• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 8 Gets "Overwhelmingly Negative" Response from Vendors, Expectations Plummet

Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#26

MeanBruce

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
151 (0.06/day)
Likes
31
System Name Maximus Obsidious "Max"
Processor Intel 3770K 4.5GHz 1.205volts Delta T=2.5C at idle
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling H100i Sanyo-Denki SanAce Type 9S 120(x6) at 750rpm
Memory Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz 2X4GB w/extended heat sink fins red
Video Card(s) Asus 6870 DirectCU (Asus 9970 Direct CU2 Coming Soon)
Storage Intel 520 120GB(x2) RAID0 Array 1.1GB/s read/write
Display(s) Samsung 970D (Coming Soon)
Case CaseLabs Magnum M8 w/XL window front I/O USB 3.0(x4) Lamptron FC10 nixie tube fan controller stock f
Power Supply Corsair Platinum AX860 (Seasonic) w/Corsair GEN2 AXi cables red
Software Windows 8 Pro 64-bit $39.99 download :):)
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
582 (0.12/day)
Likes
150
System Name Lambda 4.0
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K6
Cooling NZXT Kraken X41
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB PC4-25600 (2x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti GAMING 6GB
Storage Intel SSD 530 180GB, 2x Samsung 840 500GB, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB, 2x WD 1TB Black Edition
Display(s) 2x Dell UltraSharp U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#28
I will say that as a virtual machine, windows 8 is slow as hell (im not talking about the graphics, those are actually just fine)
I had the same issue as you, the workaround was to install it on a physical box. I used vmware workstation 8 which has some comparability issues running Windows 8.

TPU users, no problem. Average joe, I am not so sure.
I see average joes buying Macs left right and center. If they can switch from Windows to Mac and not complain then switching to Windows 8 will be child's play.

Some just lack faith in average joe, like myself. Maybe I am just to cynical in that regard.

We are backwards?! In terms of myself, it is not a worthwhile upgrade. I have many arguments as to why it is better than windows 7. I have lurked the win8 club. I have read about what is new. I even played with windows 8 rt a little while. There just is not enough for me to upgrade. No game performance increases. All the pros of windows 8 are just so marginal to me.
One of the big things people are missing is ecosystem. Microsoft is building an ecosystem, just like Apple and Google have. Got a Windows Phone? Got an Xbox? There's a ton of integration between all these devices (WP8 will have it more so than WP7) and that's what Microsoft is building towards.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#29
fine, stick with your older and slower operating system. it took me 5 minutes to find a start menu, install it and have it working. tpuers should be ashamed of themselves for being so backwards.
You know the routine Rhino. They will cry like crazy and in 6 months they will all be using it.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#30
Not sure why you feel you need to attack people over this. :confused:

And not sure why you are happy to use an OS you had to fix out of the box.

I don't find Win 7 to be slow. Just another argument pulled out of nowhere. I would be ashamed if I said something like that.
please dont make this overly dramatic. windows 8 is faster than windows 7. if you value a more responsive and efficient OS than upgrade to windows 8 and spend 5 minutes of your precious porntube time to install a start menu :pimp:
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
96 (0.03/day)
Likes
18
Location
West Deptford, NJ
System Name iLLz-CreaTionZ
Processor Intel Core i5 6600K @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Z170-A
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16GB G.SKILL TridentX DDR4 @ 3000 Mhz
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 960 SSC 4GB @ 1287 MHz Core (1400 MHz Boost)
Storage Corsair Force SSD 240GB; 2 x Seagate 7200.10 320GB RAID 0; 1 x WD 1TB; External Seagate Pro 500GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Case DeepCool Tesseract
Power Supply PCP&C SilentCool 750 Quad Black
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#31
For everyone complaining about the lack of Start Menu, I just don't understand what you need it for. Even Microsoft found that noone launched applications from their anymore with the exception of certain things like Control Panel, and Administrative Tasks.

Good new for those that don't know, there is a Right-Click Context Menu at the lower left hand of the screen where the Start Menu used to be.

* Move mouse of lower left hand corner where start menu used to be
* Once the popup graphic appears for the New Start Screen, simply Right Click the mouse
* A context Menu appears with the following options:

Programs and Features
Power Option
Event Viewer
System
Device Manager
Disk Management
Computer Management
Command Prompt
Command Prompt (Administrative Rights)
-------------------------------------------
Task Manager
Control Panel
File Explorer
Search
Run
--------------------------------------------
Desktop


So Microsoft still made everything that was most commonly launched at the start menu and simply put it in a context menu so Power Users can still have quick access to such things. I use it everyday and I rarely ever go into the start screen unless its to log out.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#32
please dont make this overly dramatic. windows 8 is faster than windows 7. if you value a more responsive and efficient OS than upgrade to windows 8 and spend 5 minutes of your precious porntube time to install a start menu :pimp:
I bet if you take all the time it took to both install and learn windows 8, it totals to more time than you will save waiting on windows 7 compared to 8. We will all be using windows 8 soon enough, better sooner than later I guess.

