• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows Vista and Server 2008 Service Pack 2 Beta Now Available for Public Download

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
Right on time, Microsoft today released the public beta of Service Pack 2 for both Windows Server 2008 and Windows Vista. Both Service Packs are available now here in 32-bit and 64-bit versions. Initially the Service Packs are downloadable in five different languages: English, French, German, Japanese, and Spanish. Service Pack 1 for both operating systems is necessary in order to obtain the second Service Pack. Find more information here.

Show full news post
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#2
I'm gonna try this when I get home. Hope I get some gaming performance boosts along with Caty 8.12!
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#3
Does this turn your copy of Vista into a eval copy, I remember the beta of SP1 did something like that. Don't know whether to try this or not, as much as I want to. Any ideas on when the RTM will go live? I've just got my PC how I want it and cant be bothered going through another format.
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.74/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#4
Any ideas on when the RTM will go live? I've just got my PC how I want it and cant be bothered going through another format.
Release was planned to April, so February-March.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#5
Any body install this yet. I wanna try it out but I don't wanna waste my time if it totally screws everything up.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#6
im using the older version of the beta .113 i think and it does water mark your desktop though since this is a public beta it probably doesnt and no it wont f@#$ up your rig it installs fine ncie and stable.
 

James1991

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
267 (0.07/day)
Likes
38
Location
Port Lincoln, South Australia
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 EVO
Cooling lots and lots of fans
Memory 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2 x ATI(yes, ATI) Radeon 4850
Storage lots of 500 gb drives
Display(s) Acer P221W, LG L1732S, Samsung 32 inch HDTV
Case big one
Audio Device(s) onboard stuff
Power Supply big one
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores boots into windows is that ok?
#7
im using the older version of the beta .113 i think and it does water mark your desktop though since this is a public beta it probably doesnt and no it wont f@#$ up your rig it installs fine ncie and stable.
the last one didn't work for me. i have just formated my pc and when i finally get SP1 to show up in windows update after all the other updates are gone, i will install that and see if SP2 works after that:D
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#8
I get stuttering in CoD4.. Haven't tried other games yet but I am gonna uninstall anyways.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#9
im using it works fine
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#10
Yea I had folding@home running thats why it was laggy. Its actually pretty good but I haven't noticed anything different.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#11
Been on my pc since yesterday,and i cant even notice its there.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#12
Been on my pc since yesterday,and i cant even notice its there.
same here, at least it didn't break anything so far. Thats good news! :p
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#13
I just want "7" not a sp2 patch :)
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#14
Argh I can't make a new thread in the Software section..(everywhere else works).

Anyways... SP2 is giving me a 80070002 error, which I believe is an invalid data problem.

Looking at the CBS logs I find this:

Session: 29973691:1215353416 initialized.
2008-12-13 00:39:40, Info CBS Canonicalized file: C:\44ec9052378972caf0909e4523\f0293450f0e9be1aa9\windows6.0-kb948465-X64.cab Target dir: C:\44ec9052378972caf0909e4523\f0293450f0e9be1aa9 File: windows6.0-kb948465-X64.cab
2008-12-13 00:39:40, Info CBS SPI: Created path: C:\44ec9052378972caf0909e4523\f0293450f0e9be1aa9\windows6.0-kb948465-X64.cab
2008-12-13 00:39:44, Error CBS SPI: (CSelfExpander::InternalExpandFile:382)Checksum of downloaded file (0x1cbdd080) does not match expected (0x8f745e24) er=0xd
2008-12-13 00:39:44, Error CBS SPI: (CSelfExpander::ExpandFiles:227)Failed to internal expand file windows6.0-kb948465-X64.cab hr=0x8007000d
2008-12-13 00:39:44, Error CBS SPI: (CSPCInstallTask::Execute:880)Failed to expand windows6.0-kb948465-X64.cab hr=0x8007000d
2008-12-13 00:39:44, Info CBS SPI: Reporting Failed package event
2008-12-13 00:39:44, Info CBS Session: 29973691:1215353416 finalized. Reboot required: no


It looks to be simply a hash/checksum issue, however this happens with both the standalone and Windows Update; so if the content of the downloaded data is fine, why is the system looking for an address of 0x8f745e24?


I've been through all the usual methods of whiping temp files, and Windows Update cached files.


I'm tempted to just skip it and get back to setting everything up, since I just reformatted Vista; however it would have been nice to get SP2 out of the way, if there's no garuntee the final version will install properly.

Any thoughts?
 
Last edited: