• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 8.1 Preview Now Available

Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,505 (1.10/day)
Likes
2,254
#51
Anyone figure out how to use your background of your desktop to be the background of the start screen?
I'd like to know this as well. I am okay with the metro screen. Once I got used to it, it feels like a start menu that takes up a whole screen but Windows 8 doesn't let you choose custom wallpaper for the metro screen which sucks.

P.S. I didn't buy windows 8. It came with my new laptop.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,423 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#52


and alucasa: I use Decor8 on Server 2012 and it works well. I even have it cycle my abstracts and I get a new Start screen look every time. LOL.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,505 (1.10/day)
Likes
2,254
#53
I've heard of Decor8, but I was hoping for a solution that doesn't install a 3rd party program. What's with MS and their surreal addiction(or attachment) to metro-everything?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#54
Bah, Windows 8 with start8/classic shell and Windows 7 widgets support installed is better than anything.
The best of Windows 7 plus the best of Windows 8 all in one.

I only miss Chess Titans.


Windows 8/8.1 - Filled with clueless retards that have to use Bing (if they manage to find the browser) to solve ongoing confusion one obstacle after another to get a how-to on solving problem "x" to fix problem "y". However, this can be solved if you depend entirely on over-simplified services like Skydrive as long as you let Microsoft brain wash you to use ONLY their apps.

Ubuntu/Mac - They reject other people's reality and substitute their own.
The only thing I have to solve on Windows 8 is start menu and W7 widgets as above said, nothing more for the moment. No compatiility issues at the moment*. No crashes. I don't use Skydrive. I don't have a Microsoft account. I don't use Bing. I don't use their apps except Office. Still I like Windows 8, it has amazing features, very understated. The only mistake was removing start menu and use Metro as default without fallback options. Something that can be solved easily by Googling.

*except brightness control and metro apps on my netbook.

By the way, comparing Ubuntu with Mac :shadedshu
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#55
Just discovered (was it after a restart?) that now we have "staying" search results!!!! That is great.
Not as versatile as the old folder view where you can quickly see dates, file types, rearrange results etc... (so still really a step backwards, but of course nobody uses a big screen PC anymore, this is soooo mobile!!! :-(
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,682 (0.79/day)
Likes
578
System Name msdos
Processor 8088
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
#56
I don't know what I'm doing wrong, since I can see others can install this in VirtualBox just fine, but it's not working for me. Latest VirtualBox in Win7_64. No boot, 32-bit hangs at black screen, and 64-bit gives an error message on the text screen.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,357 (1.91/day)
Likes
1,074
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#57
I don't know what I'm doing wrong, since I can see others can install this in VirtualBox just fine, but it's not working for me. Latest VirtualBox in Win7_64. No boot, 32-bit hangs at black screen, and 64-bit gives an error message on the text screen.
try latest version of VBox, or use VMWare.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
49
Location
Israel
System Name Negra5, Negra4
Processor i5 6500 - PhenomII 965
Motherboard ASUS Z170M-Plus, Gigabyte GA-M68MT-S2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory Kingston HyperX 16GB DDR4, AData 6GB DDR3
Video Card(s) PNY GTX-1070, XFX RX-480
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB, WD 1TB HDD, WD 1TB HDD.
Display(s) SPELER 21" FullHD
Case GAMING EAGLE WARRIOR CG-06R1
Audio Device(s) Onboard RealTek HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair GS800W 80 Plus Bronze
Mouse Cooler Master Devastator MS2k
Keyboard Cooler Master Devastator MB24
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores Pfft
#58
I will skip this version too, they just added a useless Shortcut and named it start menu... no thanks, Win7 is still kicking strong.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,682 (0.79/day)
Likes
578
System Name msdos
Processor 8088
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
#59
I got it booted in vbox. Seems as though of the earlier iso links in this thread aren't the same as from MS.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
732 (0.24/day)
Likes
367
System Name Current
Processor Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3.8GHz (4.3GHz Turbo)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo Push-Pull
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC x2 SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD + Seagate 2TB HDD
Display(s) 28" Asus PB287Q 3840x2160p
Case Thermaltake Urban S41
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Cougar CMX 700W v3
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro | Linux Mint
#60
Have any of these people whinging actually used Windows 8 for any considerable amount of time? I've been using Win8 since August last year and have yet to come across any compatibility issues, or useability issues that weren't easily solved. The OS is better than Windows 7 on many levels.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,395
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#61
Have any of these people whinging actually used Windows 8 for any considerable amount of time? I've been using Win8 since August last year and have yet to come across any compatibility issues, or useability issues that weren't easily solved. The OS is better than Windows 7 on many levels.
Yes, I have, and while I think Microsoft has made some wrong decisions and implemented somethings that I don't like that hurt the usability of the OS, I do agree that it is actually better than Win7 once I installed Classicshell...
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
732 (0.24/day)
Likes
367
System Name Current
Processor Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3.8GHz (4.3GHz Turbo)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo Push-Pull
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC x2 SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD + Seagate 2TB HDD
Display(s) 28" Asus PB287Q 3840x2160p
Case Thermaltake Urban S41
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Cougar CMX 700W v3
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro | Linux Mint
#62
Yes, I have, and while I think Microsoft has made some wrong decisions and implemented somethings that I don't like that hurt the usability of the OS, I do agree that it is actually better than Win7 once I installed Classicshell...
Moving from a list of icons, to a grid of tiles, doesn't seem to hurt usability. The start screen still works in very much the same way as the start menu. I can see how it would be useless for people who don't need or use metro apps, or use apps that display info on tiles (like myself, I use StartIsBack), but I wouldn't go as far as saying it 'hurts' usability. I have many power-user friends that use Windows 8 completely default, and have no problem with it.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
351 (0.12/day)
Likes
149
System Name Desktop [Custom] / Laptop [Acer Aspire TimelineX 4830T]
Processor Intel Core i5 6600K [3.5GHz/3.9GHz Turbo][4C/4T] / Core i3 2370M [2.4GHz][2C/4T]
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 [Z170][F22i] / Acer JM40-HR [HM65]
Cooling CPU: CM Hyper 212 Evo 2x120mm Case Fans: Front-120mm, Rear-120mm, Side-120mm Blue LED
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 16GB [1x16GB][15-15-15-35] / DDR3 1333 8GB [2x4GB][9-9-9-24@1.5V]
Video Card(s) (Gigabyte) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB FE [Driver: 385.69] / Intel HD 3000 [128MB]
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS] / Agility 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS]
Display(s) DELL 27" S2740L [1920x1080@60Hz][IPS][LED] / InnoLux 14" [1366x768@60Hz][LED]
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout (SGC-2000-KKN1-GP)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core 3D / Conexant HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W [+12V@ 60A 720W][Typical Efficiency: 83.92%]
Mouse Logitech M570 Trackball
Keyboard Logitech Access Keyboard 600
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional [64-bit][SP1] / Windows 10 Pro [1709][64-bit]
#63
Have any of these people whinging actually used Windows 8 for any considerable amount of time? I've been using Win8 since August last year and have yet to come across any compatibility issues, or useability issues that weren't easily solved. The OS is better than Windows 7 on many levels.
The whining is on both sides.