The interface looks like it could be quite intuitive, it is not terribly bad looking, and makes great use of shortcuts.

And don't bother arguing, being avid forum users you both should be used to people getting butthurt when something they like or enjoy gets attacked.
 

mtosev

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
1,462 (0.31/day)
Likes
144
Location
Maribor, Slovenia
Processor Core i7 930
Motherboard Asus P6X58D Premium
Memory 6gb SuperTalent WB200UX6G8
Video Card(s) xfx radeon hd 5970 black edition
Storage Intel X25-M 80
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2209wa
Case Haf 932
Audio Device(s) Integreted sound card
Software w7
#33
who cares what the industry says. i will be buying win8 along with my new pc sometime in next year.
of course that everything made for vista and w7 works on 8
vista NT version 6.0
win7 NT version 6.1
8 NT version 6.2
this means that 8 is just a minor upgrade.the kernel is also probably the same
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#34
For everyone complaining about the lack of Start Menu, I just don't understand what you need it for. Even Microsoft found that noone launched applications from their anymore with the exception of certain things like Control Panel, and Administrative Tasks.

Good new for those that don't know, there is a Right-Click Context Menu at the lower left hand of the screen where the Start Menu used to be.

* Move mouse of lower left hand corner where start menu used to be
* Once the popup graphic appears for the New Start Screen, simply Right Click the mouse
* A context Menu appears with the following options:

Programs and Features
Power Option
Event Viewer
System
Device Manager
Disk Management
Computer Management
Command Prompt
Command Prompt (Administrative Rights)
-------------------------------------------
Task Manager
Control Panel
File Explorer
Search
Run
--------------------------------------------
Desktop


So Microsoft still made everything that was most commonly launched at the start menu and simply put it in a context menu so Power Users can still have quick access to such things. I use it everyday and I rarely ever go into the start screen unless its to log out.
Why are you posting common sense? This is a windows hate thread. I should report you for being off topic. :laugh:

The search feature was one of the biggest cry baby moments from some users on TPU who "Spent weeks" using Windows 8. Guess Right-Click Context Menu never came to their minds......noobs.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#35
It does kinda feel like it clashes between traditional windows and the new UI a bit.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#36
Once of the big things people are missing is ecosystem. Microsoft is building an ecosystem, just like Apple and Google have. Got a Windows Phone? Got an Xbox? There's a ton of integration between all these devices (WP8 will have it more so than WP7) and that's what Microsoft is building towards.
Windows 8 on the surface is fixable. Windows 8 in deep down is marginally different from windows 7. Little reason to upgrade for me. The big picture that you just described is probably the only thing about windows 8 worth discussing. I can admit I am unsure how I feel about having everything integrated.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
1,577 (0.52/day)
Likes
461
Location
Los Angeles/Orange County CA
System Name Vulcan
Processor i6 6600K
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z170X UD3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio Silent 14
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 970
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 1TB SSD
Display(s) QNIX 27 Inch 1440p
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Cooler Master V750
Software Win 10 64-bit
#37
please dont make this overly dramatic. windows 8 is faster than windows 7. if you value a more responsive and efficient OS than upgrade to windows 8 and spend 5 minutes of your precious porntube time to install a start menu :pimp:
I'm being over dramatic?

I think that's what I was pointing out about your response.

You call everyone "backwards" as if your panties are in bunch over this.

Why are you being such an ass?
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
96 (0.03/day)
Likes
18
Location
West Deptford, NJ
System Name iLLz-CreaTionZ
Processor Intel Core i5 6600K @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Z170-A
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16GB G.SKILL TridentX DDR4 @ 3000 Mhz
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 960 SSC 4GB @ 1287 MHz Core (1400 MHz Boost)
Storage Corsair Force SSD 240GB; 2 x Seagate 7200.10 320GB RAID 0; 1 x WD 1TB; External Seagate Pro 500GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Case DeepCool Tesseract
Power Supply PCP&C SilentCool 750 Quad Black
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#38
Why are you posting common sense? This is a windows hate thread. I should report you for being off topic. :laugh:

The search feature was one of the biggest cry baby moments from some users on TPU who "Spent weeks" using Windows 8. Guess Right-Click Context Menu never came to their minds......noobs.
Here is a screen shot for anyone interested.

 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#39
Windows 8 on the surface is fixable. Windows 8 in deep down is marginally different from windows 7. Little reason to upgrade for me. The big picture that you just described is probably the only thing about windows 8 worth discussing. I can admit I am unsure how I feel about having everything integrated.
They could have deployed the 'ecosystem' with a service pack update.

Why do that when there is money to be made?

I am just glad our server 2012 isnt coming with metro. Hell, I might just do server 2012 instead, were it not for the price.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#40
I'm being over dramatic?

I think that's what I was pointing out about your response.

You call everyone "backwards" as if your panties are in bunch over this.

Why are you being such an ass?
i said don't be over dramatic. i didn't say you were being over dramatic. but now you are so have fun with your old OS.


