• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 7 Usable Memory Question

Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
554 (0.16/day)
Likes
25
Location
192.168.0.1
System Name X-Class MKII
Processor Intel Core i7-6950X Extreme Edition 4.60GHz 25MB Cache 14nm LGA2011-3 Broadwell-E 10-Core Processor
Motherboard EVGA Intel X99 Classified Dual Quad-Channel DDR4 Socket LGA2011-3 E-ATX Motherboard on BIOS v2.02
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO/EVGA K|NGP|N Hydro Copper/Nemesis 480GTR/Nemesis 560GTR/MMRS 150mm/Swiftech MCP655
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 128GB (8×16GB) @ 2800MHz 14-16-16-36 DDR4 PC4-22400 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti K|NGP|N 2138MHz 11264MB @ 12600MHz GDDR5X Video Cards in 2-Way SLI
Storage Samsung 950 PRO M.2 512GB NVMe V-NAND SSD on Angelbird Wings PX1 PCIe 3.0 ×4 M.2 Adapter
Display(s) Sony BRAVIA EX400 32" Full 1080p HD LCD TV OC 72Hz via Monster M-Series M2000 HDMI HDTV Cable
Case CaseLabs MAGNUM SMA8 Gunmetal Single Wide Full-Tower Chassis with Custom Smoke Window Panel
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D On-Board 5.1 Surround Sound Quad-Core Audio Processor
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series AX1500i 1500-Watt 80+ TITANIUM Fully-Modular Digital Power Supply Unit
Mouse Logitech G502 PROTEUS Core 200-12000DPI Laser Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard with Full Color GamePanel LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edition with Service Pack 1 build 6.1.7601.17514
#1
When my system is on stock and not OC'ed, Windows 7 recognizes all of my 24GB of RAM as shown in the screenshot below:

But on my stable OC settings, Windows 7 only recognizes 16GB as usable as shown in this screenshot:

Obviously there's no problem with any of my memory modules, so why would my OC settings change the amount of usable memory that Windows 7 recognizes?

Below are my BIOS settings for my OC:

Memory Frequency [1333Mhz / 2:10]
tCL Setting [9]
tRCD Setting [10]
tRP Setting [9]
tRAS Setting [27]
Command Rate [2T]

EVGA VDroop Control [Without VDroop]
CPU VCore [1.38750V]
CPU PLL VCore [1.830V]
IOH PLL VCore [1.830V]
QPI PLL VCore [1.275V]
DIMM Voltage [1.650V]
IOH VCore [1.225V]
IOH/ICH I/O Voltage [1.550V]
ICH VCore [1.225V]

Intel SpeedStep [Disabled]
Turbo Mode Function [Disabled]
C×E Function [Disabled]
Execute Disable Bit [Disabled]
Virtualization Technology [Disabled]
QPI Frequency Selection [4.800 GT/s]

CPU Clock Ratio [22 ×]
CPU Host Frequency(Mhz) [200]
MCH Strap [DRAM Ratio]

* NOTE: All other settings were set to default or auto.

Any inputs or suggestions on what I should try to help me resolve this issue would be greatly appreciated. :)
 
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#2
to much stress on the IMC probly try playing with the voltages
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#3
Off topic but is that like a gears of war skin for windows 7?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,280 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,374
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
Definitely the IMC becoming unstable.

Off topic but is that like a gears of war skin for windows 7?
I think it is a EVGA Classified skin.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
554 (0.16/day)
Likes
25
Location
192.168.0.1
System Name X-Class MKII
Processor Intel Core i7-6950X Extreme Edition 4.60GHz 25MB Cache 14nm LGA2011-3 Broadwell-E 10-Core Processor
Motherboard EVGA Intel X99 Classified Dual Quad-Channel DDR4 Socket LGA2011-3 E-ATX Motherboard on BIOS v2.02
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO/EVGA K|NGP|N Hydro Copper/Nemesis 480GTR/Nemesis 560GTR/MMRS 150mm/Swiftech MCP655
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 128GB (8×16GB) @ 2800MHz 14-16-16-36 DDR4 PC4-22400 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti K|NGP|N 2138MHz 11264MB @ 12600MHz GDDR5X Video Cards in 2-Way SLI
Storage Samsung 950 PRO M.2 512GB NVMe V-NAND SSD on Angelbird Wings PX1 PCIe 3.0 ×4 M.2 Adapter
Display(s) Sony BRAVIA EX400 32" Full 1080p HD LCD TV OC 72Hz via Monster M-Series M2000 HDMI HDTV Cable
Case CaseLabs MAGNUM SMA8 Gunmetal Single Wide Full-Tower Chassis with Custom Smoke Window Panel
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D On-Board 5.1 Surround Sound Quad-Core Audio Processor
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series AX1500i 1500-Watt 80+ TITANIUM Fully-Modular Digital Power Supply Unit
Mouse Logitech G502 PROTEUS Core 200-12000DPI Laser Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard with Full Color GamePanel LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edition with Service Pack 1 build 6.1.7601.17514
#5
So should I bump up the DIMM Voltage? I heard that Intel doesn't recommend using higher than 1.65V on their X58 chipsets.

