• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows Vista Tech Support

Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
This thread is for aiding in the technical support of Windows Vista. Those who own Windows Vista may use this thread for the purpose of seeking aid in any problems which may arise.

As more an more users adopt the new OS undoubtedly problems will arise, and be more frequent for an extended period of time. This is a fact not speaking in regards to the quality of the product, but simply as fact, that any large scale adoption of any integral platform results in in anything from user error, to undiscovered programing errors, and other issues. The purpose of this thread is to provide a centralized place for technical exploration, and troubleshooting of any Vista related problems that may arise during the course of Vista transition.

-If you only wish to discredit Windows Vista, do so in another thread, this thread is for those seeking help, and who have most likely already purchased Windows Vista.

Hopefully this won't get much use. Good luck all! :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.10/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#2
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...tartDate=3/6/2006&period=30&sortCriteria=date

:)

* I'd like to post that link, because DAILY, it posts updates for ALL of Microsoft's stuff, including the LOAD of updates for VISTA that appeared on 01/29/2007 onwards (& even a few before that, but you have to look)...

APK

P.S.=> It orders downloads for MS stuff by OS/app type involved, & CHRONOLOGICALLY, so you load them, in the right order & what-not... convenient! apk
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#3
Vista launch press coverage inaccuracies, corrected

i hope this aint the wrong place to put this,but this seems an appropriate place.

read this-
http://www.tweakvista.com/article39075.aspx

main site for vista,very informative-

http://www.tweakvista.com/

sorry just found this about dx10 and vista/xp

Q/I reinstalled DirectX 9.0c and now I am wondering if, when a DX10 compatible
game comes out, will I be able to install DX10 again even though I have 9.0c
installed.
A/Yes, you will. You still have DX10 installed, but you also have the components from 9.0c that the games need.

More correctly: Windows Vista includes a DirectX runtime that supports
Direct3D 9.0c, Direct3D9Ex, and Direct3D 10, as well as emulating older
versions of Direct3D. The game's copy of D3DX9 is needed, but everything
else is already there.

Read "Graphics APIs in Windows Vista"
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb173477.aspx and check out the
latest DirectX FAQ http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb219721.aspx

Q: Will DirectX 10 be available for Windows XP?

A: No. Windows Vista, which has DirectX 10, includes an updated DirectX
runtime based on the runtime in Windows XP SP2 (DirectX 9.0c) with changes
to work with the new Windows Display Driver Model (WDDM) and the new audio
driver stack, and with other updates in the operating system. In addition to
Direct3D 9, Windows Vista supports two new interfaces when the correct video
hardware and drivers are present: Direct3D9Ex and Direct3D10.
Since these new interfaces rely on the WDDM technology, they will never be
available on earlier versions of Windows. All the other changes made to
DirectX technologies for Windows Vista are also specific to the new version
of Windows. The name DirectX 10 is misleading in that many technologies
shipping in the DirectX SDK (XACT, XINPUT, D3DX) are not encompassed by this
version number. So, referring to the version number of the DirectX runtime
as a whole has lost much of its meaning, even for 9.0c. The DirectX
Diagnostic Tool (DXdiag.exe) on Windows Vista does report DirectX 10, but
this really only refers to Direct3D 10.

Q: What changes were made to the DirectX runtime for Windows Vista?

A: The primary changes were to support the new Windows Display Driver Model.
For details on the new driver model, impacts on Direct3D 9, and on the two
new graphics interfaces, Direct3D 9Ex and Direct3D 10, review Graphics APIs
in Windows Vista.

DirectSound was updated to expose the capabilities of the new Windows Vista
audio driver stack, which supports multi-channel software buffers. The
legacy Direct3D Retained Mode API was completely removed from Windows Vista.
DirectPlay Voice was also removed, as well as DirectPlay's NAT Helper.

--
Chuck Walbourn
SDE, Game Technology Group
 
Last edited:

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#4
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
lol, everyone is scared to post. I'll change it. It just seems to me almost every Vista related thread gets turned into a flame war. That's all I wanted to prevent. :toast:
 

Riceman

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Motherboard DFI Lanparty NF4
Cooling Air
Memory 1GB Corsair DDR400 RAM (512 Dual Channel)
Video Card(s) nVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS
Storage Western Digital 250GB SATA
Display(s) Samsung 20" LCDTFT
Case XBlade Black
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Noisetaker 420W
Software Windows Vista
#6
I'm having an annoying issue with sound in Vista Business. After 10-20 minutes of normal audio, it starts to sound like it's coming from underwater and the problem gets progressively worse.

