• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Vista gets a risky new feature: System wide "undelete".

Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.07/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#1
The most recent beta of Windows Vista shows that the "Volume Shadow Copy" service is enabled and set to run by default. This old feature that came with Windows Server 2003 and older versions of XP essentially backs up documents before modification. While this is good in the sense that you really can't lose old copies of files in Windows Vista, it is bad in the sense that your boss can catch you slacking off and deleting malware is a lot trickier then it usually would be. The feature is explained by Microsoft here, and can be disabled in the System Protection settings.


Source: ARS Technica
 

oldschool

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
104 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#2
No problem really. No one with a clue would touch Vista so it's a non-issue. Vista is for the clueless.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.07/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#3
Or for those who want DX10, but those people will probably be smart enough to disable most of the Vista features and just enjoy the DX10 goodness :).
 

creidiki

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
39 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Opteron 170
Motherboard ASUS A8R32-MVP
Cooling Swiftech STORM, EK FCX1900, Iwaki RD-30, Thermochill PA120.3, Yate Loon D14SM-12 140x25mm 62CFM 29dB
Memory 2x1 G.Skill HZ PC4000
Video Card(s) X1900XT
Storage Raptors
Case Stacker 810
Audio Device(s) X-Mystique 7.1, Prodigy 7.1LT
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W
Software XP Pro SP1
#4
I might move to it to be able to use more than 2GB ram without resorting to the mess that is XP64... but I doubt it.
 

Canuto

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
2,153 (0.51/day)
Likes
4
Location
Portugal
Processor Pentium D 930 @3.6Ghz
Motherboard Biostar 945P-A7A(8.0)
Cooling Stock cooling, 1x92mm outtake fan
Memory Infineon 2x512Mb DDR2-533 @641Mhz 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Powercolor X550 512Mb Hipermemory @510/261Mhz
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 200Gb
Display(s) iMax 17" LCD
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC'97 ALC655
Power Supply LC Power 550w Silent Giant GREEN POWER
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x86
#5
Why don't we all move to linux?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.07/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#6
Because game makers don't exactly support linux ;).
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
654 (0.15/day)
Likes
18
Location
Newcastle upon Tyne
Processor Intel Core I7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30
Memory 32GB DDR3 (16GB Corsair XMS3 / 16GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical)
Video Card(s) AMD 280X
Storage Samsung 840 / Crucial BX100
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T / BenQ EW2430
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 831
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair 750W HX Modular
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Professional
#7
coz after finding out what a pain in the bottom it can be after being taught it at uni

however looking at vista doesn't seem so unappealing anymore lol

EDIT: and game makers don't support it as zekrahminator just said
 

Canuto

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
2,153 (0.51/day)
Likes
4
Location
Portugal
Processor Pentium D 930 @3.6Ghz
Motherboard Biostar 945P-A7A(8.0)
Cooling Stock cooling, 1x92mm outtake fan
Memory Infineon 2x512Mb DDR2-533 @641Mhz 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Powercolor X550 512Mb Hipermemory @510/261Mhz
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 200Gb
Display(s) iMax 17" LCD
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC'97 ALC655
Power Supply LC Power 550w Silent Giant GREEN POWER
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x86
#8
Gaming isn't everything you know but it's what pushes forward this industry.
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
654 (0.15/day)
Likes
18
Location
Newcastle upon Tyne
Processor Intel Core I7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30
Memory 32GB DDR3 (16GB Corsair XMS3 / 16GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical)
Video Card(s) AMD 280X
Storage Samsung 840 / Crucial BX100
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T / BenQ EW2430
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 831
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair 750W HX Modular
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Professional
#9
Yeah we know that. When I'm doing important WORK I'd rather be using linux or mac but even with this I still use windows because otherwise I wouldn't be able to play games, I'd rather take a slight hit in one area then lose the ability to perform an entire task in this case gaming.

Don't disregard windows entirely, the shear range of hardware it supports is far beyond that of linux and mac and (this is not including vista which we are yet to see the finished version) if set up and maintained correctly windows is a very solid operating system, its just more open when something goes wrong.
 

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.10/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#10
It's a way for a functional "undelete", but what surprises me is?

Microsoft just "bought out" WinTernals!

(& their 'sister site' (of their freeware) in SysInternals has "Fundelete" which is a decent working undelete tool that does the job)

So that said... it surprises me they just haven't implemented undelete features using its codebase!

APK
 

Aegis

New Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2006
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#11
It gets worst than that. This "new" feature is really just an existing feature (Volume Shadow Copy) renamed, as are most of Vista's other "new" features.