• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows Vista Tech Support

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#26
Here are the processes I have running:



If you want I can post a list of how my services are setup, but obviously that varies depending on what you need.

Edit: that includes my antivirus and Logitech Setpoint - everything is working fine and pretty quick
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#27
you've got loads less than mine jimmy.

can you post how they are setup please? it will give me a few pointers.have you disabled some then? i 'ave'nt got a clue in vista as to what HAS to be running or not.thx:D
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#28
you've got loads less than mine jimmy.

can you post how they are setup please? it will give me a few pointers.have you disabled some then? i 'ave'nt got a clue in vista as to what HAS to be running or not.thx:D
Just writing up what I've done so far - should upload it by this evening.

Could I ask a favour from you? Would someone who has Vista installed be able to export the registry key "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CURRENTCONTROLSET\SERVICES\WSCSVC" and upload it to techPowerUp!?

It's related to Windows Security Center (which I don't use) but I have deleted it and although it's no longer too important to me I think I should have disabled it another way (I disabled the service but it kept on giving me messages so I got rid of that). Don't worry too much if you can't, but it would be useful. :toast:
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#29
there ya go m8.
 

Attachments

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#30
Cheers, tigger, worked great :toast:

I'll post the info about how my services are setup in a bit, quite a bit to write about though - there are so many :ohwell:
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#31
np m8:D
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#32

BXtreme

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2007
Messages
1,324 (0.33/day)
Likes
1
Location
Kolkata, India
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 ghz|| Core2 T5250
Motherboard Asus P6N Platinum || 965GM
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Kingston 2x1gb DDR2 677mhz || 2x1gb 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTS 640mb || Geforce 8600GT M
Storage Seagate 500GB Sata || 160gb
Display(s) Samsung 30" HD LCD || 15" lcd (laptop)
Case A not-so-known brand case w/ two fans and some blue lightings
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Mac OS X Leopard, Linux Mint 4.0, and all windoze...geez...
#33
xcuse me, i'm having a problem with winrar and Vista. when I right-click and click "extract to.."
then it doesn't do anything !! I have to open the file, then the allow or cancel confirmations and then clicking extract. this totally bloats the shell extension functions of winrar.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#34
disable the uac.i have uac disabled and winrar works fine.it is 3.42 corp edition iam using btw.
 

BXtreme

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2007
Messages
1,324 (0.33/day)
Likes
1
Location
Kolkata, India
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 ghz|| Core2 T5250
Motherboard Asus P6N Platinum || 965GM
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Kingston 2x1gb DDR2 677mhz || 2x1gb 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTS 640mb || Geforce 8600GT M
Storage Seagate 500GB Sata || 160gb
Display(s) Samsung 30" HD LCD || 15" lcd (laptop)
Case A not-so-known brand case w/ two fans and some blue lightings
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Mac OS X Leopard, Linux Mint 4.0, and all windoze...geez...
#35
disable the uac.i have uac disabled and winrar works fine.it is 3.42 corp edition iam using btw.
er, whats the uac ? i.e full form ?
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64

BXtreme

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2007
Messages
1,324 (0.33/day)
Likes
1
Location
Kolkata, India
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 ghz|| Core2 T5250
Motherboard Asus P6N Platinum || 965GM
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Kingston 2x1gb DDR2 677mhz || 2x1gb 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTS 640mb || Geforce 8600GT M
Storage Seagate 500GB Sata || 160gb
Display(s) Samsung 30" HD LCD || 15" lcd (laptop)
Case A not-so-known brand case w/ two fans and some blue lightings
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Mac OS X Leopard, Linux Mint 4.0, and all windoze...geez...
#37
when I type secpol.msc, it says does'nt exist !
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#38
msconfig,tools,disable uac.
 