I know they completely changed the way audio works in Vista from XP, but shouldn't sound....work? This is onboard sound, with the latest drivers. Any ideas?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,270 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#7
Well not sure if this goes here but it is kinda a vista problem.......how do i fix my mbr? at least i think thats the problem you see i dual booted vista and xp but now my beta key isnt active so i wipped the partition vista was on however now when i reboot it still shows the options vista or xp i choose vista and it just says files are missing....well...obviously..but i dont know how to fix this so it just streight boots any ideas?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,909 (0.65/day)
Likes
657
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#8
put a xp cd in and go to recovery and type fixmbr then fixboot that should git rid of the vista bootloader

< vista guru
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#9
A quick google brought this up...
(Obviously this has only been tested in the vista beta.)

You will need a Windows XP Home or Windows XP Professional CD to be able to do this.

Check that the BIOS is set so you can boot off your CD\DVD-ROM drive and put in the Windows XP CD. Restart your computer so it will boot from it.

When it comes up with text: Boot from CD.... press ENTER or any other key to boot from your Windows XP CD. It should now start scanning your hardware.

When it comes up with the blue screen, press R for Recovery Console.

It will come up with a black screen with white writing. Give it a moment to load the default US keyboard. If you are using a different type press Enter and follow the instructions.

You may have to type your Administrator Password to be able to use the Recovery Console; if prompted please do or you will not be able to continue.

Now you should be at a prompt where you should be able to type. Type in the following commands:

1. type FIXMBR and press enter
2. Press Y if asked

(fixmbr means: fix masterboot record)

3. next type: FIXBOOT and press enter
4. Press Y if asked.
5. When you can continue, restart your computer
6. Remember to take the Windows XP CD out of your drive and it should be fixed.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,270 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#10
kk thanks guys
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#11
could somebody in the know;) have a look at this so maybe we can figure out what processes can be killed in vista? there is looooooooads more than on xp pro(33).




thanks
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#12
I remember in the beta it was wise to right click on anything and run as administrator for things to work right.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#13
i just thought i'd say that it is not true about only been able to activate vista oem once.i reinstalled it today onto my raid 0 drives.i could not activate it on the internet,but it activated fine over the phone.fair enuff its a pian doing it over the phone,but it proves it can be activated more than once.
 

bhaskar15

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
146 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Processor E6300 @ 2.13 ghz |&| E6300 2.13 ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B |&| Asus P5B
Cooling Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro|&|2x80mm fans in-case
Memory 2x 512 mb 677 Ram DDR2 |&| 1gb Ram DDR2 677mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7950GT 256mb |&| ???
Storage Seagate 80GB |&| Seagate 80GB
Display(s) Acer 19" LCD |&| ViewSonic VP920b 19"
Case XION III Black/Green |&| A plain case...
Audio Device(s) Onboard |&| Dead..so onboard
Power Supply Antec TruePower Trio |&| OCZ GameXstream 600W
Software XP Pro 32bit, XP Pro 64bit, MS Vista Ultimate (REAL)
#14
The game explorer in Vista is a nifty improvement, but it uses ESRB Rating. Can we make it so to use other rating systems ?
 

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.10/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#15
could somebody in the know;) have a look at this so maybe we can figure out what processes can be killed in vista? there is looooooooads more than on xp pro(33).
Heck - TEST IT YOURSELF MAN, using services.msc, & rebooting after services changes IF NEED BE, setting them to MANUAL if need be (rather than outright disabled), or using msconfig (if it still exists in VISTA that is) to do it for you w/ a custom startup for testing using it in lieu of services.msc!

:)

Not to be rude telling you "TEST IT YOURSELF", but, think about it:

* You COULD be the first person (here @ least) to add a sticky regarding tuning VISTA (vs. the sticky thread here for tuning Windows 2000/XP/Server 2003 in that manner)...

