• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Vista final prices released, Customer Preview Program to restart.

Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.07/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#1
A few weeks ago, a Canadien website leaked the prices for Windows Vista. Now, Microsoft has released the official prices for Windows Vista.
  • Windows Vista Ultimate Full is $399, Windows Vista Ultimate upgrade is $259.
  • Windows Vista Business Full is $299, Windows Vista Business upgrade is $199.
  • Windows Vista Home Premium Full is $239, Windows Vista Home Premium upgrade is $159.
  • Windows Vista Home Basic Full is $199, Windows Vista Home Basic upgrade is $99.
Microsoft also plans to release the beta code of RC1 to anyone who previously registered for the Windows Vista Beta 2, essentially restarting the Customer Preview Program. They will also allow new people to register for the release candidate of Windows Vista.

Source: Cnet
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
669 (0.16/day)
Likes
28
Location
England, UK
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI SE
Cooling 2 Exhaust fans
Memory 2x512MB DDR400 RAM
Video Card(s) Connect3D ATI Radeon X1900XT 512MB
Storage 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax
Display(s) Packard bell 17" CRT
Case Stock
Power Supply 580W Hiper Type-R
#2
whats the difference between home basic and ultimate? And which one should i choose? full or upgrade?
 

Darksaber

W1zzard's Sidekick
Staff member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
2,645 (0.58/day)
Likes
1,078
Location
Gmunden, Austria
System Name Core i7 Overclocked - Main Workstation
Processor Core i7 940 at 3.66 GHz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe
Cooling Noktua U14P Super Silent
Memory 3x2GB OCZ 1600 MHz CL8
Video Card(s) 2x MSI Cyclone Radeon 6850 1GB in Crossfire - tuned to be silent
Storage G.Skill 240GB Sandforce SSD, 1x 640GB Samsung F1, 2x500GB Samsung Spinpoint, 1.5TB External Samsung
Display(s) Samsung 305T 30" 2560x1600 DVI LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCIe
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 750W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
#4
whats the difference between home basic and ultimate? And which one should i choose? full or upgrade?
well upgrade would be prudent if you own a valid copy of Xp ATM. Considering that XP Home does not cost more than 100 bucks, it is cheaper to buy XP and then the upgrade.

cheers
DS
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,557
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
whats the difference between home basic and ultimate? And which one should i choose? full or upgrade?
Home Basic=XP Home(Basic OS)
Home Premium=XP Media Center Edition(Basic OS+Media Center)
Business=XP Pro(Basic OS+Multi Processor support+Ability to join domains, No Media Center)
Ultimate=Business+Home Premium(All the features of Business+Media Center)

Most people will probably be using Home Basic as it will probably do everything they need. If you currently have MCE and actually use the Media Center functions then you probably will want to go with Home Premium.

As for if you want the full or upgrade, that depends. I would say go with the upgrade version, assuming you have a copy of XP or 2000. However, whatever you do, do a clean install(you have to most of the time anyway).
 

Darksaber

W1zzard's Sidekick
Staff member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
2,645 (0.58/day)
Likes
1,078
Location
Gmunden, Austria
System Name Core i7 Overclocked - Main Workstation
Processor Core i7 940 at 3.66 GHz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe
Cooling Noktua U14P Super Silent
Memory 3x2GB OCZ 1600 MHz CL8
Video Card(s) 2x MSI Cyclone Radeon 6850 1GB in Crossfire - tuned to be silent
Storage G.Skill 240GB Sandforce SSD, 1x 640GB Samsung F1, 2x500GB Samsung Spinpoint, 1.5TB External Samsung
Display(s) Samsung 305T 30" 2560x1600 DVI LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCIe
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 750W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
#6
As for if you want the full or upgrade, that depends. I would say go with the upgrade version, assuming you have a copy of XP or 2000. However, whatever you do, do a clean install(you have to most of the time anyway).
well I think that the upgrade variant will not let you do a clean direct install of Vista..but needs to be installed on top of a XP version?

The serials will probaly be different as well...so an upgrade serial will not work on a retail version and the other way around.

cheers
DS
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,557
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
well I think that the upgrade variant will not let you do a clean direct install of Vista..but needs to be installed on top of a XP version?

