• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows regristry file missing or corrupt; can't boot

kodex

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
100 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor AMD X2 4600+ @ 2.52 GHZ
Motherboard ECS AMD690GM-M2
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 x 1GB WINTEC AMPO
Video Card(s) eVGA 8800GT 512MB Superclocked
Storage Western Digital Caviar WD2500KS 250GB
Display(s) LG L196WTQ 19" Widescreen
Case Atrix CSCI-G8022C-C43
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply Xclio Stablepower 460W
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 32-bit / Windows Vista Buisness 32-bit
#1
When I turned on my computer this afternoon, XP was booting noticeably slower than normal. When I got to my desktop, I was getting mouse lag and my CPU usage was at 50-90%. When I tried to reboot, it took forever and finally told me that a regristry file was corrupt or missing. I ran the setup disk to get to the repair console like it told me to, but it doesn't give any further directions. What do I do?
 

kodex

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
100 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor AMD X2 4600+ @ 2.52 GHZ
Motherboard ECS AMD690GM-M2
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 x 1GB WINTEC AMPO
Video Card(s) eVGA 8800GT 512MB Superclocked
Storage Western Digital Caviar WD2500KS 250GB
Display(s) LG L196WTQ 19" Widescreen
Case Atrix CSCI-G8022C-C43
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply Xclio Stablepower 460W
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 32-bit / Windows Vista Buisness 32-bit
#2
Update

I followed this guide and I can login to my installation as Administrator. However, this guide assumes that you have restore points, which I, of course, have none of. My files and everything are still there (including the programs that were on the desktop and in the start menu), I just don't have the option to login to my account. Is there any way that I can get my account back besides System Restore?

Thanks,
kodex
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#3
Why not just log in as administrator ?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#4
When you load the xp cd, click "Repair windows" and that should do it.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,053 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,791
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#5
Repair console can be a pain when the fastest and easiest way to fix XP issues is to "Repair Windows" install. All you have to do is after inserting disk and the normal XP install stuff at the beginning DO Not hit R the first time it says repair. Hit enter or esc, Can't remember which one, and when windows is looking for another install of Windows you should get another prompt to repair. This time do it. Install will look like a normal install but you will see NOTHING about formating if you do it right.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
425 (0.12/day)
Likes
43
Location
Clermont, FL
System Name Fixxer Upper
Processor Intel Core2Quad Q9450 @ 2.66Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula x48
Cooling Xigmatec 120mm Rifle Cooler
Memory 2 GB (2 x 1 GB) DDR2-1066 OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) XFX HD4890 1GB DDR5 CF w/ XFX HD4850 1GB DDR3
Storage Western Digital 320 Caviar in Raid 0, Samsung Spingpoint F1 500GB
Display(s) LG 22" (L226WTQ)
Case Silverstone TJ09
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II w/ Logitech G51 5.1
Power Supply BFG 1000W Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 7.7 in Windows 7
#6
Or, you could connect your hard drive to a computer that works, make sure you set it to slave if it is IDE (and that the other is set to master) if sata plug it in as normal. Then turn on the computer, let it install the new found hardware, go through your hard drive get all of your documents and such off...if you have programs you might be outta luck with that:(, then just do a fresh install and it will run better then ever.

Then connect it to your network and copy all the files back to it...or you can do the same set up as i said before and copy them all back onto the hard drive that way.
 

kodex

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
100 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor AMD X2 4600+ @ 2.52 GHZ
Motherboard ECS AMD690GM-M2
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 x 1GB WINTEC AMPO
Video Card(s) eVGA 8800GT 512MB Superclocked
Storage Western Digital Caviar WD2500KS 250GB
Display(s) LG L196WTQ 19" Widescreen
Case Atrix CSCI-G8022C-C43
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply Xclio Stablepower 460W
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 32-bit / Windows Vista Buisness 32-bit
#7
Thanks for the replies guys. I decided to just wipe the drive and start over after I got all my files off. I suppose it's all for the better now that I have a fresh install of XP. =)