BXtreme

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2007
Messages
1,324 (0.33/day)
Likes
1
Location
Kolkata, India
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 ghz|| Core2 T5250
Motherboard Asus P6N Platinum || 965GM
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Kingston 2x1gb DDR2 677mhz || 2x1gb 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTS 640mb || Geforce 8600GT M
Storage Seagate 500GB Sata || 160gb
Display(s) Samsung 30" HD LCD || 15" lcd (laptop)
Case A not-so-known brand case w/ two fans and some blue lightings
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Mac OS X Leopard, Linux Mint 4.0, and all windoze...geez...
#39
Joined
May 4, 2006
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Mountain Home, AR/ Conway, AR
Processor Intel Pentium 4 3.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P4C800
Memory 4 x 512 DDR
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon X800 Pro AGP
Storage 280 Gig and 80 Gig Seagate HDDs
Display(s) Samsung 915n
Case Alienware's standard case (Blue)
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#40
The two biggest problems I've had is my sound card stopped working, but a quick re-install of the drivers fixed that. I'm also having trouble with imbedded WMA videos loading in Firefox, because it is trying to use Windows Media Player 10, rather than 11. That's not a big problem either, I just haven't got around to fixing it. Does anyone else have an extrememly long log off and shut down time though?
 

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.11/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#41
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=254128#post254128

A tweaks thread for Vista.

Only has the services at the moment - be careful if you use it because it is all still new to be.
Ahhh, cool... yea, you DID startup doing a "services tuning guide" testing thread here, & that's a GOOD PLACE TO START OUT FROM, doing this type of 'madness-N-lunacy', but, well worth it.

I was AMAZED @ the amount of services VISTA runs, by default, shown here & in that other URL thread... VISTA, by default, runs even MORE services than Windows Server 2003 (default workstation/pro setup that is, before adding server-class apps like IIS to it) has by default... which is quite a lot more than XP has in fact.

It'll take you some time, but it will be worth doing/testing for services, & then, were I you? I would start trying the 'hacks/tweaks' noted in the System Optimization thread here that work for 2000/XP/Server 2003.

(Tweak/tune/test for speed @ first, & MAYBE, for registry related security hacks as well - there ARE those, such as disabling DCOM/COM+ remote access for instance (just one of MANY possible mind you for added security)).

I would wager, again as I said in that thread above iirc, that MOST of what works for 2000/XP/Server 2003, registry hacks-wise for speed (such as numerous memory/thread/cpu based ones) AND security WILL work for VISTA - makes sense, if you think about it:

It's "core code" IS based off of Windows Server 2003...

In fact, if/when you ever get to THAT stage (past just services tuning)? If you want some .reg files that have ALL of what I personally do to a 2000/XP/Server 2003 rig?? Let me know... there are around 20 .reg files, FULLY INTERNALLY DOCUMENTED on each setting as to what they do, w/ supporting URL's from Microsoft inside them to validate the descriptions I used!

Took me around 1 year to build those .reg files like that, but they are awesome, save time, & fully internally documented (best part).

LET ME KNOW.

APK

P.S.=> Honestly: Were I running VISTA now, I would join you guys in testing this stuff & add a TON of things that either work, or not, from the "System Optimization Thread" here & the specific parts I added to it... which DO go a great deal above & beyond what that thread lists, because some of it is PURE .reg file hacking stuff, for speed & security, that most folks do NOT get into... but, they work!

(& only reason I have not bought VISTA yet is that I had to repair the furnace here because it broke (not all of it, it is 'component based' like PC's &/or cars are, like most stuff today is) in part (thermocouple & pilot assembly) & ran me $100 ONLY, thank God, but that is ENOUGH to 'upset my budget & savings schedule plan' I use, to make me 'hold off' still... plus, I have to admit:

I do NOT like the "DRM" b.s. &/or OpenGL being 'phased out' to do API call translation to DirectX 10 as it does, slowing OpenGL games down (I only play IDSoftware games really, & they are OpenGL) too much, & making them look "phunny"... this honestly DOES bother me - because it makes NO sense to 'cripple' parts of a NEW OS, vs. its earlier predecessors. That is 'downgrading' it imo.

Plus, I like Windows Server 2003, a LOT!

However, I am ITCHING to try VISTA...

