• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

windows wont use hard drive

tony929292

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2005
Messages
362 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
Location
usa
Processor intel q9450 at 3100 artic silver5 tt big typoon
Motherboard asus p5n32e-sli plus
Cooling 13 fans total that includes heatsink fans etc
Memory 4 gb ocz gold pc5400 oc to 775 2.1 voltage 4-4-3-4
Video Card(s) 1 bfg7800gtoc oc to 510/1800 at 1.5v valmans fatal1ty 36c idle
Storage 2 80gb wd raptors raid-0 , 1 seagate barracuda 160gb
Display(s) sony sdm-hs53 + fan controller 3.5 internal card reader and 1 internal floopy
Case Logisys Dracula Case blue
Audio Device(s) x-fi fatal1ty
Power Supply aspire 680watts sli
Software vista unltimate x86
#1
i bought a seagate 160 gb hard drive it shows up in the bios and the device manger but that it can't formant it or even access it
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
675 (0.17/day)
Likes
7
Location
Michigan, US
System Name Clarise
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Toledo) @2.8 (255 X 11)
Motherboard Asus A8v Deluxe rev 2
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Cooler Pro + 5 Case Fans
Memory 2GB G-Skill (2.5-3-3-6 1T) @ 467mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 @ 640-814
Storage Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB (Sata) Maxtor 120GB (Sata) Western Digital 120GB (ide)
Display(s) 19" HP Pavilion M90 / 33" Sony Wega Trinitron
Case Antec Lanboy with a few mods :0)
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 4 Pro - Bose Free Style 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply Rosewill Extreme Edition 500W 34A 12V rail
Software Windows XP Pro & Vista Ultimate
#2
did you buy it new? cause if not it could be locked. or have you tried disk managment? (right click on "my computer" and then "manage")
 

tony929292

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2005
Messages
362 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
Location
usa
Processor intel q9450 at 3100 artic silver5 tt big typoon
Motherboard asus p5n32e-sli plus
Cooling 13 fans total that includes heatsink fans etc
Memory 4 gb ocz gold pc5400 oc to 775 2.1 voltage 4-4-3-4
Video Card(s) 1 bfg7800gtoc oc to 510/1800 at 1.5v valmans fatal1ty 36c idle
Storage 2 80gb wd raptors raid-0 , 1 seagate barracuda 160gb
Display(s) sony sdm-hs53 + fan controller 3.5 internal card reader and 1 internal floopy
Case Logisys Dracula Case blue
Audio Device(s) x-fi fatal1ty
Power Supply aspire 680watts sli
Software vista unltimate x86
#3
ok disk mangement worked but it 160gb and only 149gb is aviable also i have a raid of 2 80g=160 and only 149 is aviable
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#4
That's completely normal, there is no hard drive that is 100% efficient. My 160GB drive topped out around 146, so...don't worry :). Besides, what are you going to put on that 11GB, porn?
 

GJSNeptune

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
2,570 (0.66/day)
Likes
92
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120 (with Scythe SFF21E)
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 CAS4 DHX
Video Card(s) PALiT 9800GTX 512MB PCI-E
Storage WD2500AAKS, WD1600YS, WD1200JD, WD400EB
Display(s) LG L1920P, Viewsonic VA520
Case Lian-Li A05b (with two 120mm Yate Loon D12SM)
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Vista Business 32-bit/XP Pro 32-bit dual-boot
#5
Windows uses binary, based on 2. HDD makers use decimal, based on 10. Windows always shows less space than the hard drive's label. Both are correct, however.
 

raven009

New Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
56 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Processor e6550
Motherboard Gigabyte p35c
Cooling Zalman 9700/ 3 120mm fans/ 200m fan/ 80mm fan
Memory G.Skill 2 gig DDR2 800
Video Card(s) XFX 8600 GT xxx edition
Storage seagate 250 gig
Display(s) 20.1 viewsonic widescreen monitor
Case Antec Nine Hundred with custom paint job
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec Quatro 850
Software xp
#6
thats because they don't give the actual capacity. hard drive companies measure a gigabyte as 1000 megabytes whereas windows sees it as something a little bit more than 1000.
 

GJSNeptune

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
2,570 (0.66/day)
Likes
92
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120 (with Scythe SFF21E)
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 CAS4 DHX
Video Card(s) PALiT 9800GTX 512MB PCI-E
Storage WD2500AAKS, WD1600YS, WD1200JD, WD400EB
Display(s) LG L1920P, Viewsonic VA520
Case Lian-Li A05b (with two 120mm Yate Loon D12SM)
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Vista Business 32-bit/XP Pro 32-bit dual-boot
#7
thats because they don't give the actual capacity. hard drive companies measure a gigabyte as 1000 megabytes whereas windows sees it as something a little bit more than 1000.
1024. :)
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
675 (0.17/day)
Likes
7
Location
Michigan, US
System Name Clarise
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Toledo) @2.8 (255 X 11)
Motherboard Asus A8v Deluxe rev 2
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Cooler Pro + 5 Case Fans
Memory 2GB G-Skill (2.5-3-3-6 1T) @ 467mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 @ 640-814
Storage Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB (Sata) Maxtor 120GB (Sata) Western Digital 120GB (ide)
Display(s) 19" HP Pavilion M90 / 33" Sony Wega Trinitron
Case Antec Lanboy with a few mods :0)
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 4 Pro - Bose Free Style 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply Rosewill Extreme Edition 500W 34A 12V rail
Software Windows XP Pro & Vista Ultimate
#8
so can you access the drive now?
 

raven009

New Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2006
Messages
56 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Processor e6550
Motherboard Gigabyte p35c
Cooling Zalman 9700/ 3 120mm fans/ 200m fan/ 80mm fan
Memory G.Skill 2 gig DDR2 800
Video Card(s) XFX 8600 GT xxx edition
Storage seagate 250 gig
Display(s) 20.1 viewsonic widescreen monitor
Case Antec Nine Hundred with custom paint job
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec Quatro 850
Software xp
#9
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
thats because they don't give the actual capacity. hard drive companies measure a gigabyte as 1000 megabytes whereas windows sees it as something a little bit more than 1000.
Well that and the overheads required for File Allocation Tables etc. It's about 5% I think....
 

tony929292

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2005
Messages
362 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
Location
usa
Processor intel q9450 at 3100 artic silver5 tt big typoon
Motherboard asus p5n32e-sli plus
Cooling 13 fans total that includes heatsink fans etc
Memory 4 gb ocz gold pc5400 oc to 775 2.1 voltage 4-4-3-4
Video Card(s) 1 bfg7800gtoc oc to 510/1800 at 1.5v valmans fatal1ty 36c idle
Storage 2 80gb wd raptors raid-0 , 1 seagate barracuda 160gb
Display(s) sony sdm-hs53 + fan controller 3.5 internal card reader and 1 internal floopy
Case Logisys Dracula Case blue
Audio Device(s) x-fi fatal1ty
Power Supply aspire 680watts sli
Software vista unltimate x86
#11
i made 1 5gb and 1 145gb patiton and only the 5gb shows up and my mb seems to be making a ticking noise not a hard drive or fan but the mb where the cpu is at
 

Attachments