• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows Firewall wont work anymore = no online gaming

Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#1
Hey guys.

ive noticed that my Windows Firewall has not been working for a while now..I did not take to much notice of it...nore did I care..I just downloaded ZoneAlarm firewall instead. But...for some reason..I cannot play ANY new games online anymore...what I mean is..I could play any game when windows firewall was working...it always gave me a pop up asking do you wish to block or unblock.

Now tho...I dont get that..iam trying to play 2 games I got this week..but I cannot..Zone Alarm does not give me a pop up even tho it should! I manualy allowed them internet access in the program control panel. That still done nothing for me.

ive searhed the web for answers and yet....nothing will work still.....

So I come here...where all PC experts come! Guys.....can any one of you help me!

Here is the error message I get:

Windows Cannot start the Windows Firewall/InternetConnection Sharing(ICS) Service.

Thanks anyone!
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#2
Check and make sure the service isn't disabled...

It will need to be manual or automatic.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#3
the thing is...I dont know where to go to enable or disable? I thought its control panal...and just double click security center or windows firewall. But there is nothing to do with enable or disable there.

When I double click windows firewall...its just gives me that error.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#4
go to run and type services.msc, that will bring up a list of your services and you can get to them to enable or disable them.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,655 (0.70/day)
Likes
776
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#5
go to your control panel and check out your internet options or network connections if your using xp
and if you have a third party anti-virus protection program like norton, go into the settings and see what options are not supposed to be check off
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,655 (0.70/day)
Likes
776
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#6
or maybe u need to reset ur router. call your isp and theyll help u out with that
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#7
go to your control panel and check out your internet options or network connections if your using xp
and if you have a third party anti-virus protection program like norton, go into the settings and see what options are not supposed to be check off
Not related to this issue...

The issue is the service is not starting, most likely it is not starting because it is disabled for one reason or another in the system services list.

Windows and other Firewall software, runs independently from your internet options or network connections. Norton itself will look to see if you have a firewall installed or setup, if you don't it will try to sell your its own. :)
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#8
or maybe u need to reset ur router. call your isp and theyll help u out with that
Also "NOT" related at all....

Please try to avoid from posting help about things you are not knowledgeable with.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#9
Niko084: I done what you said and I went down to Windows Firewall and clicked start....it then gives me this error:

Could not start the windows firewall/internet connection sharing(ICS) service on local computer.
Error 1075 The dependency service does not exist or has been marked for deletion.

Iam no expert...but that sounds horribly wrong...marked for deletion??? lol
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#10
Niko084: I done what you said and I went down to Windows Firewall and clicked start....it then gives me this error:

Could not start the windows firewall/internet connection sharing(ICS) service on local computer.
Error 1075 The dependency service does not exist or has been marked for deletion.

Iam no expert...but that sounds horribly wrong...marked for deletion??? lol
Don't attempt to start it directly, just set it to automatic and restart your computer.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,655 (0.70/day)
Likes
776
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#11
Also "NOT" related at all....

Please try to avoid from posting help about things you are not knowledgeable with.
I am trying to provide him with "possible" solutions to the problem he's facing. Try to worry about the problem at hand and stop worrying about whether or not you think my suggestions are not going to help at all.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#12
it is already set to Automatic.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#13
I am trying to provide him with "possible" solutions to the problem he's facing. Try to worry about the problem at hand and stop worrying about whether or not you think my suggestions are not going to help at all.
Possible solutions need to be tied to his issue in some way....
Once again..
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#14
Now to get back to the issue your problem lies a bit deeper..

Instead of typing this all out for you piece by piece, follow this guide it should help you get it running.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/892199
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#15
omg....again....nothing...jeezz.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.70/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#16
Hey guys.

ive noticed that my Windows Firewall has not been working for a while now..I did not take to much notice of it...nore did I care..I just downloaded ZoneAlarm firewall instead. But...for some reason..I cannot play ANY new games online anymore...what I mean is..I could play any game when windows firewall was working...it always gave me a pop up asking do you wish to block or unblock.

Now tho...I dont get that..iam trying to play 2 games I got this week..but I cannot..Zone Alarm does not give me a pop up even tho it should! I manualy allowed them internet access in the program control panel. That still done nothing for me.

ive searhed the web for answers and yet....nothing will work still.....

So I come here...where all PC experts come! Guys.....can any one of you help me!

Here is the error message I get:

Windows Cannot start the Windows Firewall/InternetConnection Sharing(ICS) Service.

Thanks anyone!

open control panel and open windows firewall, then go to advanced and select to restore defaults.

if that doesnt fix it reinstall sp2 and it should fix it, i believe something has either changed or disabled your settings
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#17
heh already tryed to reinstall SP2 :p but it would not allow me...
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.91/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#18
make sure network connections and windows management instrumentation are set to automatic,and check to make sure remote procedure call is also automatic..anything that windows firewall/internet connection sharing depends on must be started for it to turn on
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#19
I coudl not find management instrumentation. Where would I find that?

Everything else you mentioned is set to automatic.

Gosh...I just uninstalled NOD32 and decided to install my old Zone Alarm Pro 2007. The good news is I can play one of the games online now :D The pop ups come up now which is a relief to see!!! but...for my other game " PES2008 " it does give 2 pop ups...but I still cant connect to the network to play online??? what the heck!

Thanks for everyone giving me advice! hmm..maybe I have something wrong somewhere...a virus??? a missing file..an old HDD??...hmm...I dont know :(
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.70/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#20
heh already tryed to reinstall SP2 :p but it would not allow me...
did you go to add/remove programs and uninstall it first then reboot?

if its already there you cant reinstall it, i guess it doesnt have a repair feature.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
2,596 (0.64/day)
Likes
106
Location
Republic Of Ireland
Processor Intel i5 4670k 4.0Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 PC MATE
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Nano @1050Mhz
Storage Samsung Evo 840 250GB SSD + Seagate 500GB\8Gb 5400rpm SSHD\64Gb Lexar P20 USB 3.0 Drive
Display(s) Samsung 27" s27d390h + 15.6" 1080p Matte 95% Color Gamut
Case Aerocool GT-A
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT990-Pro 250 ohms Headphones\Edifier R1600TIII 2.0 Speakers\Creative Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 620m
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD 8200Dpi
Keyboard Redragon Karura
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#21
no I did not uninstall SP2!....I guess I should give it a go :p could not be arsed now...been trying different things all god damn day long...I need some gaming now :p thanks for the help!