In fact, I just got off the phone w/ a buddy who has it on a gateway laptop he JUST got today (ATI video integrated, & CoreDuo CPU by INTEL) & he likes it a lot... & so did my other buddy who's house he was @, & they have similar tastes to mine, so it's got me 'itching to try VISTA', just listening to them talk about it w/ me on the horn as we spoke, they were BOTH pretty "enthusiastic' (one who owns laptop is typical end-user, & buddy who's place he was at is more of a "power-user")... apk
 
Last edited:

BXtreme

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2007
Messages
1,324 (0.33/day)
Likes
1
Location
Kolkata, India
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 ghz|| Core2 T5250
Motherboard Asus P6N Platinum || 965GM
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Kingston 2x1gb DDR2 677mhz || 2x1gb 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 GTS 640mb || Geforce 8600GT M
Storage Seagate 500GB Sata || 160gb
Display(s) Samsung 30" HD LCD || 15" lcd (laptop)
Case A not-so-known brand case w/ two fans and some blue lightings
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Mac OS X Leopard, Linux Mint 4.0, and all windoze...geez...
#42
The two biggest problems I've had is my sound card stopped working, but a quick re-install of the drivers fixed that. I'm also having trouble with imbedded WMA videos loading in Firefox, because it is trying to use Windows Media Player 10, rather than 11. That's not a big problem either, I just haven't got around to fixing it. Does anyone else have an extrememly long log off and shut down time though?
nope, mine boots fast.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#43
@jimmy,i have discovered a problem.

like on xp pro,i changed the location of my documents by right clicking the my docs on the start menu,and clicking properties/move.

but vista has a problem with that and some times i could'nt get to my docs properlie or some progs cant find it.

so i have kinda moved it back.now the button for it on the start menu no longer works.if i click it,it does nothing and if i right click it,the options are a bit screwed up-





also,in this folder,all the folders in it are not hidden,the documents folder is hidden,but i cant un hide it.how do i unhide it?-

the only way i have access to the docs folder is with a shortcut.

were is the registry place for them buttons on the start menu? can i edit the reg to point the button back to the documents folder at-c:\users\ti66er\documents?

i hope you can help jim.:D
 

simsim44

New Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Pilesgrove,NJ
Processor AMD X2 4200 AM2@2.53
Motherboard Asus M2R32-MVP
Cooling Titan,Nikita Liquid, 1CPU,2GPU blocks
Memory 2Gb's Corsair PC6400-c4
Video Card(s) 2, Connect3D X1900GT's in Crossfire 641/1440
Storage 2,WD 320's Sata 3.0(SE16)
Display(s) Samsung, Syncmaster 205bw
Case Thermaltake, Tsunami Dream
Audio Device(s) Creative Lab,SB X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ, GXS600
Software XP-Pro,HL2,HL2E-1,Sin E-1,GRAW,D3-ROE,Q4,FarCry,Stalker
#44
I have a question when i try and enable Crossfire, in Vista's, it does not reconize the display device
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#45
I have a question when i try and enable Crossfire, in Vista's, it does not reconize the display device
Tried re-installing the drivers?


Tigger, I'll take a look and see what I can find out and then get back to you. I had a similar type of problem in XP - the problem is there are few different places that Windows seems to store the info and you'll need to change the right one otherwise it will revert back to what it was :wtf:
 

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.11/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#46
I get this picture in my mind, for THIS thread, lol...

"As the beakers bubble, & the 'jacob's ladders' send their bolts of lightning thru the cobwebbed laboratory..."



:)

(THE 'MAD SCIENTISTS' @ TECHPOWERUP.COM FORUMS ARE HARD @ WORK TUNING/TWEAKING VISTA!)

* LOL!

APK

P.S.=> Bit of "nerdy humor" there for your day today folks... apk
 

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.11/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#47
APK-

what do you think of readyboost? i have a lexar jd mercury 1gb,thought about using it for ready boost,but would that actually speed up vista?
Well, like I said before? I don't use VISTA (yet) but, since you asked this question??