Off topic but is that like a gears of war skin for windows 7?
The theme is originally the HUD Red Premium theme by Mr GRiM from VirtualCustoms.net I made that GoW start button myself. ;)
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#6
Definitely the IMC becoming unstable.

I think it is a EVGA Classified skin.
It confused me because I saw a GoW COG as the start button but saw "Classified."

The theme is originally the HUD Red Premium theme by Mr GRiM from VirtualCustoms.net I made that GoW start button myself. ;)
Tricky tricky! :cool:
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
554 (0.16/day)
Likes
25
Location
192.168.0.1
System Name X-Class MKII
Processor Intel Core i7-6950X Extreme Edition 4.60GHz 25MB Cache 14nm LGA2011-3 Broadwell-E 10-Core Processor
Motherboard EVGA Intel X99 Classified Dual Quad-Channel DDR4 Socket LGA2011-3 E-ATX Motherboard on BIOS v2.02
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO/EVGA K|NGP|N Hydro Copper/Nemesis 480GTR/Nemesis 560GTR/MMRS 150mm/Swiftech MCP655
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 128GB (8×16GB) @ 2800MHz 14-16-16-36 DDR4 PC4-22400 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti K|NGP|N 2138MHz 11264MB @ 12600MHz GDDR5X Video Cards in 2-Way SLI
Storage Samsung 950 PRO M.2 512GB NVMe V-NAND SSD on Angelbird Wings PX1 PCIe 3.0 ×4 M.2 Adapter
Display(s) Sony BRAVIA EX400 32" Full 1080p HD LCD TV OC 72Hz via Monster M-Series M2000 HDMI HDTV Cable
Case CaseLabs MAGNUM SMA8 Gunmetal Single Wide Full-Tower Chassis with Custom Smoke Window Panel
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D On-Board 5.1 Surround Sound Quad-Core Audio Processor
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series AX1500i 1500-Watt 80+ TITANIUM Fully-Modular Digital Power Supply Unit
Mouse Logitech G502 PROTEUS Core 200-12000DPI Laser Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard with Full Color GamePanel LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edition with Service Pack 1 build 6.1.7601.17514
#7
It confused me because I saw a GoW COG as the start button but saw "Classified."



Tricky tricky! :cool:
Yeah, I placed that "Classified" logo in the shell32.dll myself too.

But back to topic ;)

I tried bumping the DIMM to 1.66V and when I rebooted Windows recognized 20GB as usable. So I'll bumping it up one notch and post back.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
76 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
YOU Knighted king-DOM
System Name the changeling
Processor intel core i7, 980X @ 4.4GHz HT
Motherboard Asus Rampage2Extreme, X58
Memory 12Gb DDR3 1600MHz 7-7-7-20-1T
Video Card(s) 2x HD7950OC 3072MB @ 1050/1600
Storage Corsair sandforce F40 and Force3 128Gb
Display(s) 28" 1920X1200
Case it's a box, I shit you not! an actual BOX! (for now)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply 850W Modular
Software Windows8 64bit
Benchmark Scores meh!
#8
Similar thing on my Dell laptop, never bothered me but now I'm curious, always said this from day 1 though...


