1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Media Payer keeps crashing explorer.exe (Even when WMP isn't open)

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Casheti, Jan 11, 2007.

  1. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Basically, even if a wmp file is on my screen, my computer freezes for 2 seconds and then explorer.exe kills itself. I've tried re installing wmp and it doesn't fix it. This is a very serious issue because it's restricting me from accessing certain parts of my hard drive because if there's a wmp file where I want to go, explorer.exe will crash. This need fixing bad. Any help appreciated. Thanks :) (and also this means I can't even watch the movies :()

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    DEP kicked in on the first screenie. Might you have an invader? Run a virus scan?

    EDIT: Are those .avi files?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Yes .avi :) I have tried Virus Scan with Kaspersky, and I clean registry every day with RegCure and Registry Booster.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    The problem is probably with windows trying to preview the files. If you are willing to get rid of the preview thumbnails Windows gives for movie files, try going to the run command on the start menu and typing regsvr32 /u shmedia.dll

    Come back and tell me what happens.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Wow...nice work man ;) Fixed it. Now I'm getting codec errors instead lmfao. But that can be fixed :) Thanks again.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I thought you might be. What codecs are installed?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    XviD. But nothing detects them. in ConvertXtoDVD it says there are no valid codecs to display a preview while it converts it. And it used to but now it doesn't. I tried reinstalling them. Doesn't work :wtf: Not a big fan of DivX either, so getting XviD to work would be great ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    The command I gave you might have caused the ConvertX problem. We'll get to that in a minute.

    Ok, I have a suggestion for a good codec package that should play almost anything you throw at it. http://www.cccp-project.net/

    Uninstall all of your other codecs, and install that. If you need Real and Quicktime also, then download and install Real Alternative Lite and Quicktime Alternative Lite on top of it.

    If after that preview still doesn't work in CXtDVD, try reinstalling it. If that doesn't work, then you can try to re-register the preview. iirc, you use /r instead of /u in that command I gave you.

    EDIT: BTW, I use CXtDVD and Kaspersky, also. Nice choices.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Yeah thanks, nice choices to you too ;) The codecs are really good :p Do they come pre-tuned or is there anything I can do to max out the quality?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Already tuned and ready to go. I use them religiously. Way easier to deal with than K-lite.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    ConvertXtoDVD Preview still doesn't work. But to be honest it's not that important anyways. As long as it converts :D That's a good codec project. Who runs it?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    To be honest, I have no idea. lol. All I know is that it's an open source project. If you want to tweak, fix a problem, or otherwise learn about codecs and filters, check out their wiki. It is stuffed with knowledge. It (and a whole shitload of trial and error. lol) is how I learned so much about encoding and codecs.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Ohhhhhhhh, very nice :p Thanks again for the help :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Anytime
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    would nvidia purevideo decoder interfere with that codec pack wile e?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    NICE tip on the codec pack (even though I have 'shifted' recently to VLC as my media player, upon the suggestions of folks here that used it before I did - comes w/ it's OWN codecs "built into it" already, which is neat)...

    Still, I keep my 'eyes peeled' online for diff./better software & codec packs are NOT an exception...

    :)

    * Nice to see I got that much outta this thread!

    APK

    P.S.=> LOL! Casheti - on a 'lighter-note'? Heh, I see you applied your latest "classic" to your signature, per this thread reply:

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=233469#post233469

    Awesome... & good luck on fixing your hassle here!

    apk
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    lol, yep :D Should stay there for a while ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,808 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I was gonna say the same thing. It seems on some avi files (movies, etc) there is either some type of code in it or whatever and MS and it doesnt get along. I used to get that with some files I would download. I didnt have to do this because there was a setting I Checked, but Im glad it worked for you. The files not showing a preview in thumbnails shouldnt interfere with ConvertxtoDVD (glad Im not the only one who uses it, its the shit, though I Cant change how it encodes audio....). The preview function is basically just as the movie is converted and burned, it shows what it is gonna look like and such. Weird that its doing it after you changed that registry entry. Ill do some more looking and see if I can help you get that straightened out. I know its not a huge deal ( i dont even preview movies I burn ) but its still nice to know if its fixable.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Thanks ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,671 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    Location:
    Blighty
    i had this happen too a while back, wish i'd been a member of tpu then, it took me hours to find that fix
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    It shouldn't. I can't say 100%, but it doesn't interfere with AVIVO.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    VLC is also a good player. I use it on my Macs. But, in Windows, I prefer the codec pack so I can use any Direct Show capable player of my choosing. I use the Zoom Player. It comes with CCCP, but I have the Pro version. It's a power user's dream come true. Another benefit of using the codec pack comes when you watch subtitled works. If the subs are encoded as an .ass or .ssa, they can have custom type settings, fonts, colors, etc. They can be different for every single character on screen. They can be used to put translations directly on signs in the background, for instance. The codec pack will display them as intended, VLC will only display them as a generic font at the bottom of the screen, looking much like a DVD player's standard subtitles.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,626 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    I just use X-setup Pro to disable preview of .avi files.


    But this works too I guess.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    This is basically what X-Setup Pro does. Not dissin on X-Setup, great proggy. Just figured it easier to give him the command, rather than make him install a program to do it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,626 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    True.


    But there are alot of things that I change during a new setup, and it just makes it easier.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)