• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 8, full or upgrade required?

cleverest

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Dayton, OH
#26
You're welcome. I was pleasantly surprised it went as smoothly as it did. Hope you have the same luck. Let us know how it goes.

Now AFA W8 goes, I'm not sure I like it yet. Learning curve steepened considerably. ;) I'm gonna have to play with it a lot more before I convert. Once beyond the new desktop I like what I see but I need to learn how to configure the opening screens, task bar, and other stuff to my liking better. My install is on a 5-6 year old HP desktop. No touch screen here so having fun learning. :ohwell:

I'm in the same boat, at least as far as the touch screen goes, or lack thereof, but I will be building a brand new top-of-the-line computer with that though, so I'm excited about that. And I plan on eventually buying a laptop with a touchscreen (probably a lenovo twist) with Windows 8 if it's really that great. I know a lot of people hate it, but I'm quite the power user and I need to learn the features touch and not touch in order better to support my clients...
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.03/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#27
It's not legal (as in, EULA says you shouldn't), but you can actually upgrade Windows from itself, because the upgrade program sees its own license key as a valid key to upgrade from.

Do a clean install, boot it, then install again from it.

This loophole has been around for a while now, and reported still working for Windows 8.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#28
I would hate to use any of these shady upgrades to free install and later find out that an update wipes me out, or some other surprise in the future.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.03/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#29
I would hate to use any of these shady upgrades to free install and later find out that an update wipes me out, or some other surprise in the future.
I would hate to pay more than I need to pay for a product :)

The loophole has been around for years, and is intended to make life easy for PC-builders. With Microsofts recent step to make licensing easier for PC builders, I don't see how they would close that hole.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#30
I found this and it worked for me but may not for others. Burn the ISO to a disc and boot from it. Once it asks to upgrade or custom install do custom and format the HDD. After the install do the instructions below

Ok after some research I found a fix for the dreaded "0xC004F061" Windows cannot be activated due to not being an upgrade.

Code:
1. Launch the command prompt as an administrator (Windows key & X –or CMD X if running on a Mac).

2. Type regedit and press enter.

3. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software/Microsoft/Windows/CurrentVersion/Setup/OOBE

4. Look for the item MediaBootInstall and set the status to 0

5. Close regedit and head back to the command prompt that should be still open.

6. Type slmgr /rearm and restart when prompted.
http://www.techbeast.net/2012/10/26/windows-8-clean-installation-with-an-upgrade-license/
It's not legal (as in, EULA says you shouldn't), but you can actually upgrade Windows from itself, because the upgrade program sees its own license key as a valid key to upgrade from.

Do a clean install, boot it, then install again from it.

This loophole has been around for a while now, and reported still working for Windows 8.


You don't even need to do all that. You can do a clean install with an upgrade disk. Ive done it a few times on a freshly formatted HD. After the second or third time it will not auto activate keep in mind. Then you just use the automated service on the phone at that point. There is NO NEED to install an OS prior to the upgrade OR do any registry edits.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,517 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#31
You don't even need to do all that. You can do a clean install with an upgrade disk. Ive done it a few times on a freshly formatted HD. After the second or third time it will not auto activate keep in mind. Then you just use the automated service on the phone at that point.
Nope wrong MM, With the new windows 8 upgrades it KNOWS that it was installed clean and will throw an activation error of 0xC004F061 I have already had it throw it even on the first install saying it could not activate due to it being an "Upgrade" version on a clean install.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/why-activate-windows

You upgraded to Windows 8, but didn't have a previous version of Windows installed (error 0xC004F061)

If you see error 0xC004F061 when you try to activate Windows 8, it means that you're using a product key for an upgrade version of Windows 8 and a previous version of Windows wasn't on your PC when Windows 8 was installed. To install an upgrade version of Windows 8, you must already have Windows 7, Windows Vista, or Windows XP installed on your PC.

