• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows XP Help: Maximum number of processes.

vnviews

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have install complicated application that creates many bacground processes, but in my PC seems that Windows XP allows only 150 simultanous processes, I cannot open anymore when task manager shows "150 processes". Can we adjust this number, by regedit for example?
Please, help. This is very urgent.
Thanks for your input.
Tuan.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Hoboland
Processor Intel Pentium 3
Motherboard Dunno.
Cooling A fan?
Memory Is this RAM? If so, 128 MB.
Video Card(s) 64 MB.
Storage 11 GB.
Display(s) Screen? Nup. Laptop.
Case Its a laptop dumbass.
Audio Device(s) ATI something-or-other.
Power Supply Dead (That is NOT a brand name) Battery, AC power
Software Random stuff I got off the net, Frontpage 2003, ahhhh......?
#2
How the hell...? 150!?!

I dont think the rest of us have ever had nearly remotely close to 150 processes.

Thats an insane amount.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,173 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,150
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#3
what kind of error do you get? which processes are you starting?
 

vnviews

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
When the number of processes reaches 150, I cannot open any application, such as Word, Exel or anything ever. System doesn't give any text message, only sounds a bell and that's all.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.15/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#5
Could be because you run out of RAM and your PC can't handle anything else. 150 is INSANE, remove whatever application needs that many - it sounds like you installed spyware.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.07/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#6
You need to have a good look at this, especially the link to the registry cleaner at the bottom. From that registry cleaner, you can kill ANY PROGRAM THAT HAS EVER BEEN INSTALLED ON YOUR COMPUTER (With few exceptions.). You'll also fix whatever registy errors you might have, increasing performance.