The serials will probaly be different as well...so an upgrade serial will not work on a retail version and the other way around.
Just like XP, Vista will allow clean installs using the upgrade version, in fact there are only a few instances where you can do an upgrade. If you have 2000 or XP x64, for example, you HAVE to do a clean install no matter what.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/getready/upgradeinfo.mspx

You can reference that page for what can be upgraded to what without a clean install, and what requires a clean install.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.13/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#8
just think.. if M$ charged $30 a copy, who would bother pirating it? I know I'd own 3-4 licenses instead of....... probably not even one...
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,735 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,647
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#9
i think if they didnt charge so much i would owna legit copy vs the uhhh one i got from work ;)
 

spectre440

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
937 (0.20/day)
Likes
13
Location
Israel
Processor Athlon 64 x2 4000+ (65nm Brisbane)
Motherboard Abit AN-M2 (AM2) nForce 630a
Cooling Stock everything (for the time being), 2x120mm fans (intake & exhaust)
Memory 2GB (2x1024) OCZ Platinum PC2-6400 (4-4-4-15, 2T)
Video Card(s) PowerColor ATI HD 2600XT 256mb GDDR4 PCI-e
Storage Hitachi Deskstar 160GB SATA 3.0G/s, External USB2.0 WD 160GB
Display(s) LG 17' LCD (L1753TR)
Case HEC-Compucase 6A, black & grey
Audio Device(s) On-Board 7.1 (realtek)
Power Supply Spire Zeno 650W
Software WinXP Pro SP2 (32-bit, for the time being)
#10
i think if they didnt charge so much i would owna legit copy vs the uhhh one i got from work ;)
agreed.

300 US$ for a bloody OS is WAAAAAAAAY too much.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,557
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
I always laugh when people bitch about the price of OSes. They will pay hundreds of dollars on processors and video cards just for them to become obsolete in less then a year without batting an eye. However, when they have to pay $300 for an OS that will last them 5 times longer they bitch. And the $300 version isn't even really required, they could do just fine with the $99 version.

It is like people bitching about paying $40 for an air filter on their car, which will last 6 months to a year, then driving down the road and paying $50 for a tank of gas which might last a week if they are lucky and not saying a word.
 

KAJG

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2006
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
if you got windows xp u can upgrade to Windows Vista Home Basic for $99 nice!:)
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.07/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#13
True, but Vista Home Basic doesn't come with Aero, a "must have" :p.
 

KAJG

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2006
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
I always laugh when people bitch about the price of OSes. They will pay hundreds of dollars on processors and video cards just for them to become obsolete in less then a year without batting an eye. However, when they have to pay $300 for an OS that will last them 5 times longer they bitch. And the $300 version isn't even really required, they could do just fine with the $99 version.

It is like people bitching about paying $40 for an air filter on their car, which will last 6 months to a year, then driving down the road and paying $50 for a tank of gas which might last a week if they are lucky and not saying a word.
TRUE!
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#15

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,735 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,647
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#17
yeah but still i have pro (corp. edition) and it was free think they will make the same setup for vista
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,735 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,647
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#19
well well well if i had a card that had pixelshader 2 (a requirment for vista) maybe i would give a dam but for now xp pro is a
ok im thinking of swapping out to server 2k3 just to get away from all the holes windows has in it now what makes you think
i want a big bunch of new holes to replace the old ones ohh i know why b.c windows mimicked OS X and screwed up like
they always do but wait its got nice graphic menus that take up how much ram?????????? 512mb by themselves wat a waste
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#20
I'm probably getting a new DX10 video card and an X2 3800+ before I get Vista. Then keep the system for 2 years, then a new one, probably quad core.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,735 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,647
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#22
wow u dont get aero with Vista Home Basic:( that is what makes vista
it is still M$ what you expect good stuff in the low end product you crazy thats waste of money
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#23
What's the cheapest Vista that comes w/ Aero?
 

evil bill

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2006
Messages
369 (0.08/day)
Likes
14
Location
Scotland
System Name Main Rig | Second Rig
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo Wolfdale E8200 @ 3.2Ghz | Pentium 4 530J 3.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KC @ 1,600Mhz FSB | Asus P5P800
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR2-800 (2x2GB) 5-4-4-15 | Corsair 1GB XMS DDR-400 (2 x 512MB)
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT 512MB Pre-OCd @ 660/950 | Powercolor X850 Pro 256MB AGP
Storage 500GB WD Caviar SATA300 | Hitachi Deckstar 80GB SATA
Display(s) LG 22" W2252TQ
Case Antec 900 | ATX Window case
Audio Device(s) Onboard High Definition Audio | Soundblaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Hiper 730W HPU-5M730-SE | Tagan 480W
Software Vista 64-bit SP1 | Windows 7 32-bit RC1
#25