Here is a screen shot for anyone interested.

http://i.imgur.com/kSGfF.png
no! right click is too much work for me! windows 7 for LIFEEEEE!
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#41
I would like to point out that my righ click doesn't do that, anywhere. All I get is:

view, sort by, refresh, paste, paste shortcut, new, screen resolution, gadgets, and personalize.

Righ clicking on the bar I get toolbars, cascade windows, etc...

What am I doing wrong exactly?

EDIT: I should tell you I can bring this up with win+x.

Also, the search doesnt index everything like the windows 7 search. Any way to change the search to do what windows 7 search does? because it was amazing.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#42
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
582 (0.12/day)
Likes
150
System Name Lambda 4.0
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K6
Cooling NZXT Kraken X41
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB PC4-25600 (2x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti GAMING 6GB
Storage Intel SSD 530 180GB, 2x Samsung 840 500GB, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB, 2x WD 1TB Black Edition
Display(s) 2x Dell UltraSharp U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#43
They could have deployed the 'ecosystem' with a service pack update.

Why do that when there is money to be made?

I am just glad our server 2012 isnt coming with metro. Hell, I might just do server 2012 instead, were it not for the price.
Actually no, they couldn't. Windows 8 and Windows Phone 8 share the same kernel, which is also based off the kernel of the OS running on the Xbox 360. That's why certain apps can be shared across all 3 devices, if coded that way.

Also, I thought Server 2012 did have the Start Screen?

I would like to point out that my righ click doesn't do that, anywhere. All I get is:

view, sort by, refresh, paste, paste shortcut, new, screen resolution, gadgets, and personalize.

Righ clicking on the bar I get toolbars, cascade windows, etc...

What am I doing wrong exactly?

EDIT: I should tell you I can bring this up with win+x.
Do it in the very left corner and it should work.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
1,577 (0.52/day)
Likes
461
Location
Los Angeles/Orange County CA
System Name Vulcan
Processor i6 6600K
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z170X UD3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio Silent 14
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 970
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 1TB SSD
Display(s) QNIX 27 Inch 1440p
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Cooler Master V750
Software Win 10 64-bit
#44
i said don't be over dramatic. i didn't say you were being over dramatic. but now you are so have fun with your old OS.




no! right click is too much work for me! windows 7 for LIFEEEEE!
You work on Java. That explains a lot.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#45
BTW, I am using the 8400 build, and right click isnt doing that. Any ideas?

Also, I love java. It is a bit bloated, but not compared to c#. If Java is a whale, c# is a bloated beached whale.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#46
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#47
Do it in the very left corner and it should work.
I found out what my issue is:

I have dual monitor, my right monitor is VMWare with the roaming mouse option. It just moves to the next screen.

Could that be a problem if you were running windows 8 dual screen and your primary desktop was on the right? maybe I should submit a bug report.

NVM, found it. It just takes a while for the START to come up, then you right-click.

FYI WIN + X is an easier way of doing that.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
582 (0.12/day)
Likes
150
System Name Lambda 4.0
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K6
Cooling NZXT Kraken X41
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB PC4-25600 (2x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti GAMING 6GB
Storage Intel SSD 530 180GB, 2x Samsung 840 500GB, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB, 2x WD 1TB Black Edition
Display(s) 2x Dell UltraSharp U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#48
I found out what my issue is:

I have dual monitor, my right monitor is VMWare with the roaming mouse option. It just moves to the next screen.

Could that be a problem if you were running windows 8 dual screen and your primary desktop was on the right? maybe I should submit a bug report.
I'll have to try it when I get home to see if I can recreate it, but ya doesn't hurt to submit a bug report, I've found them to be much more receptive to bug reports the past few months.

EDIT: Oh ok awesome, probably cuz you're running it in a VM?
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#49
I'll have to try it when I get home to see if I can recreate it, but ya doesn't hurt to submit a bug report, I've found them to be much more receptive to bug reports the past few months.

EDIT: Oh ok awesome, probably cuz you're running it in a VM?
Thats probably it.
 
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5,167 (1.65/day)
Likes
944
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
Cooling Corsair A70 (Passive)
Memory Samsung 8GB MV-3V4G3D/US
Storage Samsung PM841 256GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case BitFenix Prodigy (Arctic White)
Power Supply FSP Zen 400 (Fanless)
Software OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks
#50
Not sure why you feel you need to attack people over this. :confused:

And not sure why you are happy to use an OS you had to fix out of the box.

I don't find Win 7 to be slow. Just another argument pulled out of nowhere. I would be ashamed if I said something like that.
Because he's targeting a demographic that prides itself on tweaking things out of the box...? This is a PC enthusiast forum, from the moment our parts arrive, we start thinking about how to milk it for everything it's worth. We replace coolers, we replace thermal compound, we even replace fans on replacement coolers, and we overclock the shit out of everything, from processors to monitors. Yet, after spending hours upon hours doing all of that, you're bashing Windows 8 because it requires 5 minutes to tweak to make faster than Windows 7? Really? :banghead: