• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 8 Clubhouse

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,240 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I checked the Windows 8 website and it listed it as not-compatible. I tried another Netgear adapter (WNA-3100 xxxx) that I had and it's running perfectly in Win7 compatibility mode on the Netgear driver :toast:
Gotta Love MS, breaking compatibility.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
Dioes anyone have a RTM build image of Win 8? Id like to install it to my laptop when I get an SSD.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
Sorry I only have Windows Server 2012
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
is the WNA3100 better then the WNA1100 so far as range?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,885 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,902 (2.22/day)
Likes
6,570
You can't even rename them. But there's a workaround, you'll need to jump through some hoops though.

This article explains how to do that. You'll need to create a needed shortcut manually in C:\Users\your username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs folder. Or you can create a shortcut on the desktop and use Pin To Start option.

Another interesting articles I found:

This article explains how to change the number of app tile rows in start screen.

Here you can find how to disable mouse over corner interfaces.

This one shows how to change desktop icon spacing.


__________________________________________________

And this one is my favourite: Guide to Chkdsk in Windows 8.

- /scan - runs an online scan meaning it will fix whatever can be fixed without restarting.

- /forceofflinefix - has to be used with /scan and is basically the same thing as running /spotfix

- /perf - You can make the online scan even faster by using this parameter. It will eat up more resources and slow down other tasks.

- /spotfix - The new magical spot fixing feature of chkdsk that fixes errors in seconds rather than hours

- /offlinescanandfix – Will run an offline scan and fix

When you run /spotfix or /offlinescanandfix on the current used volume, you'll be asked to schedule the scan the next time the system restarts.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,902 (2.22/day)
Likes
6,570
I doublepost but I'd rather put it separately:

I found Start Screen in Windows 8. Lol, it's located in

C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs folder

All installed apps that go there appear in the Metro screen. Microsoft removed Start Menu from Windows 8 but they didn't rename/remove its structure so it's the same start menu folder, what an eyeroller.

This article explains how to create your own ... some kind of Start Menu without third party software.


__________________________


Another useful(less) crapola:

How to add shutdown/reboot/sleep to Start Screen


_________________________________


And another useless/ful tip:
If you want to boot to explorer/libraries and skip start screen try this:

win + r -> regedit ->
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\Current Version\Winlogon ->
rightclick on Shell key and type explorer.exe /select,explorer.exe (by default it was just explorer.exe).
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,240 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Close but not exactly the same. I remember having to do that to quick launch when I accidently deselected or deleted it.

Windows 7 Will be ran till MS gets their heads out of their butts on machines here

I doublepost but I'd rather put it separately:

I found Start Screen in Windows 8. Lol, it's located in

C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs folder

All installed apps that go there appear in the Metro screen. Microsoft removed Start Menu from Windows 8 but they didn't rename/remove its structure so it's the same start menu folder, what an eyeroller.

This article explains how to create your own ... some kind of Start Menu without third party software.


__________________________


Another useful(less) crapola:

How to add shutdown/reboot/sleep to Start Screen


_________________________________


And another useless/ful tip:
If you want to boot to explorer/libraries and skip start screen try this:

win + r -> regedit ->
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\Current Version\Winlogon ->
rightclick on Shell key and type explorer.exe /select,explorer.exe (by default it was just explorer.exe).
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,687 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,273
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
is the WNA3100 better then the WNA1100 so far as range?
A little bit better but for what I use it for it doesn't really matter. I would have preferred to use the WNA1100 for the rig.

Going to have to spend some time going through the tips that have been posted- they look very helpful :toast:
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.63/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
edit: nm
 
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
LOL I have to wonder if all they want is Win7 then keep using it for the Start menu....would make sense right.:D:roll::roll::roll:

Microsoft Ok Windows 8 is more secure and we have explorer.exe at.92000 version.With metro UI.Touchscreen Bugs in Win7 are gone.

Customers
We want START MENU NOW.:cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:

Coders
Lets put windows7 explorer.exe in Windows8......

Guys who adopted to Metro.....
Well have fun with that . unsecured Win7 exe that has two Hot fixes out next Tuesday......Yet my Windows8 does not.......:twitch::confused::eek:
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
LOL I have to wonder if all they want is Win7 then keep using it for the Start menu....would make sense right.:D:roll::roll::roll:

Microsoft Ok Windows 8 is more secure and we have explorer.exe at.92000 version.With metro UI.Touchscreen Bugs in Win7 are gone.

Customers
We want START MENU NOW.:cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:

Coders
Lets put windows7 explorer.exe in Windows8......

Guys who adopted to Metro.....
Well have fun with that . unsecured Win7 exe that has two Hot fixes out next Tuesday......Yet my Windows8 does not.......:twitch::confused::eek:
You sir know not of what you speak .... explorer hasn't had a(security) hotfix since sp1 ...
also file version != security id wager metro has more security holes then a XP system(because Obviously explosing parts of the OS-core to things like javascript and html is a good idea) : please refrain from commenting when you don't know what you are talking about
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
You sir know not of what you speak .... explorer hasn't had a(security) hotfix since sp1 ...
also file version != security id wager metro has more security holes then a XP system
(because Obviously explosing parts of the OS-core to things like javascript and html is a good idea) : please refrain from commenting when you don't know what you are talking about
Wow get up on the wrong side of the H8 WIN8 bed this morning.I was poking fun of how those guys are using files from WIn7 t o get their beloved START Menu back.Why use Win8 then.

