• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows doesn't see it, Mint does

Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,721 (0.59/day)
Likes
416
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green, 512 GB Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#1
I got a new WD RED 1TB, formatted it with a 100GB ext4 partition (for Mint) and the rest as an NTFS partition (for general crap, I already have Windows on another drive). Linux sees everything fine, but Windows pretty much refuses to see it at all (it doesn't show up in diskpart, disk management, or the device manager).

How do I determine if it's a configuration issue, a compatibility issue, or defective?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,688 (2.69/day)
Likes
2,001
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#2
try to reformat it, if everything is ok and you hdd run normal (no overheat, no strange sound or like that) that means you hdd is ok
how about you format it with linux and set it ext4 and leave the rest, then format the rest by using windows
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,721 (0.59/day)
Likes
416
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green, 512 GB Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#3
How am I supposed to use Windows to create a partition on a disk that Windows doesn't recognize?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,688 (2.69/day)
Likes
2,001
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#4
i mean you erase your hdd first, create partition then you set up ntfs from windows and ext4 from linux
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,484 (1.40/day)
Likes
1,920
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#5
i mean you erase your hdd first, create partition then you set up ntfs from windows and ext4 from linux
erase all partitions. then run windows. in disk managment you should see disk as unpartisioned drive. create partition under size add total size for drive-size you want for ext4. keep in mind that your dirive physicaly has one 1tb= 1000gb but for OS 1tb is 1024gb so OS will see your drive as 976GB and you have to exclude 100gb for ext4 from 976GB not from 1TB. after you have created partition format ntfs.
when finsihed with ntfs part boot mint and create ext4 partition at unussed space.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,535 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,624
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#6
How am I supposed to use Windows to create a partition on a disk that Windows doesn't recognize?
So the device is missing in general. If you open up diskmgmt.msc, the drive is completely missing?

Do you have SATA drivers installed and is the BIOS set to RAID mode on SATA? dmraid might detect fakeraid out of the box but Windows 7 might not. I would make sure that SATA is running in AHCI mode. This has nothing to do with how the drive is partitioned. Windows would carp if it had trouble with that. Your problem is exactly as you describe it, the drive doesn't show up at all, as in you can't even see drivers loaded up for it.

Are you using the red SATA port or the blue ones? If you're using one of the blue ones, then you're using SATA1 (1.5Gbps) and you might have trouble getting it to initialize being a SATA3 drive. Clearly it will work because it worked in Linux but you may need to put a jumper on the hard drive to force SATA2 PHY. If that doesn't work, try moving the hard drive over to the red sata port. That is SATA2 and is on a different controller that runs over PCI-E. I would give that a try.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,103 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,235
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#7
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,721 (0.59/day)
Likes
416
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green, 512 GB Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#9
I turned the computer on this morning, went to take a piss and when I came back it said that there wasn't anything there to boot with. After messing around with BIOS for a while and getting nowhere, I decided to move it from my one SATA 3Gb/s slot to one of my two SATA 1.5Gb/s slots, messed with BIOS to enable them, and voila everything's working fine.

Long story short, either my SATA 3Gb/s slot is crapping out or Windows doesn't like it.