• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 x64 RTM 59Hz issue

aquax

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
141 (0.04/day)
System Name aquax
Processor i7 920 4GHz HT ON
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P
Cooling TRUE120
Memory 6GB TR3X6G1600C7
Video Card(s) ASUS TOP HD4770
Storage WD1001FALS / WD6400AAKS
Display(s) Samsung 2333SW soon
Audio Device(s) ALC889A
Power Supply Antec TPQ-850w
Software Vista Ultimate X64
Hello, I have problem with windows 7 x64 that I can only activate 59Hz on my monitor, if I choose 60Hz it will revert back to 59Hz. It only happens in Windows 7 and I'm currently using 7600 RTM build and still have same issue. I can use 60Hz fine with Vista x64, is this a windows 7 bug or driver?
 
I

InTeL-iNsIdE

Guest
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=100161 look at the first post

Fix for the 59Hz Refresh Rate (CCC specific fix at this time)

-Open CCC
-Navigate to the Attributes Tab
-Check off Reduce DVI Frequency on High Resolutions Displays
-Change the Refresh rate to 60Hz
-Right Click on the Desktop > Screen Resolution > Advance Settings > Monitor Tab > Change Screen Refresh Rate to 60Hz
-Done (you can reboot to see if the refresh rate sticks)
 

aquax

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
141 (0.04/day)
System Name aquax
Processor i7 920 4GHz HT ON
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P
Cooling TRUE120
Memory 6GB TR3X6G1600C7
Video Card(s) ASUS TOP HD4770
Storage WD1001FALS / WD6400AAKS
Display(s) Samsung 2333SW soon
Audio Device(s) ALC889A
Power Supply Antec TPQ-850w
Software Vista Ultimate X64
Thanks, but it didn't solve the problem, Attributes reports maximum refresh rate 60Hz but I can only choose 59, choosing 60 will revert back to 59

I'm using 24" minitor 1920x1080
 

REVHEAD

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
300 (0.06/day)
Location
Sydney/ Australia
Processor Intel i7 920 d0 stepping @ 200x19 qpi
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Cooling Noctua
Memory Patriot 1333 MHZ ram 6gb Triple Channel @ 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) ATI 5870 x2 in Crossfire
Storage 4X WD 80gb Veloci Raptors in Raid 0 & Seagate 500gb 7200.11 x 2 in raid 0
Display(s) Dell 3007 WFP
Case Lian Li A-10b
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply CoolerMaster realpower pro 1000w
Software Windows 7 X64 ultimate RC
59 hrtz and 60 hrtz are the same it just depends what country you reside in, eg in AU HDTV is broadcast in 59hrtz hence most TVs will do 59 or 60 or just 59, 100 hrtz tvs are really 50htz, I wouldnt worry your monitor is running as it should.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,984 (8.80/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
i had this problem too - its mentioned in the AMD link in my sig (which i have previously pointed you to)

if the problem doesnt go away, your only solution is a modified monitor driver through rivatuner.


59hz is actually 59.97Hz - its around since some screens/video card etc can see 1080i as 60Hz as well (since its 30Hz interlaced, it can show as 60 to crappy implemented hardware) - choosing 59.97 guarantees a progressive image.
 

REVHEAD

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
300 (0.06/day)
Location
Sydney/ Australia
Processor Intel i7 920 d0 stepping @ 200x19 qpi
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Cooling Noctua
Memory Patriot 1333 MHZ ram 6gb Triple Channel @ 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) ATI 5870 x2 in Crossfire
Storage 4X WD 80gb Veloci Raptors in Raid 0 & Seagate 500gb 7200.11 x 2 in raid 0
Display(s) Dell 3007 WFP
Case Lian Li A-10b
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply CoolerMaster realpower pro 1000w
Software Windows 7 X64 ultimate RC
i had this problem too - its mentioned in the AMD link in my sig (which i have previously pointed you to)

if the problem doesnt go away, your only solution is a modified monitor driver through rivatuner.


59hz is actually 59.97Hz - its around since some screens/video card etc can see 1080i as 60Hz as well (since its 30Hz interlaced, it can show as 60 to crappy implemented hardware) - choosing 59.97 guarantees a progressive image.
Yeah thats correct sorry, allso most Blu Ray is @ 23.97 hz advertised as 24p or 24h = 24fps.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,984 (8.80/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Yeah thats correct sorry, allso most Blu Ray is @ 23.97 hz advertised as 24p or 24h = 24fps.
Hertz and refresh rate are completely different things. Hertz is related to the screen only, the disks only have a specified FPS.
But you're correct on the 23.97 being advertised as 24.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.81/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Win7 RTM hasn't been released yet, you must be using a pirate copy off p2p...?