 
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
554 (0.16/day)
Likes
25
Location
192.168.0.1
System Name X-Class MKII
Processor Intel Core i7-6950X Extreme Edition 4.60GHz 25MB Cache 14nm LGA2011-3 Broadwell-E 10-Core Processor
Motherboard EVGA Intel X99 Classified Dual Quad-Channel DDR4 Socket LGA2011-3 E-ATX Motherboard on BIOS v2.02
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO/EVGA K|NGP|N Hydro Copper/Nemesis 480GTR/Nemesis 560GTR/MMRS 150mm/Swiftech MCP655
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 128GB (8×16GB) @ 2800MHz 14-16-16-36 DDR4 PC4-22400 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti K|NGP|N 2138MHz 11264MB @ 12600MHz GDDR5X Video Cards in 2-Way SLI
Storage Samsung 950 PRO M.2 512GB NVMe V-NAND SSD on Angelbird Wings PX1 PCIe 3.0 ×4 M.2 Adapter
Display(s) Sony BRAVIA EX400 32" Full 1080p HD LCD TV OC 72Hz via Monster M-Series M2000 HDMI HDTV Cable
Case CaseLabs MAGNUM SMA8 Gunmetal Single Wide Full-Tower Chassis with Custom Smoke Window Panel
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D On-Board 5.1 Surround Sound Quad-Core Audio Processor
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series AX1500i 1500-Watt 80+ TITANIUM Fully-Modular Digital Power Supply Unit
Mouse Logitech G502 PROTEUS Core 200-12000DPI Laser Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard with Full Color GamePanel LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edition with Service Pack 1 build 6.1.7601.17514
#9
Well, tried 1.67V & 1.68V on the DIMM but went back to only 16GB as usable. :(
 

OOZMAN

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2011
Messages
160 (0.07/day)
Likes
20
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Gaming Rig + Digital Audio Workstation.
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.7ghz 1.4V (max 5.0)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 with single Antec Tri-Cool fan, 3 more Tri-cools for the case
Memory 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) HIS HD6950 2GB, 930/1500mhz stable. CFX with 6970 eventually
Storage Intel 320 series 120GB SSD. 2.7TB generic HDD storage.
Display(s) 32" Sony Bravia LCD TV 1920x1080. Yeah baby!
Case Blue Raidmax Raptor.
Audio Device(s) Phonic 302+ 1394 interface, + 2x Behringer 9" 225W studio monitors. Cant buy better for under $600!
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Dual boot: Win 7 Ultimate x64 SP1/Mac OSX Lion (not really used), Cubase 5 for DAW.
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage- P22288 :|: Furmark 720 preset- 3644 frames, 1080 preset- 2347 :|: Skyrims max everyt
#10
O M G. Windows 7 has changeable skins?! Why have I not heard of this? How? Where? My pants... My poor pants...
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#11

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,280 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,374
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
Well, tried 1.67V & 1.68V on the DIMM but went back to only 16GB as usable. :(
Well that means there is some kind of instability there. Maybe try looser timings? Or you can try lowring the memory divider to 2:8 just to see if the problem goes away. The slower memory will help take stress off the IMC.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,548
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#13
Similar thing on my Dell laptop, never bothered me but now I'm curious, always said this from day 1 though...


http://img.techpowerup.org/120115/Capturex.jpg
yours is different, the rams being used by your video card/onboard GPU/IGP.


the OP's problem is a massive amount of ram, commonly caused by various 'bugs' with the memory controllers (too tight heatsink, voltages/timings problems, etc)
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
554 (0.16/day)
Likes
25
Location
192.168.0.1
System Name X-Class MKII
Processor Intel Core i7-6950X Extreme Edition 4.60GHz 25MB Cache 14nm LGA2011-3 Broadwell-E 10-Core Processor
Motherboard EVGA Intel X99 Classified Dual Quad-Channel DDR4 Socket LGA2011-3 E-ATX Motherboard on BIOS v2.02
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO/EVGA K|NGP|N Hydro Copper/Nemesis 480GTR/Nemesis 560GTR/MMRS 150mm/Swiftech MCP655
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 128GB (8×16GB) @ 2800MHz 14-16-16-36 DDR4 PC4-22400 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti K|NGP|N 2138MHz 11264MB @ 12600MHz GDDR5X Video Cards in 2-Way SLI
Storage Samsung 950 PRO M.2 512GB NVMe V-NAND SSD on Angelbird Wings PX1 PCIe 3.0 ×4 M.2 Adapter
Display(s) Sony BRAVIA EX400 32" Full 1080p HD LCD TV OC 72Hz via Monster M-Series M2000 HDMI HDTV Cable
Case CaseLabs MAGNUM SMA8 Gunmetal Single Wide Full-Tower Chassis with Custom Smoke Window Panel
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D On-Board 5.1 Surround Sound Quad-Core Audio Processor
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series AX1500i 1500-Watt 80+ TITANIUM Fully-Modular Digital Power Supply Unit
Mouse Logitech G502 PROTEUS Core 200-12000DPI Laser Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard with Full Color GamePanel LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edition with Service Pack 1 build 6.1.7601.17514
#14
Well that means there is some kind of instability there. Maybe try looser timings? Or you can try lowring the memory divider to 2:8 just to see if the problem goes away. The slower memory will help take stress off the IMC.
I'll give it a try when I get back home and post back with the results.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#15
You might also want to blank out your activation code in the pics.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
76 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
YOU Knighted king-DOM
System Name the changeling
Processor intel core i7, 980X @ 4.4GHz HT
Motherboard Asus Rampage2Extreme, X58
Memory 12Gb DDR3 1600MHz 7-7-7-20-1T
Video Card(s) 2x HD7950OC 3072MB @ 1050/1600
Storage Corsair sandforce F40 and Force3 128Gb
Display(s) 28" 1920X1200
Case it's a box, I shit you not! an actual BOX! (for now)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply 850W Modular
Software Windows8 64bit
Benchmark Scores meh!
#16
That's something completely different from the problem this thread is talking about. Your issue most likely revolves around shared VRAM (128mb being allocated to the GPU).
yours is different, the rams being used by your video card/onboard GPU/IGP.


