• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Vista32 bit or 64!!!

Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
255 (0.07/day)
Likes
18
Location
Wasteland
System Name Cast Lead™
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7600 CPU @ 3.50GHz
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX H270F GAMING
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 480 GAMING X 8G
Storage Seagate 1TB 7200 rpm
Display(s) LG 24MP59G
Case Green Z4
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply Green 650 UK Gold
Software Windows 10™ Pro 64 bit
#1
I have question
what windows is good for my hardware
Windows Vista32 bit or 64???
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.60/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#2
I have Vista64 on a much weaker rig than yours on my friends rig, he's got a 3800+ and a HD3450 and it runs really good. Definitely grab 64bit.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#3
Either, you only benefit from going 64-bit with 4GB of RAM or more.

But I have put x64 on my laptop cus I plan on going 4gb soon, that and it means I only need to keep one set of drivers for printers, etc.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#4
Go for broke and get 64 bit
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#5
Get 64 bit incase you get another 2 GB of RAM (which is dirt cheap now anyway)
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#6
If you go 64bit then you wont need to reformat if you go over 4gb again. Save's you time and there is pretty much no difference.
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.64/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#7
Yeah, go 64. Its a reasonable option. 64 is also the same price as the 32 variant, so why not get 64 straight ahead.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,229 (0.60/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight v.2
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-3570K
Motherboard P8Z77-V LX
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory Viper 3 Black Mamba (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 1X 128GB OCZ, 2 x 1.500 Gb Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 24" LC24F396
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
#8
since you decided to go with vista, I think 64 is the way to follow!

I have found vista 64 to have better and faster responce to applications and games.
plus the benefit of using more than 3 gb ram...
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.95/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#9
Definitly go 64 bit even on my lappy it runs great and thats with 2 gig of ram.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#10
64 Bit FTW!!
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
378 (0.11/day)
Likes
30
Location
Staffordshire, UK
System Name My Updated Gaming Rig
Processor Intel Q6600 @ 3.15 GHz :-)
Motherboard MSI P6N SLI Platinum
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 8GB G.Skill DDR2 @ 5-4-4-14 (933mhz) OC :-)
Video Card(s) 2 BFG 8800 GTS 512 in SLi
Storage 2 500GB Hitatchi Sata 2 in RAID0 Hitatchi 1TB Sata2 for DATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 2232BW 22" LCD
Case Coolermaster Cosmos
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Akasa 850W Gaming PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Don't believe in benchies I prefer actually using the PC
#11
its not just the performance on 32 bit ultimate i had loads of errors and blue screens, but since going to 64 bit they stopped completely no word of a lie, plus its quicker :p
 

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.02/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#12
why not wait for windows 7 x64?
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
62 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#13
Either, you only benefit from going 64-bit with 4GB of RAM or more.

But I have put x64 on my laptop cus I plan on going 4gb soon, that and it means I only need to keep one set of drivers for printers, etc.
untrue, an example of something that can gain drastickly from being compiled in native64 bit is Lame, when compiled in 64bit its around 25% faster then 32bit compile of the same code!!!
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
697 (0.19/day)
Likes
70
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
Processor C2D E8400@3.9GHz (488x8, 1.4v :( )
Motherboard Abit IP35-E
Cooling Thermaltake Sonic Tower+120mm fan
Memory 2GB kingmax ddr1066@976MHz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Radeon X1800GTO @700/1400MHz with Accelero S1+Glacialtech fancard
Storage 2xSeagate Barracuda 7200.10 160GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 793s... just you laugh...
Case some Aplus case
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC888
Power Supply Chieftec 450W
Software Win7 x64
#14
I'm runnning Vista 64 but i regret not sticking to XP 64 and waiting for 7...
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#15
untrue, an example of something that can gain drastickly from being compiled in native64 bit is Lame, when compiled in 64bit its around 25% faster then 32bit compile of the same code!!!
I meant 99.9% of the time you get no benefit.

My point was that, if they are already on Vista 32-bit there is no point changing to 64-bit just for the sake of it, as they would have to go through all the hassle of reinstall with no gain in most tasks
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.35/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#16
PRO:
4+ GB ram
Greater protection vs viruses and malware

CONS:
Compatibility
no real speed increase

But short answer? don't do it, wait for 7.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
378 (0.11/day)
Likes
30
Location
Staffordshire, UK
System Name My Updated Gaming Rig
Processor Intel Q6600 @ 3.15 GHz :-)
Motherboard MSI P6N SLI Platinum
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 8GB G.Skill DDR2 @ 5-4-4-14 (933mhz) OC :-)
Video Card(s) 2 BFG 8800 GTS 512 in SLi
Storage 2 500GB Hitatchi Sata 2 in RAID0 Hitatchi 1TB Sata2 for DATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 2232BW 22" LCD
Case Coolermaster Cosmos
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Akasa 850W Gaming PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Don't believe in benchies I prefer actually using the PC
#17
see i disagree with the compatability statement, i had a ridiculous number of driver issues with 32 bit, but almost none with 64 bit
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
62 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#18
Win7 has lost my intrest, the locking in of MS only codecs in WMP/WMC for known formats(like avi), the removal or QuickLaunch(u can hack it back in) and classic start menu(you cant hack it back in because the code for its been removed) as well as other services/programs/bloat you CANT dissable......no thanks, i will stick with an OS i know i can Tweak the living crap out of to suit MY NEEDS.

if you have vista32, just get hold of a 64bit install disk and your current key WILL WORK.

http://www.mydigitallife.info/2009/...streamedintegrated-dvd-iso-image-bt-download/
Leeked RTM updated vista sp2 images(no keys so this isnt illegal) just grab your updated disk image and have at it :)
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
255 (0.07/day)
Likes
18
Location
Wasteland
System Name Cast Lead™
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7600 CPU @ 3.50GHz
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX H270F GAMING
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 480 GAMING X 8G
Storage Seagate 1TB 7200 rpm
Display(s) LG 24MP59G
Case Green Z4
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply Green 650 UK Gold
Software Windows 10™ Pro 64 bit
#19
i have 2GB ram
is this good for 64bit
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
62 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#20
its fine, and with 64bit your ready for as much more ram as you wana toss into the system(unlike 32bit, where ur limmited to 3gb.)
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.95/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#21
No probs at all with 2 gig mine runs with 2 gig and runs beautifully.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,655 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,224
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#22
I have question
what windows is good for my hardware
Windows Vista32 bit or 64???
I'd say skip Vista completely and go straight to Windows 7 64-bit. It's much more refined than Vista and has better performance, too.

Windows 7 RC will be officially released as a free download on May 5th, so just hang on a few more days for it.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.60/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#23
Windows 7 is no where near as good as Vista is right now. I tried the 7100 build and Vista was faster, more compatible and played better with almost everything.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.24/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#24
Windows 7 is no where near as good as Vista is right now. I tried the 7100 build and Vista was faster, more compatible and played better with almost everything.
Thank you. 7 is still BETA, performance-wise is on level with Vista SP2, and the amount of shit in the GUI you can't disable has put me right off Win 7.

Vista x64 is your best option, don't even consider 32-bit.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,655 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,224
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#25
Thank you. 7 is still BETA, performance-wise is on level with Vista SP2, and the amount of shit in the GUI you can't disable has put me right off Win 7.

Vista x64 is your best option, don't even consider 32-bit.
I'm really curious about this. Could you please give me a couple of examples?