there i know of.

I will be trying the OCX Vertex for my Bday in nov- makes a lot more sense. so i do it this way because of the budget.


If that sounds insane you should see this thing fly.:rockout:

Ive said this for years and swear by it- NOTHING i mean NOTHING runs faster or better than a freshly rebooted Clean OS.

If some of you knew how many junk files and old logs and stuff you wind up getting back using migration you would never do it that way. not to mention zero length empty folders.

everything in windows must index- and they only slow everything down.

During one of our live shows i need every bit of power and speed this thing has.

One thing i dont miss about the old days is back in windows xp, i would always have to pull all my pci cards, and my internal drives to reboot.:laugh:

thank god they did away with that mess.

the other alternative i use is norton ghost, but even that dont run like a clean re-install.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.10/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Never, I repeat NEVER do an in place upgrade!
Doesn't matter anymore. Vista and 7 both don't actually upgrade anything. They just move the entire old install of Windows into a folder called Windows.old. It then proceeds to do a clean install.

As for this test, Why the hell would anyone have 650GB of data on the same partition as their windows install? Any smart user keeps their data on a separate partition from windows.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
15,921 (3.19/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 3 1200
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
As for this test, Why the hell would anyone have 650GB of data on the same partition as their windows install? Any smart user keeps their data on a separate partition from windows.
Most people don't do that afaik. They place everything on the desktop or in My Docs.
 

madmanjohn

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
213 (0.05/day)
Location
midwestern IL-WI stateline area
System Name the other woman (thats what my wife calls it)
Processor AMD Phenom X4 9850 Black Edition Agena 2.50GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128m
Cooling OEM-9850 fan & sink-added Thermaltake NB cooler with fan
Memory 8gb Corsair Dominator XMS2 1066MHz
Video Card(s) Visiontek Radeon X850 Xt
Storage Various size Seagate 7200.11's
Display(s) Several, about 20- today its a pair of Optiquest Q71's
Case Antec NSK4400 with extra self made HD fan
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 pcie and some Koss pro 4aa's
Power Supply OCZ / StealthXStream 600watt
Software Windows 7 Professional Retail 64 bit.
Benchmark Scores cool n quiet disabled- everything full up at 2.6ghz and ht at 2200. Ram at 2.2v
Doesn't matter anymore. Vista and 7 both don't actually upgrade anything. They just move the entire old install of Windows into a folder called Windows.old. It then proceeds to do a clean install.

As for this test, Why the hell would anyone have 650GB of data on the same partition as their windows install? Any smart user keeps their data on a separate partition from windows.
Thats exactly where im at-its not like the old days when a 320 gb hard drive was 300$- hard drives are pretty cheap these days for the amount stored. just get a separate c drive and keep it clean.

unless your running a lap, and if your doing more than 650gb on a lappy then theres more than one reason it takes so long.:banghead:
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.10/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Most people don't do that afaik. They place everything on the desktop or in My Docs.
Anybody that savvy enough to use 650GB of data, is savvy enough to do it on a separate partition. lol.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
15,921 (3.19/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 3 1200
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
Anybody that savvy enough to use 650GB of data, is savvy enough to do it on a separate partition. lol.
Naaahhh, I have relatives and friends with that amount of data (torrenting bliss i tells ya!) and they're not savvy at all. They tend to spend a lot of time looking for the things they download as they have no clue where everything is..
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.10/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Naaahhh, I have relatives and friends with that amount of data (torrenting bliss i tells ya!) and they're not savvy at all. They tend to spend a lot of time looking for the things they download as they have no clue where everything is..
Well then, you fail as a tech savvy friend/relative, for not teaching them the ways of the separate data partition. lol.
 

madmanjohn

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
213 (0.05/day)
Location
midwestern IL-WI stateline area
System Name the other woman (thats what my wife calls it)
Processor AMD Phenom X4 9850 Black Edition Agena 2.50GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128m
Cooling OEM-9850 fan & sink-added Thermaltake NB cooler with fan
Memory 8gb Corsair Dominator XMS2 1066MHz
Video Card(s) Visiontek Radeon X850 Xt
Storage Various size Seagate 7200.11's
Display(s) Several, about 20- today its a pair of Optiquest Q71's
Case Antec NSK4400 with extra self made HD fan
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 pcie and some Koss pro 4aa's
Power Supply OCZ / StealthXStream 600watt
Software Windows 7 Professional Retail 64 bit.
Benchmark Scores cool n quiet disabled- everything full up at 2.6ghz and ht at 2200. Ram at 2.2v
more than likely - sometimes getting more than they bargained for too ill bet:toast:
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
15,921 (3.19/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 3 1200
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
Well then, you fail as a tech savvy friend/relative, for not teaching them the ways of the separate data partition. lol.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.10/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Thinking about it, if I did ever have that much on my Windows partition, and I wanted to upgrade to 7, I think I would just buy a new HDD, and put 7 on that. lol.
 
Top