If you formatted the drive before the upgrade version of Windows 8 was installed, you won't be able to use your upgrade product key to activate Windows 8. To activate Windows 8, you'll need to install your previous version of Windows, and then reinstall Windows 8. For help with the activation process, contact support.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#32
Nope wrong MM, With the new windows 8 upgrades it KNOWS that it was installed clean and will throw an activation error of 0xC004F061 I have already had it throw it even on the first install saying it could not activate due to it being an "Upgrade" version on a clean install.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/why-activate-windows
Thats because you didnt format the MBR in the custom install. You have to have a non-allocated HD. Brandon Ive done this 4 times already.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,517 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#33
Thats because you didnt format the MBR in the custom install. You have to have a non-allocated HD. Brandon Ive done is 4 times already.
You have the FULL version key, we have an UPGRADE key!

THIS is why we got it for 15$ its can be activated for UPGRADE only.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#34

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,517 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#35
Mine is a upgrade key bra.
I have seen you mentioned before that you were "Cautious" and bought the full version of windows 8 and would not trust the 15$ upgrade. You even said this on TS.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#36
I have seen you mentioned before that you were "Cautious" and bout the full version of windows 8 and would not trust the 15$ upgrade. You even said this on TS.
I bought the upgrade bra. No full version key here.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,517 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#37
I bought the upgrade bra. No full version key here.
Then you must be the lucky one cause most others that had bought the upgrade version were met with the "Error" within the first week of install. Doing the regedit makes windows think that it was not installed via BOOT disc but via old OS.


Also it seems like the offer is still going for 14.99$ windows 8 pro upgrade

https://www.windowsupgradeoffer.com/en-US
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#38
Then you must be the lucky one cause most others that had bought the upgrade version were met with the "Error" within the first week of install. Doing the regedit makes windows think that it was not installed via BOOT disc but via old OS.
Because they are not doing the format and install correctly.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#39
I did the clean install with the upgrade. No issue here. Its been three weeks

This is all I did
1. Launch the command prompt as an administrator
6. Type slmgr /rearm and restart when prompted.

The first part of the fix was already ok
"MediaBootInstall and set the status to 0" < this was already set like that
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,517 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#40
Because they are not doing the format and install correctly.
Please MM give us proper procedures on how it install windows oh virus lord..
 

cleverest

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Dayton, OH
#41
Then you must be the lucky one cause most others that had bought the upgrade version were met with the "Error" within the first week of install. Doing the regedit makes windows think that it was not installed via BOOT disc but via old OS.


Also it seems like the offer is still going for 14.99$ windows 8 pro upgrade

https://www.windowsupgradeoffer.com/en-US
I just went ahead and purchased the $99 standard Windows system builder version. I would rather have the peace of mind of avoiding problems in the future... That being said, I would like it to be the pro version, is that 14.99 applicable to upgrade my version of win8 to the pro version, Are am I stuck paying 39.99 for that?
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,517 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#42
I just went ahead and purchased the $99 standard Windows system builder version. I would rather have the peace of mind of avoiding problems in the future... That being said, I would like it to be the pro version, is that 14.99 applicable to upgrade my version of win8 to the pro version, Are am I stuck paying 39.99 for that?
The 15$ version is a Windows 8 Pro Upgrade key. It can be used for clean installs (With reg hack or whatever mailman says to do) or as others said, Install over a clean install.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
207 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Houston,TX
System Name About_To_Be_Replaced
Processor AMD Deneb 955 OC to 3.82GHz
Motherboard ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Vapor-X Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB
Storage Crucial RealSSD C300 64GB SATA III (SSD)
Display(s) Samsung 2770HD
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 912 Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W
Software Win 7 64 Bit Home Edition SP1
Benchmark Scores Build 1: Listed Specs Build 2: Waiting for SteamRoller
#43
For Windows 7 I had the family pack which is the upgrade disk with 3 installs. I would do a quick format on a new hard drive and install Windows without the internet cable connected. Let it do a full install without activating. Then reinstall Windows over itself (it sees your 1st install as your old OS). After installing I reconnected the cable and activated. I've had zero problems from all three installs. I'm not sure if the same applies to Windows 8 but it sounds like it.

Good Luck