Windows 8 seems to have issues with BIOS's, after installing it on my laptop I couldn't use my battery until Acer released a BIOS update. There was also an issue with a Windows 8 update killing the USB ports on systems, the only ways to fix it, if you can't use your mouse and keyboard, is to change the legacy option in BIOS (if you have one) or refresh the system, which isn't easy to do thanks to the new hybrid boot.

Windows 8 Pro/Ent x64 not recognize notebook battery

Windows Update KB2756872 kills USB ports

These are two issues I've personally run into on the only Windows 8 systems I have used, my laptop and a Lenovo desktop designed for Windows 8 and used by a business.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
732 (0.24/day)
Likes
367
System Name Current
Processor Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3.8GHz (4.3GHz Turbo)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo Push-Pull
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC x2 SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD + Seagate 2TB HDD
Display(s) 28" Asus PB287Q 3840x2160p
Case Thermaltake Urban S41
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Cougar CMX 700W v3
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro | Linux Mint
#64
The whining is on both sides.

Windows 8 seems to have issues with BIOS's, after installing it on my laptop I couldn't use my battery until Acer released a BIOS update. There was also an issue with a Windows 8 update killing the USB ports on systems, the only ways to fix it is to change the legacy option in BIOS (if you have one) or refresh the system, which isn't easy to do thanks to the new hybrid boot.

Windows 8 Pro/Ent x64 not recognize notebook battery

Windows Update KB2756872 kills USB ports

These are two issues I've personally run into on the only Windows 8 systems I have used, my laptop and a Lenovo desktop designed for Windows 8 and used by a business.
Interesting. Surely that only happens to a minority, though. Many people I know have had no problems. I've not run into any problems running Windows 8 on my UX31E or my rig.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,395
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#65
Moving from a list of icons, to a grid of tiles, doesn't seem to hurt usability. The start screen still works in very much the same way as the start menu. I can see how it would be useless for people who don't need or use metro apps, or use apps that display info on tiles (like myself, I use StartIsBack), but I wouldn't go as far as saying it 'hurts' usability. I have many power-user friends that use Windows 8 completely default, and have no problem with it.
Doesn't hurt usability? Try watching a video on Win8 and bringing up the start screen. Can you still watch your video?
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
732 (0.24/day)
Likes
367
System Name Current
Processor Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3.8GHz (4.3GHz Turbo)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo Push-Pull
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC x2 SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD + Seagate 2TB HDD
Display(s) 28" Asus PB287Q 3840x2160p
Case Thermaltake Urban S41
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Cougar CMX 700W v3
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro | Linux Mint
#66
Doesn't hurt usability? Try watching a video on Win8 and bringing up the start screen. Can you still watch your video?
Good point. However, opening the start menu in Windows 7, still would draw most peoples attention away from the video and, if that doesn't, the program loaded from the menu most likely will. So having a full screen menu pop up for a few seconds, probably isn't going to be much more of an annoyance.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,395
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#67
Good point. However, opening the start menu in Windows 7, still would draw most peoples attention away from the video and, if that doesn't, the program loaded from the menu most likely will. So having a full screen menu pop up for a few seconds, probably isn't going to be much more of an annoyance.
Not in my case, my eyes go back and forth between the video and the start menu while I find what I'm looking for(which is easier on a start menu then the start screen by the way), then the large majority of the programs I use open in a Window that is sized and positions on a different part of the monitor from where I have videos playing.