• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows XP Home Licence...

Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#1
Hey guys and gals!

I'm a little pickle at present, I'm after a valid, official Microsoft Windows XP Home licence key, I don't want a crack, etc, just an original, not in use key.

If anyone knows anyone who knows how to aquire one or knows someone who is getting rid of any, then please let me know! :)

As stated above, I want a valid, original, not in use licence key as it's for a small rig I'm sorting out for my youngest brothers best mate. Unfortunately the guy he bought the PC off did a lousy job of building it and put a cracked copy of windows in :(

Anyway, hope to see some feedback soon and hope everyone is doing great!

--Lee
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#2
Go at Microsoft site & buy one (license key)
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#3
Go at Microsoft site & buy one (license key)
So you can actually buy a licence key directly from Microsoft? I didn't know that was possible, as normally you have to buy the key with the CD, which is what I'm trying to avoid lol, is it on technet?

--Lee
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.76/day)
Likes
465
#4
So you can actually buy a licence key directly from Microsoft? I didn't know that was possible, as normally you have to buy the key with the CD, which is what I'm trying to avoid lol, is it on technet?

--Lee
Yes it's possible, How to do it? Not sure... I'm sure it's not that hard, you order a copy of Windows. They email you the key.... Just a guess. And possible send you a hard copy.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#5
Yes it's possible, How to do it? Not sure... I'm sure it's not that hard, you order a copy of Windows. They email you the key.... Just a guess. And possible send you a hard copy.
I am pretty sure you cannot do it unless you have a pirated copy and want to replace it with a proper one.

EDIT: You can't through MS webpage. And I'm sure they will not send you a key with email as the key have to be printed on that bluegreen paper.

EDIT for clarification/info: The only instance I know of where they send keys through email is replacement keys, when the original one for some reason is unreadable (this has to be proven with a photograph).
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
I am pretty sure you cannot do it unless you have a pirated copy and want to replace it with a proper one.
Not to mention, I don't believe Microsoft even sells XP licenses anymore, they stopped selling them a year or more ago.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#7
Not to mention, I don't believe Microsoft even sells XP licenses anymore, they stopped selling them a year or more ago.
A quick Google says 2008. So yeah.

EDIT: I think the cheapest way would be to buy an old computer and get that key.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#8
Not to mention, I don't believe Microsoft even sells XP licenses anymore, they stopped selling them a year or more ago.
Ahh, now that I didn't know, I knew the support was going, I didn't even question this at all haha!

Hmm, I might have to do what Frick said and see if I can get one from an old desktop or laptop that's up for scraps maybe, as I'm not putting a cracked copy on his PC.

Thanks for the heads up people, as for the licences on Microsofts website where volume licences, which is way out of my league lol!

--Lee
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,081
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#9
Technet....or MSDNAA
Those are the only options as far as I know....
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#10
Technet....or MSDNAA
Those are the only options as far as I know....
MSDNAA is out of bounds for a single guy and technet is overkill in extreme for just one XP Home license. :laugh:
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#11
I have a old HP system but if you be able to get it to work with another i don't know. And it's Windows XP Home ED.

Although i thought it was not allowed to be done..

2 pics of said system

 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.76/day)
Likes
465
#12
I am pretty sure you cannot do it unless you have a pirated copy and want to replace it with a proper one.

EDIT: You can't through MS webpage. And I'm sure they will not send you a key with email as the key have to be printed on that bluegreen paper.

EDIT for clarification/info: The only instance I know of where they send keys through email is replacement keys, when the original one for some reason is unreadable (this has to be proven with a photograph).
so technically you still can...
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,547 (3.98/day)
Likes
8,052
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#13
Get XP Pro for cheap over here. ;)
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#14
I have a old HP system but if you be able to get it to work with another i don't know. And it's Windows XP Home ED.

Although i thought it was not allowed to be done..