Here is some feedback on it:

Windows ReadyBoost Put To The Test For Gaming

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/455/1/

:)

* That ought to 'shed some light' on this NEW technology present in VISTA!

APK

P.S.=> Especially for folks here, as I have noted that MOST of you tend to stress the gaming performance aspect of things... so, that said? I figure this would interest the lot of you... & answer your question Athlon! Enjoy the read! apk
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#48
ReadyBoost is a nice idea if you have old (and fairly quick) flash drives that you don't use, but it won't really make much difference on a system with 1GB of ram or more, maybe slightly quicker application loading times. I don't bother to use it - superfetching seems to do a slightly better job than XP's prefetching, I think it makes Vista more responsive than XP is at loading certain things.

I think Vista must be good at freeing up ram when it's needed too - my 3Dmark05 score is more or less the same in Vista and XP despite Vista appearing as a resource hog using as much as 50% of the ram even with loads of services disabled.
 

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.11/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#49
I think Vista must be good at freeing up ram when it's needed too - my 3Dmark05 score is more or less the same in Vista and XP despite Vista appearing as a resource hog using as much as 50% of the ram even with loads of services disabled.
One word for that, imo & on a guess: Caching...

:)

* My guess is that has altered to eat up as much free RAM as is possible... This train-of-thought seems to be the trend out there today for ALL applications, in OS + caching design.

Trust me, I know, from having a hell of a debate w/ Dr. Mark Russinovich & many arstechnica people @ Windows IT Pro magazine forums from 2003, up to today!

And, yet again, & that bunch from Arstechnica & "the good doctor" were unable to disprove my list of 15 points, many dealing in cache effectiveness or not, & w/ server class apps like Exchange Server & IBM DB/2 which can have the caching performed by the OS, affect them adversely...

See, once more/recently, some folks there put up comments on it again, so I replied in kind.

(DB/2 &-or Exchange do BETTER w/ free & contiguous unfragmented RAM, period, & straight from both oem horses' mouths @ MS & IBM w/ proofs from them on that note!)

Hey - I only 'attacked' when I was attacked, & made a simple challenge - disprove the 15 points I put up, OR shut up.

ANYHOW/ANYWAYS:

So, even freeing up RAM by tuning services (cutting off ones you DON'T need) will be 'negated' by this, but that's not so bad!

Hey - you STILL save CPU cycles & other forms of I/O those services were performing & freeing them up for what you DO use!

(I also recall that VISTA has some differences in it as well regarding how effectively it utilizes the L1-L2-L3 cache levels, depending on the mobo & CPU setup present, etc. but I don't have the link illustrating/stating that immediately available... I will try to find it though!)

APK

P.S.=> Like that photo above Jimmy2004? LOL, w/ this thread, it's YOU... apk
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,252 (0.79/day)
Likes
146
Location
UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
Processor I7 7700k De-lid @ 5GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero IX
Cooling Custom dual 360 rad loops. Cpu monoblock, 295x2 full cover waterblock. Custom R9290x waterblock.
Memory 16Gb Team Xtream DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) 295X2 + R9290X
Storage SSD RAID array, dozen TB HDD's in RAID
Display(s) 27" BENQ XL2730Z 144hz 1440p, Samsung 27" 3D 1440p, QNIX 144p @ 100Hz overclocked
Case Thermaltake Core series
Power Supply 1.5Kw
Mouse RAT 7
Keyboard Ryos II MK Pro Mechanical
Software Windows 10 LTSB
#50
OMG im not very chuffed, got Vista ultimate installed thismorning, Oblivion works fine, but Quake4 and Prey are a no no. I just get a black screen eeeeek. :(.... any1 had any luck getting either of these, or any other opengl game to work for that matter, i know opengl support in vista sux, but i thought the new ati drivers had some sort of enhanced support for opengl. Damnit, fair enuff i have xp in dual boot, but seriously, what good is another os when u require 2 to run what u had b4. Not bashing vista, since it looks nice and all, but GRRRR.... also, mozilla keeps vibrating up and down like its on god knows what...