• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

windows wont load after ram change

Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
626 (0.20/day)
Likes
18
Processor QuadCore AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 940, 3500 MHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX XE
Cooling fans and hs
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 800mhz 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 460 [retired -> XFX 8600 GTS (931/1917/2300)
Storage OCZ Vertex LE
Display(s) Acer G235H
Case Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) motherboard built in
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W
Software windows 7 ultimate 64
#1
after i added in my replacement ram from corsair windows 7 will not go past the animation part that says windows is starting. the ram works and settings havent changed, so whats the problem???
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
Check voltages in bios, some motherboards do not see the right ram voltage and sets it to whatever it wants, this happened to me before. Also check your timings and make sure they are stock specs on ram
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
626 (0.20/day)
Likes
18
Processor QuadCore AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 940, 3500 MHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX XE
Cooling fans and hs
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 800mhz 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 460 [retired -> XFX 8600 GTS (931/1917/2300)
Storage OCZ Vertex LE
Display(s) Acer G235H
Case Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) motherboard built in
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W
Software windows 7 ultimate 64
#3
did both. i tried auto volt and ram timings as well as manually setting to the specs. voltage is correct. i am puzzled.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
626 (0.20/day)
Likes
18
Processor QuadCore AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 940, 3500 MHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX XE
Cooling fans and hs
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 800mhz 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 460 [retired -> XFX 8600 GTS (931/1917/2300)
Storage OCZ Vertex LE
Display(s) Acer G235H
Case Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) motherboard built in
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W
Software windows 7 ultimate 64
#4
just tried the windows repair and it says it cannot repair it. problem signature 6.1.7600.16385
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
626 (0.20/day)
Likes
18
Processor QuadCore AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 940, 3500 MHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX XE
Cooling fans and hs
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 800mhz 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 460 [retired -> XFX 8600 GTS (931/1917/2300)
Storage OCZ Vertex LE
Display(s) Acer G235H
Case Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) motherboard built in
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W
Software windows 7 ultimate 64
#6
yeah tried both. i even tried each stick in different slots. cannot boot into safemode either, it just freezes tring to load. this is so strange argh.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.02/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#7
Turn off the PC, unplug the power cable and hold the on/off button for a few seconds. If that doesn't help, reset the bios.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.35/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#8
Turn off the power un plug the power cable as well . Take the battery out of the MB , Take the Jumper switch and set it to clear Cmos for about 1 min . then replace the jumper to the correct position and replace the battery , before you restart the computer and restart it .
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
626 (0.20/day)
Likes
18
Processor QuadCore AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 940, 3500 MHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX XE
Cooling fans and hs
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 800mhz 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 460 [retired -> XFX 8600 GTS (931/1917/2300)
Storage OCZ Vertex LE
Display(s) Acer G235H
Case Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) motherboard built in
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W
Software windows 7 ultimate 64
#9
it worked!!! thank you guys so much!