• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

windows vista home premium 32bit

Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
609 (0.15/day)
Likes
9
Location
Exeter, UK
System Name The 831
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 with X2O Delta CPU Waterblock
Motherboard ASUS P5N-E SLI
Cooling 8 x 120mm fans and X2O Delta CPU Waterblock X2O 400 12V Pump/Reservoir 240mm Radiator 10/8mm Tubing
Memory OCZ SLI Ready 4Gb PC2-6400 DDR2-800 5-4-4-15 (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 8800 GTS OC 320MB
Storage Western Digital 160GB SATA and a Western Digital 250GB SATA
Display(s) 22" ViewSonic Widescreen LCD
Case COOLERMASTER STACKER 831
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply OCZ ModStream 520w ATX2.2
Software WINDOWS XP HOME SP3
#1
lo all ive just installed vista and i love it! it found all my drivers i dident even need to put my mobo drivers disk in! any way im useing windows firewall atm is it any good or not if not any idears?

for anti-virus im useing avast! anti virus any good?

thx
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
654 (0.15/day)
Likes
18
Location
Newcastle upon Tyne
Processor Intel Core I7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30
Memory 32GB DDR3 (16GB Corsair XMS3 / 16GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical)
Video Card(s) AMD 280X
Storage Samsung 840 / Crucial BX100
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T / BenQ EW2430
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 831
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair 750W HX Modular
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Professional
#2
you'll be ffine with avast as you av, however i would strongly advise getting a firewall as the in built one is pants.

The COMODO firewall is free and is the only one out there that passes every current test

Download Here

Hope that helps :)

EDIT: It has a feature in called defence+ which monitors everything in your system from registry entries to programs being allowed to accept input from the keyboard.. you may wish to disable this as while its a fantastic security feature it can be a bit paranoid (and annoying) at some times.
 

Scott1

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
126 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
IL
System Name Scotts Rig?
Processor 1.7 GHZ P4
Motherboard Intel D845WN
Cooling Stock Intel Fan
Memory 1GB 1X512MB, 2X256MB
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon 9800PRO
Storage 30GB WesternDigital
Display(s) Acer 15in OLD LCD
Case Biege.
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply 300W
Software Windows XP
#3
Is is 32bit SP1? does it read 4GB of ram? because im questioning getting 32 or 64
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
609 (0.15/day)
Likes
9
Location
Exeter, UK
System Name The 831
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 with X2O Delta CPU Waterblock
Motherboard ASUS P5N-E SLI
Cooling 8 x 120mm fans and X2O Delta CPU Waterblock X2O 400 12V Pump/Reservoir 240mm Radiator 10/8mm Tubing
Memory OCZ SLI Ready 4Gb PC2-6400 DDR2-800 5-4-4-15 (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 8800 GTS OC 320MB
Storage Western Digital 160GB SATA and a Western Digital 250GB SATA
Display(s) 22" ViewSonic Widescreen LCD
Case COOLERMASTER STACKER 831
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply OCZ ModStream 520w ATX2.2
Software WINDOWS XP HOME SP3
#4
yeah its 32 bit and yes it does read 4gb
 

jonmcc33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
580 (0.16/day)
Likes
40
Location
Fort Myers, FL
System Name BLACK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E @ 1600FSB
Cooling Thermalright XP-90 w/92mm ADDA fan
Memory 4GB Hynix DDR2-667 @ 800MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon X1900XT
Storage (2) 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) Samsung 225BW
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows Vista Business x64 SP1
#5
you'll be ffine with avast as you av, however i would strongly advise getting a firewall as the in built one is pants.

The COMODO firewall is free and is the only one out there that passes every current test

Download Here

Hope that helps :)

EDIT: It has a feature in called defence+ which monitors everything in your system from registry entries to programs being allowed to accept input from the keyboard.. you may wish to disable this as while its a fantastic security feature it can be a bit paranoid (and annoying) at some times.
The built-in Windows firewall is fine as it does block inbound attacks. In regards to outbound, using Avast 4.8 has anti-spyware and anti-rootkit as a feature. It does work as well.

No need to waste money on 3rd party firewall software. It's almost as bad as wasting money on 3rd party defragging software.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#6
I would second COMODO firewall,have used it in the past and is very good.

Also no need to waste money as it is FREE!!

Windows firewall will suffice if you are stuck,better than none,but you will be able to tweak COMODO much more to your liking.
 
Last edited:

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,956 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,076
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#7
yeah its 32 bit and yes it does read 4gb
It'll read and state that you have 4GB installed on 32-bit, but will only utilize up to 4GB max...with -276 reserved, -video memory = ammount of actual RAM windows can access...when I was on 32-bit, I read 3.25gb for example (4.0 - .27 (275mb) for reserved and -.5 (512mb) for video memory. Shouldn't be too big of a deal as over 3GB should be plenty sufficient for most...if not I think you can still get 64-bit for $15 from MS if you purchased a copy of x32! I'm loving Vista Ult x64!

I've primarily used Vista's firewall for now...but I've been looking at Comodo for a while and may give it a shot. I don't really have issues, but I don't want them to start either. Gotta say the last 3 weeks with Vista's firewall has been issue free tho!

:toast:
 

jonmcc33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
580 (0.16/day)
Likes
40
Location
Fort Myers, FL
System Name BLACK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E @ 1600FSB
Cooling Thermalright XP-90 w/92mm ADDA fan
Memory 4GB Hynix DDR2-667 @ 800MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon X1900XT
Storage (2) 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) Samsung 225BW
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows Vista Business x64 SP1
#8
It'll read and state that you have 4GB installed on 32-bit, but will only utilize up to 4GB max...with -276 reserved, -video memory = ammount of actual RAM windows can access...when I was on 32-bit, I read 3.25gb for example (4.0 - .27 (275mb) for reserved and -.5 (512mb) for video memory. Shouldn't be too big of a deal as over 3GB should be plenty sufficient for most...if not I think you can still get 64-bit for $15 from MS if you purchased a copy of x32! I'm loving Vista Ult x64!

I've primarily used Vista's firewall for now...but I've been looking at Comodo for a while and may give it a shot. I don't really have issues, but I don't want them to start either. Gotta say the last 3 weeks with Vista's firewall has been issue free tho!

:toast:
You won't have any issues with the Vista firewall. It's actually different than the Windows XP firewall. Go to Start and in Start Search type in "firewall". You will see something come up for Windows Firewall with Advanced Security. In there you can see how you can configure outbound protection as well.