the OP's problem is a massive amount of ram, commonly caused by various 'bugs' with the memory controllers (too tight heatsink, voltages/timings problems, etc)
I can understand what you're both saying, my card has 1Gb dedicated VRAM, is this really still allocated ~140Mb from system memory?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,128 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#17
It's qpi voltage, you need more, especially if you are ocing the cpu. Try 1.4v on the qpi and see what happens.
Edit: can also try upping cpu pll to 1.88
Edit2: also might try enabling vdroop
Edit3: you may actually need more than 1.4 for qpi, mine needs 1.46, so experiment.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#18
U could just try lowering ur OC.. Instead of putting more volts thru the RAM
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,128 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#19
Honestly, he doesn't need that much ram voltage, mine run at 1.6v just fine. I actually was going to suggest he back off the ram volts.
He just needs to increase qpi voltage, first gen i7s need much more to run 4gb modules than sb does.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#20
WARNING: your dram voltage must be less then 0.50 of your VTT/qpi voltage OR YOU WILL burn the chip

http://www.masterslair.com/vcore-vtt-dram-pll-pch-voltages-explained-core-i7-i5-i3/
Your DRAM voltage should never be more than 0.5 V above VTT, or it could cause system stability problems. Since the default VTT is 1.1 V, this means that your DRAM voltage shouldn’t be higher than 1.1 + 0.5 = 1.6 V–unless you also increase VTT. So if you’re using memory that has a default voltage of 1.65 V or you’ve overclocked to that amount, you should increase your VTT voltage to at least 1.65 – 0.5 = 1.15 V.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,280 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,374
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
You might also want to blank out your activation code in the pics.
It is just the product ID, nothing really useful to anyone really.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
554 (0.16/day)
Likes
25
Location
192.168.0.1
System Name X-Class MKII
Processor Intel Core i7-6950X Extreme Edition 4.60GHz 25MB Cache 14nm LGA2011-3 Broadwell-E 10-Core Processor
Motherboard EVGA Intel X99 Classified Dual Quad-Channel DDR4 Socket LGA2011-3 E-ATX Motherboard on BIOS v2.02
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO/EVGA K|NGP|N Hydro Copper/Nemesis 480GTR/Nemesis 560GTR/MMRS 150mm/Swiftech MCP655
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 128GB (8×16GB) @ 2800MHz 14-16-16-36 DDR4 PC4-22400 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti K|NGP|N 2138MHz 11264MB @ 12600MHz GDDR5X Video Cards in 2-Way SLI
Storage Samsung 950 PRO M.2 512GB NVMe V-NAND SSD on Angelbird Wings PX1 PCIe 3.0 ×4 M.2 Adapter
Display(s) Sony BRAVIA EX400 32" Full 1080p HD LCD TV OC 72Hz via Monster M-Series M2000 HDMI HDTV Cable
Case CaseLabs MAGNUM SMA8 Gunmetal Single Wide Full-Tower Chassis with Custom Smoke Window Panel
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D On-Board 5.1 Surround Sound Quad-Core Audio Processor
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series AX1500i 1500-Watt 80+ TITANIUM Fully-Modular Digital Power Supply Unit
Mouse Logitech G502 PROTEUS Core 200-12000DPI Laser Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard with Full Color GamePanel LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edition with Service Pack 1 build 6.1.7601.17514
#22
It's qpi voltage, you need more, especially if you are ocing the cpu. Try 1.4v on the qpi and see what happens.
Edit: can also try upping cpu pll to 1.88
Edit2: also might try enabling vdroop
Edit3: you may actually need more than 1.4 for qpi, mine needs 1.46, so experiment.
I tried putting my CPU PLL to 1.815V and my QPI PLL to 1.425V, anything higher and I'll get a BSOD. But Windows now recognizes all 24GB of my RAM:



WARNING: your dram voltage must be less then 0.50 of your VTT/qpi voltage OR YOU WILL burn the chip

http://www.masterslair.com/vcore-vtt-dram-pll-pch-voltages-explained-core-i7-i5-i3/
Your DRAM voltage should never be more than 0.5 V above VTT, or it could cause system stability problems. Since the default VTT is 1.1 V, this means that your DRAM voltage shouldn’t be higher than 1.1 + 0.5 = 1.6 V–unless you also increase VTT. So if you’re using memory that has a default voltage of 1.65 V or you’ve overclocked to that amount, you should increase your VTT voltage to at least 1.65 – 0.5 = 1.15 V.
The vales I can select for the VTT are in +mV and go up in increments of +25mV. Are you saying that I should set my VTT to +50mV if my DIMM is at 1.65V?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#23
I tried putting my CPU PLL to 1.815V and my QPI PLL to 1.425V, anything higher and I'll get a BSOD. But Windows now recognizes all 24GB of my RAM:

http://img.techpowerup.org/120115/24GB364.jpg



The vales I can select for the VTT are in +mV and go up in increments of +25mV. Are you saying that I should set my VTT to +50mV if my DIMM is at 1.65V?
whats your current VTT voltage ? like the math says
1.65 - 1.1vtt = 0.55 = bad you want t to be 0.45 - 0.50
so set the vtt to it reads 1.20 that would give you voltage termination differnace of 0.45
(want)
if the VTT/Dim/QPI voltage has a larger difference then 0.50 between ANY of the voltages you risk permanent damage to the cpu
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
554 (0.16/day)
Likes
25
Location
192.168.0.1
System Name X-Class MKII
Processor Intel Core i7-6950X Extreme Edition 4.60GHz 25MB Cache 14nm LGA2011-3 Broadwell-E 10-Core Processor
Motherboard EVGA Intel X99 Classified Dual Quad-Channel DDR4 Socket LGA2011-3 E-ATX Motherboard on BIOS v2.02
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO/EVGA K|NGP|N Hydro Copper/Nemesis 480GTR/Nemesis 560GTR/MMRS 150mm/Swiftech MCP655
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum 128GB (8×16GB) @ 2800MHz 14-16-16-36 DDR4 PC4-22400 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti K|NGP|N 2138MHz 11264MB @ 12600MHz GDDR5X Video Cards in 2-Way SLI
Storage Samsung 950 PRO M.2 512GB NVMe V-NAND SSD on Angelbird Wings PX1 PCIe 3.0 ×4 M.2 Adapter
Display(s) Sony BRAVIA EX400 32" Full 1080p HD LCD TV OC 72Hz via Monster M-Series M2000 HDMI HDTV Cable
Case CaseLabs MAGNUM SMA8 Gunmetal Single Wide Full-Tower Chassis with Custom Smoke Window Panel
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D On-Board 5.1 Surround Sound Quad-Core Audio Processor
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series AX1500i 1500-Watt 80+ TITANIUM Fully-Modular Digital Power Supply Unit
Mouse Logitech G502 PROTEUS Core 200-12000DPI Laser Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard with Full Color GamePanel LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edition with Service Pack 1 build 6.1.7601.17514
#24
whats your current VTT voltage ? like the math says
1.65 - 1.1vtt = 0.55 = bad you want t to be 0.45 - 0.50
so set the vtt to it reads 1.20 that would give you voltage termination differnace of 0.45
(want)
if the VTT/Dim/QPI voltage has a larger difference then 0.50 between ANY of the voltages you risk permanent damage to the cpu
Currently Auto which is showing +0mV.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#25
Currently Auto which is showing +0mV.
that should be 1.1(the default) up the VTT to 1.15v
also set the qpi voltage to 1.35v / 1.38
see if that works the clog out of it