Also what java-script security holes in Metro? I have not had a MS hotfix on WIn8 since August And that was for Office,Yet in the other post about MS Hotfix Tuesday All the patches are WinXP-7 GO figure it out Win8 is better then 7 and stop coming here to a clubhouse of users that Actually use it.Not get us to go back to using 7

Here is proof........I guess I do know something EH!! H8ter.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,902 (2.22/day)
Likes
6,570
More news.

Built-in applications like Mail, Maps, Photos and Bing will be given a final polish, with new features added, before the OS is released.
So final version will have all these apps updated OOB. But RTM users who already installed W8 will be able to update directly from the store as the new versions land.

http://www.techradar.com/news/compu...ans-to-update-built-in-windows-8-apps-1102094

Nice to see that the final build will be updated.
I'm gonna reformat and install the final version because I'm on eval trial version of RTM anyway.
 
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
883 (0.43/day)
Likes
75
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 3000 Mhz (Running at 2933)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 GTX 1070
Storage 240 GB Kingston SSD, 7 TB's of HDD
Display(s) Dell 16:10 20" Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthos Pro M
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 750 P2
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard G Skill Ripjaws RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
I can't wait for this to release!
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
MS says Media Center will be an optin for W 8 PRO!!!

So if Î want it I need Pro? Well,.....
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,902 (2.22/day)
Likes
6,570
Patch Tuesday here with 3 updates:

Microsoft Camera Codec Pack

Hm that's strange not everyone needs this but MS marked this update as recommended.

IE Flash Player

Finally they updated flash player. 16MB in size.

And finally this ....

KB2756872

:eek: Holy shit what is this? It's 163MB!!!! Is it some kind of micro service pack? Its description says:

These updates (*.msu) provide a collection of performance and reliability improvements that are designed to improve the Windows 8 experience.

/ramble

It took ages to download and install it. But I'm really glad that this update improves performance and reliability. :cool:

p.s. It's also strange that update files for W8 are called Windows8-RT-KB2xxxxxx-x64.msu

Why they have RT in the filename? And what does RT stand for anyway? :confused:
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
Running Start8 to get start menu back.... not free though :-(
I also tried the old version of stardock fences and it works.... stardock is now charging 10 bucks for it so please back up those old exe files!!! I backed em up in 4 places even dropbox LOL.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,240 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
they should call this windows 3.5
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
Patch Tuesday here with 3 updates:

Microsoft Camera Codec Pack

Hm that's strange not everyone needs this but MS marked this update as recommended.

IE Flash Player

Finally they updated flash player. 16MB in size.

And finally this ....

KB2756872

:eek: Holy shit what is this? It's 163MB!!!! Is it some kind of micro service pack? Its description says:




/ramble

It took ages to download and install it. But I'm really glad that this update improves performance and reliability. :cool:

p.s. It's also strange that update files for W8 are called Windows8-RT-KB2xxxxxx-x64.msu

Why they have RT in the filename? And what does RT stand for anyway? :confused:
That big update does this.
Update information
Improvements
This cumulative update includes the following performance and reliability improvements:

Increased power efficiency to extend battery life
Performance improvements in Windows 8 applications and Start screen
Improved audio and video playback in many scenarios
Improved application and driver compatibility with Windows 8

Known issues
The following known issues may occur after you apply this update:

When you turn a Windows feature on or off, the computer may require a restart. For example, this action may be necessary when you turn Remote Access on or off.

How to obtain this update
Install this update from Windows Update.

Open the Charms bar by swiping in from the right edge of a touch screen. Or, if you use a mouse, move the mouse to the upper- or lower-right corner of the display.
Tap or click Search.
In the search box, type Windows Update.
Tap or click Settings.
Tap or click Install optional updates.
Click the nn important updates are available link, where n is the number of important updates available.
Click to select theupdate_name check box, where update_name is the name of the update that you want to install.
Click Install.


Strange thing is last week it was never said about what updates you get.Only Windows7 and office ones.have you guys noticed the Start Screen loads quicker o load up with log in/ password?Also seems more faster loading up apps in general.

Originally Posted by Drone View Post
More news.



So final version will have all these apps updated OOB. But RTM users who already installed W8 will be able to update directly from the store as the new versions land.

http://www.techradar.com/news/comput...8-apps-1102094

Nice to see that the final build will be updated.
I'm gonna reformat and install the final version because I'm on eval trial version of RTM anyway.



You get the updates for Bing,Photo and stuff.I had 11 of them to install,Now my machine just flies.When is media centre coming ? Any word on release date?

Would have had 2 posts just merged them together.
 
Last edited:

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.63/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
i was mildly excited for win 8, until saw how many tacked on fees there are, $10 for stardock start menu if u dont like the reg layout, xbox integration /puke, media center extra fee... heh piss on it, I am happy with win 7
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64