• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows Vista leads to increased XP sales

Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#1
When Windows Vista was released, Microsoft touted it as the most advanced, best version of Windows yet. And so far, it has lived up to it's word. Unfortunately, Windows Vista has an enemy that even the brightest engineers at Microsoft could not combat: utter incompatibility with XP programs that developers can not move to Windows Vista, for reasons unknown. This incompatibility has recently brought XP back from the grave Microsoft might want to imagine XP falling into. Windows XP is now available in product lines from such powerful OEMs as HP, Dell, Lenovo, and Toshiba.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
2,570 (0.66/day)
Likes
92
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120 (with Scythe SFF21E)
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 CAS4 DHX
Video Card(s) PALiT 9800GTX 512MB PCI-E
Storage WD2500AAKS, WD1600YS, WD1200JD, WD400EB
Display(s) LG L1920P, Viewsonic VA520
Case Lian-Li A05b (with two 120mm Yate Loon D12SM)
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Vista Business 32-bit/XP Pro 32-bit dual-boot
#2
And people are sticking to 32-bit.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#3


Its only gonna get worse.

Businesses working on corporate wide transitions are already locked into XP, so sales are still going to go up.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2006
Messages
4,413 (1.06/day)
Likes
147
Location
England
Processor Intel Core i7-7700K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix Z270E Gaming
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 4x 8GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX @ 2133MHz
Video Card(s) 2x NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti FEs
Storage 512GB SSD, 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) AOC U2879VF, AOC G2260VWQ6
Case Corsair 750D Airflow Edition
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850G
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#4
Indeed. With my systems, I'm using 64-bit, as long as everything is compatible. And GJS, since when has 2x512MB RAM equalled 1.5GB?
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
2,570 (0.66/day)
Likes
92
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120 (with Scythe SFF21E)
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 CAS4 DHX
Video Card(s) PALiT 9800GTX 512MB PCI-E
Storage WD2500AAKS, WD1600YS, WD1200JD, WD400EB
Display(s) LG L1920P, Viewsonic VA520
Case Lian-Li A05b (with two 120mm Yate Loon D12SM)
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Vista Business 32-bit/XP Pro 32-bit dual-boot
#5
Oops. Meant to hit a 3. Doesn't matter now. I'm not using that memory anymore.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#6
If they can iron out the major bugs and get the hardware and other software vendors can get 64 bit going...it wouldnt be so bad. Id love to use 64 bit...but there are still alot of stuff not compatible with it.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
1,050 (0.27/day)
Likes
114
Location
indiana
Processor c2d e8400@ 3.8ghz 24/7
Motherboard Abit IP-35e 80$ lol
Cooling zalman cnps9700 led
Memory 2 x 2 gig patriot viper
Video Card(s) evga Gtx 285 oc
Storage 2 x 300gig sata seagate 7200.10 in raid 0/ 1.5TB for backup
Display(s) acer 24" TFT LCD AL2416WBSD
Case Antec 902
Audio Device(s) XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro series
Power Supply ocz gamextreme 700w
Software windows 7 ultimate
#7


Its only gonna get worse.

Businesses working on corporate wide transitions are already locked into XP, so sales are still going to go up.
Lmao most major corporations still use win 2000 :roll: :roll:
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#9
Lmao most major corporations still use win 2000 :roll: :roll:
Yup, all of Northrup Grumman is still on 2000 with the exception of certain people that require a xp pc, even then they still get a 2000 computer on top of the xp computer. I think they're planning to transition to xp....in a year or two....talk about behind on the times.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2007
Messages
1,397 (0.35/day)
Likes
101
Location
Edmonds, Washington
System Name Computer
Processor Intel i7 920 @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage II Extreme
Cooling Air + Corsair Hydro H80i
Memory 16GB Corsair
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX970 G1
Storage Samsung 500GB 850 evo & WD Raptor 1TB, Thank You @ Linus from LinusTechTips for it :)
Display(s) Asus 24"
Case Corsair 600T
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply XFX 750W
Software Windows 7
#10
hahah thats funny. but i still love Vista and think its better then xp in every way i use it.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
2,570 (0.66/day)
Likes
92
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120 (with Scythe SFF21E)
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 CAS4 DHX
Video Card(s) PALiT 9800GTX 512MB PCI-E
Storage WD2500AAKS, WD1600YS, WD1200JD, WD400EB
Display(s) LG L1920P, Viewsonic VA520
Case Lian-Li A05b (with two 120mm Yate Loon D12SM)
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Vista Business 32-bit/XP Pro 32-bit dual-boot
#11
I'll be building a Vista rig someday just to play the newer games. I already pre-ordered Crysis. :(

But I'll be keeping my current rig for a long time because more stuff runs on it without problems.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2005
Messages
224 (0.05/day)
Likes
23
Location
vt
System Name APleasure@(to_use)
Processor X5660
Motherboard msi-x58-plat
Cooling monsoon 3 Dual 120fans
Memory 2x4 gig Gskill 1600 (one slot died)dual only
Video Card(s) R9 290 Powercolor PCS+
Storage 128gig Samsung D830 2x1terabyte seagates Raid0
Display(s) acer 22in 1920x1080 120Hertz
Case Thermaltake V9 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy SE(X-FI Driver-Mod)
Power Supply ocz 700 modular
Software W8.1 64Bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11496246
#12
I installed vista 3 weeks ago its nice but no support when it does tweak out.I posted in the vista support thread hahaha what a joke!!!!For no reason last night my video card overclock went from 600/950 to 188-398 spent seven hours uninstalled everything new drivers and still not one program will work to overclock and its stuck at 188/398.Thanks but no thanks now i have to go back to xp installing all my programs.Aslo for the same overclock as xp i need .175 more cpu volts i posted over two weeks in the vista thread not one person even tried to help great support thread!!!!!
 

my_name

New Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
In A house
#13
I changed by everyday business machine to vista business from xp pro, and I love vista business-no complaints on that. But I have had a few complaints with vista home edition.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,147 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,299
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#14
where my dad works & from what ive seen here on my travels in the Uk, people are still using 2000 or XP Pro


Personally tho. after obtaining a *ahem* 'borrowed' working copy of vista & running it for a few days, Im going to be sticking with my XP Pro until after this coming Christmas. unless theres something which desparately needs Vista to run which I need. I will get a Legit OEM copy when I pic up the parts for my new system

so all in all im not really impressed with vista just yet
 

d44ve

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2007
Messages
2,520 (0.65/day)
Likes
299
Processor Intel E6600 @ 4.2GHZ Wo0t!
Motherboard ASUS Striker Extreme & eVGA 680i A1
Cooling Phase Change !!
Memory OCZ SLI 1066MHZ (2GB)
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTX
Storage Western Digital 320 GB
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Lian-Li V2000
Software Vista Ultimate
#15
We are having trouble getting HP workstations with XP on them.... they are shipping them all with VISTA now
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#16
We are having trouble getting HP workstations with XP on them.... they are shipping them all with VISTA now
Because you're using XP.



I just unpacked 10x Dell laptops all with XP.

XP: +10
Vista: +0
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
2,570 (0.66/day)
Likes
92
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120 (with Scythe SFF21E)
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 CAS4 DHX
Video Card(s) PALiT 9800GTX 512MB PCI-E
Storage WD2500AAKS, WD1600YS, WD1200JD, WD400EB
Display(s) LG L1920P, Viewsonic VA520
Case Lian-Li A05b (with two 120mm Yate Loon D12SM)
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Vista Business 32-bit/XP Pro 32-bit dual-boot
#17
Usually if you call the company they'll let you use XP. Dell has it through their website now.