2 pics of said system
http://img.techpowerup.org/111028/_IGP4329.jpg
http://img.techpowerup.org/111028/_IGP4330.jpg
That's probably an OEM key- don't think it will work (at least legitimately).

I think I still have the retail key from the XP Home install I had on one of my old Penitum D setups. 99% sure its not OEM, and that it is not in use.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,081
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#15

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#16
That's probably an OEM key- don't think it will work (at least legitimately).

I think I still have the retail key from the XP Home install I had on one of my old Penitum D setups. 99% sure its not OEM, and that it is not in use.
Just what i was thinking al though a phone call about having your system repaired might solve that lol. But i don't think that be very legit lol.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#17
I have a old HP system but if you be able to get it to work with another i don't know. And it's Windows XP Home ED.

Although i thought it was not allowed to be done..

2 pics of said system
http://img.techpowerup.org/111028/_IGP4329.jpg
http://img.techpowerup.org/111028/_IGP4330.jpg
I'm sure that it would work, although as said it would more than likely have to go through the phone call routine of the robot lady haha :D

That's probably an OEM key- don't think it will work (at least legitimately).

I think I still have the retail key from the XP Home install I had on one of my old Penitum D setups. 99% sure its not OEM, and that it is not in use.
I think it might, but again, as you said it might not, I'm not 100% sure on it, although if I'm right in that it would work it would have to be done by ringing the phone line where you have to input a code generated by your computer then get given a key to input yourself to activate?

If you have a retail key for Home that isn't in use, would you consider selling it to me maybe? If so I won't have to go down the lines of buying a new copy with a CD so I would be really appreciative of it :)

Thanks for the kind replies everyone, I appreciate everyones input and hopefully can get a solid point on what I'll be doing soon :)

--Lee
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#18
I think XP is a lot more slack when it comes to which hardware it activates on than Vista/7. I have an XP Home OEM license here that I've used with a metric ton of different systems and it has activated over the internet just fine on every single one of them.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#19
I think XP is a lot more slack when it comes to which hardware it activates on than Vista/7. I have an XP Home OEM license here that I've used with a metric ton of different systems and it has activated over the internet just fine on every single one of them.
If that's the case, then would there be any chance you'd be willing to sell your licence key to me AsRock?

If there is then we can take it to PM concerning pricing of the licence key? Although I would like it if you did sell the key to me, that you'd send over the sticker too (I'd pay for the sending of course as that would be my duty :))

--Lee
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#20
Would be nice if someone else could comment on that, as confirmation.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
Would be nice if someone else could comment on that, as confirmation.
It isn't really any more relaxed, it is just the system itself is pretty relaxed with the activations. OEM copies of Win7 can be activated 2-4 times before they are flagged and you have to call, and then you can get away with another 2-4 activations. Plus, every so often the activation records are purged. So a copy that has been activated for a good while can be re-activated again without any hassle.

Anyway, I think I have an XP Home OEM key on an old dell that had the motherboard fry, so I gutted the case. I was about to take it in for the scrap steel, but I can give you the key if you want. Plus that will be 100% legit, because motherboard failure is a valid reason to re-activate an OEM license on another system.;)
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#22
Just some info from the Microsoft OEM Licensing FAQ under the "Transfer of License" section.

Transfer of License

Q. Can my customers transfer or sell their OEM software licenses?

A. After an OEM software license has been installed on a PC, the license may not be installed on or transferred to another PC. However, the entire PC may be transferred to another end user along with the software license rights. When transferring the PC to the new end user, the software media, manuals (if applicable), and Certificate of Authenticity label must be included. It is also advisable to include the original purchase invoice or receipt. The original end user cannot keep any copies of the software.

Q. My customer bought a new PC and wants to move the OEM software from the old PC to the new one. Can't users do whatever they want with their software?

