• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows wont boot with the addition of a physx card

Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#1
Hi all,

Heres the beef:
Whenever i try to boot up my PC(see left) with a Nvidia 9500GT plugged in another PCI-E slot, windows wont boot. It'll be stuck on the windows icon thingy that you get before the login screen, or incidentally make it to the login screen, but freeze there. (after that, i hear some fans spinning up).

I cannot fathom why this would be happening, since both my current card, and the 9500GT are perfectly fine( 9500GT boots as main card without the 7950 in the system).

Things I've tried:
- Putting the card (9500GT) in another PCI-e slot -> same result
- Running the system stock -> same result
- running the system with only 1 card(either one) -> boots fine
- i've ran and SLI set-up before (with 2 8800GTX's) -> ran fine

Soo, I was wondering if any of you guys had any idea what might be causing this/ potential solution.

Perhaps I'm missing something totally obvious, but I guess you guys'll find out =D

Maff
 

newlife

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
112 (0.06/day)
Likes
30
Location
Adelaide, Australia
System Name O'Neill By Design
Processor i5-3570 not k 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 extreme 6
Cooling Coolermater V8
Memory Patriot G2 DDR3 1600mhz (Overclocked to 2200mhz)
Video Card(s) 2x GIGABYTE GTX 560(GV-N56GOC-1GI)
Storage 60GB Patriot Pyro SSD, 2TB WD Black
Display(s) An Aussie 40" Full HD Led Lcd(Samsang Panel)
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC898 onboard
Power Supply Corsair GS-600(yes it runs 2x gtx 560)
Benchmark Scores SuperPi:8.265sec, Pifast: 16.44, WPrime 32m 6.895sec, Unigine Heaven-basic preset : 2638.12, 3D Mark
#2
It looks like it is board have u tried talking with asus
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#3
It looks like it is board have u tried talking with asus
That might be a good idea, I should still have warranty.

However, dont you think the SLI set up i used to run wouldnt have worked either if it was a board problem?

Just messing with ideas here:)
 

newlife

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
112 (0.06/day)
Likes
30
Location
Adelaide, Australia
System Name O'Neill By Design
Processor i5-3570 not k 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 extreme 6
Cooling Coolermater V8
Memory Patriot G2 DDR3 1600mhz (Overclocked to 2200mhz)
Video Card(s) 2x GIGABYTE GTX 560(GV-N56GOC-1GI)
Storage 60GB Patriot Pyro SSD, 2TB WD Black
Display(s) An Aussie 40" Full HD Led Lcd(Samsang Panel)
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC898 onboard
Power Supply Corsair GS-600(yes it runs 2x gtx 560)
Benchmark Scores SuperPi:8.265sec, Pifast: 16.44, WPrime 32m 6.895sec, Unigine Heaven-basic preset : 2638.12, 3D Mark
#4
there is a chance its the os aswell or maybe even the bios
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#5
I suppose I could try to boot up in safe mode, and try to install some drivers from there?

I'm also running the second-newest bios, apparently a day after I updated my bios the last time they released a new one lol.

however, the release notes of the newest bios only list:
1.Improve system stability.
2.Enhance compatibility with some USB devices.

I might try this bios update later, when I've got the time, but I'm not expecting a lot.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#6
UPDATE:

Apparently my conclusion that the card wasnt defective after booting up once was faulty.

After retrying the card today it appeared to be defective.

Soooo! mistery solved, this thread can be closed, and thanks newlife for responding:)
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,592 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#7
I know you've said your thread is closed now but I was wondering...

You didn't mention any tweaks or physx specific installations. Have you tried this set up before because I was sure that an Nvidia Physx card with an AMD in your system requires specific driver tweaks and software?

If that software side of things is sorted then that's all cool, just ignore me but last I heard, you can't use a physx card without some tweaking - see link for details http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=135891
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#8
I know you've said your thread is closed now but I was wondering...

You didn't mention any tweaks or physx specific installations. Have you tried this set up before because I was sure that an Nvidia Physx card with an AMD in your system requires specific driver tweaks and software?

If that software side of things is sorted then that's all cool, just ignore me but last I heard, you can't use a physx card without some tweaking. http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=135891
Hehe, I found that post, and it was the reason for trying it in the first place! Sadly though, I couldnt even get to the part of installing anything, as the PC just wouldnt even boot in windows with the card installed on the motherboard.
So thanks for the tip! But that part of the story was accounted for, but not brought into practice since the card fails.