TechNet subs are the first to get it, which will be on 7th August.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,984 (8.80/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Win7 RTM hasn't been released yet, you must be using a pirate copy off p2p...?

TechNet subs are the first to get it, which will be on 7th August.
MSDN has it. Its hardly pirating, as i am not using cracks or keys - merely a 30 day "trial" for testing purposes. I'll assume the OP is the same.
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
1,290 (0.35/day)
Location
Latvia
System Name Personal \\ Work - HP EliteBook 840 G3
Processor i7-4790K \\ i7-6500U
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Noctua DH-15
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB 2400 MHz \\ 16GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS RoG Strix 1070 Ti\\ Intel 520 HD
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, WD Black 2 TB \\ Samsung 256GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z \\ FullHD + 2x HP ZR2440w external screens via docking station
Case Fractal Design Define Arc Midi R2 with window
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 with Logitech Z323
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 10
I had this problem too, but fixed it by just few times swiching to 60 HZ. o_O

qubit, should i tell you how many people have that rtm and/or how they got it? :p
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,984 (8.80/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
I had this problem too, but fixed it by just few times swiching to 60 HZ. o_O

qubit, should i tell you how many people have that rtm and/or how they got it? :p
i'd assume at least half the forum has it by now.


I had this on 7127 and it went away when i went 7600 - cause unkown.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36,787 (8.67/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
I have this issue too, though I can't see any noticeable problem with 59 Hz.

 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,984 (8.80/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
only problem for me is that 59Hz flickers slightly, while 60 doesnt. Its only noticeable on black images (games mostly)

Also, due to most resolutions being stuck at 59Hz, i have to drop all the way to 1280x1024 to enable scaling.
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (1.86/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
It doesnt matter what i set it at, it goes to 59 Hz, GTA IV is the only thing which stays at 60.
That said, the screen never refreshes, and my monitor always reports 60 Hz.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,984 (8.80/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
the 'side effects' vary between screens, i guess.

i get a perfect image without flickering on DVI, which always stays at 60hz, whereas some games give me shit on HDMI at 59Hz (DX10 games drop to 1080i - killing floor runs at 50Hz and flickers slightly, etc etc). Its just another in the list of small bugs ATI need to fix.
 

REVHEAD

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
300 (0.06/day)
Location
Sydney/ Australia
Processor Intel i7 920 d0 stepping @ 200x19 qpi
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Cooling Noctua
Memory Patriot 1333 MHZ ram 6gb Triple Channel @ 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) ATI 5870 x2 in Crossfire
Storage 4X WD 80gb Veloci Raptors in Raid 0 & Seagate 500gb 7200.11 x 2 in raid 0
Display(s) Dell 3007 WFP
Case Lian Li A-10b
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply CoolerMaster realpower pro 1000w
Software Windows 7 X64 ultimate RC
Hertz and refresh rate are completely different things. Hertz is related to the screen only, the disks only have a specified FPS.
But you're correct on the 23.97 being advertised as 24.
Well this not entirely true, A BR disk , not all but a lot are 24P = 24FPS as the producer intented us to see it, as 45mm is filmed at 24fps, so if you watch the movie @ 1080p = 59hz then the Monitor or TV is actually faking an extra frame this in turn effects the picture quality and you will not get the true Cinema experiance.

DVD, Pal, Digital TV broadcast and NTSC are 59Hz or 60Hz and come out @ 59 frames per second, 100 Hz motion flow and 200 Hz take a 50hz signal and for every frame they add another fake frame to give the 100hz or 200 respective.

With games I am unsure, how they do it but its differant, but in essance, 59 and 60 are identical, only differance is in the mind and how you preceive it.

All broadcast TV and DVDs should be 59.94Hz refresh, and almost all Blurays are actually 23.98Hz (which with 3:2 gives 59.94Hz)

60Hz is actually very rarely used for TV - because when NTSC colour was introduced in the 50s they had to avoid the colour signal interfering with the sound carrier. Rather than tweak the sound carrier frequency, they tweaked the field rate (as the colour signal is locked to the line rate, which is locked to the field rate)

If you ever have a choice - you're almost always better off selecting 59Hz or 59.94Hz (or 23.98 or 23Hz) for refresh rates on Media PCs. TVs MAY display 60p or 60i when fed a 59.94Hz source, or 24p when fed 23.98Hz as the difference is very small.

If you run 60Hz or 24Hz refresh you may get the odd stutter as a frame is repeated every so often.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,984 (8.80/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
revhead: you're confusing various issues.

Yes, its true that a 24 FPS movie on a 60Hz screen, frames have to be faked - but that doesnt make the two measurements inter-changeable. The mere fact that they're different, should be hint enough to that fact.

