• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows wont boot; stuck at chk disk

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#1
I ran a chk disk the morning, its ran through and rebooted was going normal shown windows splash screen then right back too chk disk again i press any key to skip chk disk and it then reboots....same process...tried F8 doesn't boot, tried last known config doesn't boot,unfortunately i don't have a cd to boot from. I really don't know what to do and need information from this drive. currently I'm running a start-up repair. If this doesn't work what ells could i try?? it shows the windows splash screen then goes right to a chk disk i have ran it twice already. why wont it just boot:banghead:

I have windows 7 ultimate.

thanks
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#2
I'm assuming by F8 you mean Safe Mode?
If not, try Safe Mode and then select system restore.

Or if you have access to a live boot cd, you could try to run that and try to access your files
 

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#3
yes tried safe mode. no cd access
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
Use F8 and select the option to automatically reboot on failure, see if you are getting a bsod during boot.
 

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#5
ok ill try that....i have a portable flobby or flash drive.....can i put a boot.ini file on it for windows 7 ultimate 64bit and replace the one on my system???

any help be great!!
 

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#6
Use F8 and select the option to automatically reboot on failure, see if you are getting a bsod during boot.
i did this and it gave me a blue screen (great!)

system problem has been detected windows has shut down to prevent damage

BAD_SYSTEM_CONFIG_INFO


whats this about?? anyway to fix?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#7
The easiest way to fix it is to use a Win 7 disc, which you do not have.
I'll wait for another response with a possible work around.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
508 (0.20/day)
Likes
108
Location
Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
System Name Frankenstein v7
Processor Intel i7 2600K (@ stock)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7870 WindForce 2GB
Storage Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24C750
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Pro - 64-bit
#8

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#9
i have a windows disk but says it the wrong kind(of windows 7, i have ultimate cd says ultimate...WEIRD)....eer idk what to do been spending all day wont even let me reinstall just windows

if i installed a fresh copy of windows onto another hard drive and used that how can i fix my old hard drive?????
 
Last edited:

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,515 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#10
just use hirens boot disc to recover data?
 

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#11

newguy24

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
382 (0.15/day)
Likes
6
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel Core i7-950 3.07ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X58-usb3
Cooling Hyper 212 plus
Memory 12gb 6x2GB geil
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 1tb samsung spinpoint
Display(s) LG e2350 monitor
Case Lancool PC-k62
Power Supply Corsair HX850watt
Software Windows 7
#12
if i installed a fresh copy of windows onto another hard drive and used that how can i fix my old hard drive?????could i just replace the boot.ini on old drive??