(After all - You probably have a DECENT handle on how & what to do in XP, & I'd wager a LOT of it applies to VISTA as well - you could use it as a 'starting point reference' & work on it from there, especially regarding new & diff. services VISTA may possess, that its predecessors/ancestors in 2000/XP/Server 2003 do NOT have!)

APK

P.S.=> THINK ABOUT IT! I'd do it myself, were I using VISTA... apk
 
Last edited:

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.10/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#16

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.10/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#17

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#18
i reinstalled vista today on my 2x80gb raid 0,without a glitch alex.i just told it too install on top of xp,and it works fine.

there is deffo no need for the floppy now,no f6'ing to install the raid driver like i had to with xp pro.
 

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.10/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#19
i reinstalled vista today on my 2x80gb raid 0,without a glitch alex.i just told it too install on top of xp,and it works fine.
Cool - I just put up that URL above about using RAID w/ VISTA for others' referenece if needed is all... just in case, so they have a "template/guide" of SOMEKIND, @ least, if needed.

there is deffo no need for the floppy now,no f6'ing to install the raid driver like i had to with xp pro.
Yea, this I was aware of & pointed it out in another thread here recently in fact... good thing by ALL means imo!

APK

P.S.=> Tigger69 - DO consider doing a "VISTA SERVICES TUNING GUIDE" since you DO have access to VISTA's final model, hands-on... seriously! apk
 

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.10/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#20
Something On The Hardware Compatiblity List (hcl) Side, For Vista Only

ReadyBoost Compatibility - USB and other flash memory devices

http://www.grantgibson.co.uk/misc/readyboost/

:)

* That's a list of "Ready Boost" compatible USB FlashMemory compatible thumbdrives, that are certified to work w/ VISTA's "SuperFetch" diskdrive caching abilities...

APK
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.91/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#21
anyone know why vista's disk defragmenter doesnt show you how bad your drives are fragmented? and is there a way to have it show the drives fragmentation?


APK-

what do you think of readyboost? i have a lexar jd mercury 1gb,thought about using it for ready boost,but would that actually speed up vista?
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.91/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#22
i have a slight problem with vista...trying to play tiger woods online it crashes because of internet explorer 7...tried googling the problem nothing comes up..i get some sort of script error,i attached a photo of my error:D

 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#23
i have put another gb of 533 ddr2 in my machine(for testing) and set it at stock(coz the 533 wont oc) and the differance is amazing.2142 is MUCH better,and in my experience now,i would say a decnt spec machine with 2gb of ram will show no differance in gaming performance than a similar xp machine.

all my games run sweet.
 

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.10/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#24
anyone know why vista's disk defragmenter doesnt show you how bad your drives are fragmented? and is there a way to have it show the drives fragmentation?
No, because from what I understand of it, & only anecdotally (I don't use VISTA yet), that's how it is now... lol, "dumbed-down" a bit TOO much, imo, in that the app got dumber if anything - progress reports are excellent for disk I/O operations imo, of any kind, & in an app of that type.

I wonder - do the ExecSoft &/or Raxco PerfectDisk (& other 3rd party disk defragmentors' programs) work on VISTA yet?

APK-
what do you think of readyboost? i have a lexar jd mercury 1gb,thought about using it for ready boost,but would that actually speed up vista?
Don't use VISTA myself, but... if you look in my signature, I use something a BIT (sort of in how I apply it) like how its supposed to work, using RAM as my diskdrives, via an SSD... apk
 

mysticjon

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
436 (0.10/day)
Likes
4
Location
CA, USA
Processor AMD Phenom x4 9850 black edition
Cooling big water 745
Memory Kingston 4gb(1gbx4) ddr2 (dual channel)
Video Card(s) ati sapphire radeon hd 6850
Storage 2tb
Display(s) samsung 226bw 22 inch wide lcd screen
Case apeiva qpack2
Audio Device(s) creative soundblaster X-fi fatal1ty series
Power Supply silent pro 600watt modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
#25
could somebody in the know;) have a look at this so maybe we can figure out what processes can be killed in vista? there is looooooooads more than on xp pro(33).




thanks
yeah u dont need that trustedinstall thingy, u cna kill like the sidebar if u dont use it or need it, but other than that, most of the things running, is necessary, u cna always do the run-msconfig.exe and select/deselctecd, which stuff u wnat or dont wnat to run