Thats what i was pointing out as an incorrect statement in your previous post.

The stutter and such that you speak of may exist on set top players, but its irrelevant to PC. 24 FPS on a 60Hz screen doesnt mean its got to double frames - its just leaving them on screen longer. You're making mountains out of molehills. (and you broke that quote)
 

REVHEAD

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
300 (0.06/day)
Location
Sydney/ Australia
Processor Intel i7 920 d0 stepping @ 200x19 qpi
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Cooling Noctua
Memory Patriot 1333 MHZ ram 6gb Triple Channel @ 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) ATI 5870 x2 in Crossfire
Storage 4X WD 80gb Veloci Raptors in Raid 0 & Seagate 500gb 7200.11 x 2 in raid 0
Display(s) Dell 3007 WFP
Case Lian Li A-10b
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply CoolerMaster realpower pro 1000w
Software Windows 7 X64 ultimate RC
Fair enough Mussels, I am just trying to work out the differance of PQ going from 59.94Hz to 60Hz I cant see any evidance of any, thats all I am trying to get at, anyhow I have said enough and I am confusing the issue so I will stop responding now, I apologise.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.81/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
MSDN has it. Its hardly pirating, as i am not using cracks or keys - merely a 30 day "trial" for testing purposes. I'll assume the OP is the same.
Ok, thanks Mussels. I hadn't realised that it was already on MSDN. :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,984 (8.80/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Fair enough Mussels, I am just trying to work out the differance of PQ going from 59.94Hz to 60Hz I cant see any evidance of any, thats all I am trying to get at, anyhow I have said enough and I am confusing the issue so I will stop responding now, I apologise.
its not about image quality - its about screens that dont fully support it, or games that only run in it.

When i couldnt use 60Hz, all my DX10 games would revert to 30Hz interlaced.

Many games read the listing (in this order of priority)
60Hz (Progressive)
60Hz (Interlaced, aka 30Hz)
59Hz (progressive)
50Hz (Progressive)

When 59Hz is chosen in windows or is supported in the game - no problem. But when it doesnt work, the games chose the "next best" thing - which isnt 59Hz, they think 60Hz interlaced is higher than 59 progressive, so we get 30Hz :(


P.S The tweak for 'reduce frequency' doesnt work on native HDMI connections or those using the ATI HDMI dongle, because the tickbox only appears when the ATI CCC sees the connection as DVI.
 

aquax

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
141 (0.04/day)
System Name aquax
Processor i7 920 4GHz HT ON
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P
Cooling TRUE120
Memory 6GB TR3X6G1600C7
Video Card(s) ASUS TOP HD4770
Storage WD1001FALS / WD6400AAKS
Display(s) Samsung 2333SW soon
Audio Device(s) ALC889A
Power Supply Antec TPQ-850w
Software Vista Ultimate X64
so 59Hz in windows 7 is a problem or not? should I revert back to vista?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,984 (8.80/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
so 59Hz in windows 7 is a problem or not? should I revert back to vista?
not really. i'd call it a minor bug.

Its just some random but with the ATI drivers and HDMI screens - hardly earthshattering, but it can cause some small to mid-range complications.
 

yaji

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Pentium DC E5200
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
Cooling Auras Wave
Memory Geil 4x1GB DDR2 800Mhz CL4
Video Card(s) HiS Radeon HD4850 512MB
Storage Western Digital 3200AAKS 320GB
Display(s) LG W2242T
Case Dunno
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Extreme Gamer
Power Supply Chieftec GPS-450AA-101A
Software Windows 7 Pro / Ubuntu 10.04
What about using PowerStrip ?



This small tool can force much more than 60hz in native resolution :) (I love my 1680x1050@75hz :love:)
 

alexp999

Staff
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (1.86/day)
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
How can you possibly force a higher refresh rate than the monitor supports?

:confused:
 

yaji

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Pentium DC E5200
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
Cooling Auras Wave
Memory Geil 4x1GB DDR2 800Mhz CL4
Video Card(s) HiS Radeon HD4850 512MB
Storage Western Digital 3200AAKS 320GB
Display(s) LG W2242T
Case Dunno
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Extreme Gamer
Power Supply Chieftec GPS-450AA-101A
Software Windows 7 Pro / Ubuntu 10.04
I was plaing with RivaTuner and I found out that the maximum pixel clock of my screen is 150mhz. And it was runing only at 130mhz at default resolution and refresh rate. Then I grabed the PowerStrip and started plaing with Advanced Timing Options. I bumped a bit refresh rate and the pixel clock goes up as well. In the end I ended with 75hz refresh rate and 150mhz pixel clock. I cant go much above of this. At 80hz all i get is black screen. But at 75hz its working perfectly fine, and much more smoother.
 
Top