A. The OEM software is licensed with the computer system on which it was originally installed and is tied to that original machine. OEM licenses are single-use licenses that cannot be installed on more than one computer system, even if the original machine is no longer in use. The End User Software License Terms, which the end user must accept before using the software, states that the license may not be shared, transferred to, or used concurrently on different computers. System builders must provide end-user support for the Windows license on computers they build, but cannot support licenses on computers they didn’t build. This is a fundamental reason why OEM System Builder licenses can't be transferred.
Also, under the section "New/Refurbished PCs"

Q. If my customer asks me to upgrade a PC with new hardware components, when is a new operating system needed? When would the PC be considered "new"?

A. Generally, an end user can upgrade or replace all of the hardware components on a computer—except the motherboard—and still retain the license for the original Microsoft OEM operating system software. If the motherboard is upgraded or replaced for reasons other than a defect, then a new computer has been created. Microsoft OEM operating system software cannot be transferred to the new computer, and the license of new operating system software is required.

If the motherboard is replaced because it is defective, you do not need to acquire a new operating system license for the PC as long as the replacement motherboard is the same make/model or the same manufacturer's replacement/equivalent, as defined by the manufacturer's warranty.
Microsoft Windows licensing Guide (Link may not work in browsers other than MSIE)

Hope this helps.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#23
It isn't really any more relaxed, it is just the system itself is pretty relaxed with the activations. OEM copies of Win7 can be activated 2-4 times before they are flagged and you have to call, and then you can get away with another 2-4 activations. Plus, every so often the activation records are purged. So a copy that has been activated for a good while can be re-activated again without any hassle.

Anyway, I think I have an XP Home OEM key on an old dell that had the motherboard fry, so I gutted the case. I was about to take it in for the scrap steel, but I can give you the key if you want. Plus that will be 100% legit, because motherboard failure is a valid reason to re-activate an OEM license on another system.;)
That's pretty nifty and if you're taking it to a scrap heap I'd be more than happy to take it off your hands =)

Just some info from the Microsoft OEM Licensing FAQ under the "Transfer of License" section.

Also, under the section "New/Refurbished PCs"

Microsoft Windows licensing Guide (Link may not work in browsers other than MSIE)

Hope this helps.
I never knew any of that Viper, that's something definitely worth knowing! Thanks!

--Lee
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,475 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,025
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#24
I think XP is a lot more slack when it comes to which hardware it activates on than Vista/7. I have an XP Home OEM license here that I've used with a metric ton of different systems and it has activated over the internet just fine on every single one of them.
Correct, i have a XP key off my dads old dell laptop that has been used many times on many different machines with out issue, just gotta take your time and spread out the activations as they only give you 3 times to do it in 3 months. It doesn't matter if its OEM or what it will activate on any hardware.

Anyway, I think I have an XP Home OEM key on an old dell that had the motherboard fry, so I gutted the case. I was about to take it in for the scrap steel, but I can give you the key if you want. Plus that will be 100% legit, because motherboard failure is a valid reason to re-activate an OEM license on another system.;)
I hate to tell ya but it isnt, ive already rang MS about this with another computer i had here long ago about changing the mobo as it died and they said NO the serial is locked to that mobo so there for it is now canceled. and they did :ohwell: If i was to change ram or CPU etc it be fine, but soon as i said mobo they said NO.

As people have said before go to a junk yard or something and find an old case with a sticker on it, then ya good to go. Or go to your local shops/store whatever that run XP and have the computer on the desk, get ya camera phone set it near the sticker, distract the lady at the counter, take a pic, to easy lol < i dont recommend that one but :laugh:
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#25
If that's the case, then would there be any chance you'd be willing to sell your licence key to me AsRock?

If there is then we can take it to PM concerning pricing of the licence key? Although I would like it if you did sell the key to me, that you'd send over the sticker too (I'd pay for the sending of course as that would be my duty :))

--Lee

Sure you can have it for free i don't need it and only have it due to the case. Buut don't get ya hope's up due to what Malvis said.