1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 x64 RC Crash - Can't Start Windows

Discussion in 'General Software' started by surfsk8snow.jah, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    So my computer is down, not 100% sure what it is still, but figured one of you could help me. Here’s the way it went down:
    OS: Windows 7 RC 64-bit, System Specs below.

    1) Computer was in “sleep” mode. I hit a key to wake it up just so I could see if there were any CDs in the drives. There were none, but before I could even close them back up, I get a BSOD: “IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL” … 0x0000000A(,,,,) [didn’t write down the rest of the #s].

    2) So I did a Reboot -> My RAID 0 Boot array all the sudden shows as degraded, so I turned the comp off, gave it a sec to stop misbehaving.

    3) Cold Boot -> Disc array now shows healthy again. I opened the Nvidia RAID after POST to examine the array, and both discs look fine in the array, doesn’t look desync’d or anything. Exited this menu. Now, it proceeds thru POST fine, attempts to load from both CD drives, none there, then one line below the “Boot from CD:” line, there’s a permanent blinking cursor for about 5min.

    4) Reboot a couple times. Same thing. I went into BIOS to check that RAID settings were still intact, and also took CDs out of Boot Sequence just in case. (All usb storage devices are unplugged by the way).

    5) Reboot. No more “boot from CD” line (expected), just a blinking cursor after “Verifying DMI etcetc” line. Each time this happens, the HD is still spinning furiously, almost like it’s trying to find what/where to boot from. So this time I left it on for a while. Come back 1/2hr later to a blank screen, but HD still workin hard. So I left it overnight.

    6) In the morning: Blank Screen still, so I rebooted again -> This time, I get the “Windows did not shut down properly” screen, giving me startup options: Safe Mode, Safe Mode with Networking, Safe Mode with Command Prompt, or Normal.

    7) I selected safe mode. It loaded through files, like normal, but stopped at “\disk.sys”. HD is still spinning, left it for 10min -> BSOD quick flash, then instant automatic reboot. I couldn’t make out the BSOD code, it was too fast.

    8) Windows Startup selection screen again, so I picked “Normal”. The windows 7 logo comes up, and is “flowing” or moving, showing that it’s not frozen. Left it for like 10min -> BSOD quick flash again, auto reboot.

    That was my last attempt. All of this is over the course of 24hrs or so, had to go to work in between and such. I had no warning signs to this failure, and have never experienced anything like this with this setup.

    I figure my next line of attack is to pop the Windows7 CD in and try to do a repair installation. If that doesn’t work, then I’m totally stuck and don’t really know where to go from there.

    Any ideas, diagnosis, or suggestions? I would’ve tried to assess the dump file, but I can’t get into windows to access it.

    Thanks in Advance

    System Specs:
    OS: Windows7 RC 64-bit
    Processor:Intel C2Q Q6600 G0 2.4GHz
    Motherboard:eVGA 680i SLI 122-CK-NF68-A1
    Cooling:Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme (Push+Pull: Silverstone 120mm), (2) Thermalright HR-09 IFX/SLI NB&SB
    Memory:4GB Crucial Ballistix 1066MHz
    Video Card:eVGA 8800GTX 768MB
    Harddisk:(2) WD Raptor 150GB SATA BOOT[RAID 0], (4) Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA [RAID 0+1]
    CD/DVD Drive:(2) Lite-On 20X DVD±RW IDE
    CRT/LCD Model:Acer 20" - AL2017, Acer 22"W - AL2216WBD
    Case:Thermaltake Armor w/ 25cm Fan & Extra Front iCage
    Sound Card:OnBoard PSU:Silverstone 1000W - ST1000
     
  2. 10TaTioN

    10TaTioN New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    257 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Portugal
    Start > Run > ChkDsk /f > Reboot > Wait

    If the files are corrupted the CheckDisk will fix them, as well will fix corrupted File System. Just do it when you have time and don't interrupt it or you'll have bigger problems than those you have now. :D
     
    surfsk8snow.jah says thanks.
  3. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Sounds like a good plan, only thing is I can't get into windows at all. How could I perform this without being in windows? Recovery Console from windows CD? I've heard that's sketchy though.
     
  4. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,291 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,797
    Some drive controllers have issues with X64 and sleep mode still. My system still randomly freaks out if I let it go to sleep, or if it shuts down the harddrive for a long period and just uses the readyboost 8GB and RAM while awake and folding.


    Put your CD in and boot from that, select your array or "drive" and run chkdsk on that.
     
    surfsk8snow.jah says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  5. 10TaTioN

    10TaTioN New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    257 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Portugal
    You can use the windows 7 dvd for it, boot into the dvd. When the dvd finished loading select repair computer.

    [​IMG]

    Then you should see something like this:
    [​IMG]

    if so, cancel it, then you should see this:

    [​IMG]

    Select command prompt and write ChkDsk /f

    You should see if it can be done or not.

    PS: Images found in Google. :p
     
    surfsk8snow.jah says thanks.
  6. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Alright I'll try that when I get home. Thanks for the images, that really really does help make things perfectly clear. Thanks a ton 10TaTioN.

    Before I do try though, can anyone else confirm that this is a good course of action (and safe?)
     
  7. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    DUUDE, I honestly don't even believe my eyes right now, but I did chkdisk /f /r (followed the pics exactly 10tation), it fixed a few errors, did a restart, and voila! The "windows didn't shut down properly" screen popped up, i picked "start windows normally" just for the heck of it, and it loaded instantly! I logged on, no files are missing, everything is gorgeous! Thanks a ton everyone, especially 10tation.
     
  8. 10TaTioN

    10TaTioN New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    257 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Portugal
    Glad you solved your problem. ;)
     
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,509 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,943
    Location:
    Florida
    i love tpu..go geek think tanks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)