• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows XP Installation

Nothgrin

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
145
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 C1 @ 3.83GHz
Motherboard Asus P5E64 WS Evolution 0802
Cooling Sunbeamtech CR-CCTF Core Contact Freezer 120MM + 400W TEC
Memory Corsair Dominator DDR3 1800(PC3 14400) 4GB
Video Card(s) BFG NVidia GTX 260 (216 SP)
Storage Seagate Cheetah 15K.5 SAS 300GB (x2) 15K.6 SAS 300GB (x1) + Adaptec 2405 SAS RAID Controller
Display(s) LG 24" W2452T + LG 23" W2353V
Case Thermaltake Armor VA8003BWS Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Professional Titanium
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700W + 2x 400W 12V Meanwell Power Supplys
#1
So I have installed Windows many many times on previous computers but this time its just not letting me do anything...

So heres the situation: I just bought and assembled a new build (check the spec) and I wanted to install an OS on it to get it started. I use the 32-bit Windows XP full version to install in DOS and it gets through all of the loading of the temporary drivers and such and says its starting to load Windows (this is pre installation loading) about 30 seconds into it I get a BSOD that says that there was a serious error and my computer was shut down to prevent damage. In the screen it notes that my hard drives could be at fault. I have ran scan checks with my SAS controller card and it says I dont have anything wrong with them.

Does anyone else get this problem every time they install WinXP in DOS? How did you fix the problem? What should/could I do?
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
596
Likes
399
Location
Pacific N.W.
System Name SYS-1//SYS-2//SYS-3//SYS-4
Processor AMD FX-8350//AMD FX-8350//AMD X6 1090T //AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Biostar TA990FXE//Gigabyte 990FX-G//MSI 890GXM-G65//ASUS M5A99FX Pro 2.0
Cooling ZEROtherm Nirvana//Corsair H-110i//AMD PII Cooler//AMD CL Water Cooler
Memory REDLINE 1866 (4X4g)//REDLINE 2133 (4X4g)//Geil (4x2g)//AMD R9 G 2400 (4x4g)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 270 (CF)//R9 270x(CF) Devil's//XFX HD7870//R9 270X(CF) Devil's
Storage Corsair ForceIII GS-360 //Samsung 850-Pro//Samsung 840-Pro//Hyper-X Savage 480
Display(s) Samsung 214T 21.3" LCD//BENQ G2400WD 24" LCD
Case SIGMA LUNA//Corsair 650D //Silverstone SG-01//Cooler Master HAF-XB
Audio Device(s) X-FI Fatality Pro//Sound Blaster Z//Sound Blaster Z//Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair HX620W//Corsair HX850i//Corsair HX620//Corsair HX 750
Software Win 7 Ult-64//Vista Premium-64//Win 7 Ult-64//Vista Ult-64
#2
First thing i do is go to one stick of ram ,and pull any (if preasent)pci cards and usb devices not needed.Until O.S. is loaded!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
596
Likes
399
Location
Pacific N.W.
System Name SYS-1//SYS-2//SYS-3//SYS-4
Processor AMD FX-8350//AMD FX-8350//AMD X6 1090T //AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Biostar TA990FXE//Gigabyte 990FX-G//MSI 890GXM-G65//ASUS M5A99FX Pro 2.0
Cooling ZEROtherm Nirvana//Corsair H-110i//AMD PII Cooler//AMD CL Water Cooler
Memory REDLINE 1866 (4X4g)//REDLINE 2133 (4X4g)//Geil (4x2g)//AMD R9 G 2400 (4x4g)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 270 (CF)//R9 270x(CF) Devil's//XFX HD7870//R9 270X(CF) Devil's
Storage Corsair ForceIII GS-360 //Samsung 850-Pro//Samsung 840-Pro//Hyper-X Savage 480
Display(s) Samsung 214T 21.3" LCD//BENQ G2400WD 24" LCD
Case SIGMA LUNA//Corsair 650D //Silverstone SG-01//Cooler Master HAF-XB
Audio Device(s) X-FI Fatality Pro//Sound Blaster Z//Sound Blaster Z//Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair HX620W//Corsair HX850i//Corsair HX620//Corsair HX 750
Software Win 7 Ult-64//Vista Premium-64//Win 7 Ult-64//Vista Ult-64
#3
Also have to add,just nocticed 32-bit Windows XP full version,some newer hardware requires SP2.
 

Nothgrin

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
145
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 C1 @ 3.83GHz
Motherboard Asus P5E64 WS Evolution 0802
Cooling Sunbeamtech CR-CCTF Core Contact Freezer 120MM + 400W TEC
Memory Corsair Dominator DDR3 1800(PC3 14400) 4GB
Video Card(s) BFG NVidia GTX 260 (216 SP)
Storage Seagate Cheetah 15K.5 SAS 300GB (x2) 15K.6 SAS 300GB (x1) + Adaptec 2405 SAS RAID Controller
Display(s) LG 24" W2452T + LG 23" W2353V
Case Thermaltake Armor VA8003BWS Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Professional Titanium
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700W + 2x 400W 12V Meanwell Power Supplys
#4
Currently I am only using 2GB of the 4GB due to 32bit limitations. My motherboard bios says the ram is working fine. I dont have any PCI cards right now and the only thing in the USB is my keyboard. During the installation I used two different XP cds one original XP and the other SP2.

The error code that I got was 0x0000007B. I looked it up and it said I should load some SATA drivers due to XP coming out before the SATA age. I don't even have anything plugged into SATA...

I am going to try to move a working XP drive over to this computer and use the bootable XP to install XP onto my other drive and hopefully remove the old drive without any more problems.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
596
Likes
399
Location
Pacific N.W.
System Name SYS-1//SYS-2//SYS-3//SYS-4
Processor AMD FX-8350//AMD FX-8350//AMD X6 1090T //AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Biostar TA990FXE//Gigabyte 990FX-G//MSI 890GXM-G65//ASUS M5A99FX Pro 2.0
Cooling ZEROtherm Nirvana//Corsair H-110i//AMD PII Cooler//AMD CL Water Cooler
Memory REDLINE 1866 (4X4g)//REDLINE 2133 (4X4g)//Geil (4x2g)//AMD R9 G 2400 (4x4g)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 270 (CF)//R9 270x(CF) Devil's//XFX HD7870//R9 270X(CF) Devil's
Storage Corsair ForceIII GS-360 //Samsung 850-Pro//Samsung 840-Pro//Hyper-X Savage 480
Display(s) Samsung 214T 21.3" LCD//BENQ G2400WD 24" LCD
Case SIGMA LUNA//Corsair 650D //Silverstone SG-01//Cooler Master HAF-XB
Audio Device(s) X-FI Fatality Pro//Sound Blaster Z//Sound Blaster Z//Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair HX620W//Corsair HX850i//Corsair HX620//Corsair HX 750
Software Win 7 Ult-64//Vista Premium-64//Win 7 Ult-64//Vista Ult-64
#5
Might try going into bios and dis-abling sata's
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#6
Currently I am only using 2GB of the 4GB due to 32bit limitations. My motherboard bios says the ram is working fine. I dont have any PCI cards right now and the only thing in the USB is my keyboard. During the installation I used two different XP cds one original XP and the other SP2.

The error code that I got was 0x0000007B. I looked it up and it said I should load some SATA drivers due to XP coming out before the SATA age. I don't even have anything plugged into SATA...

I am going to try to move a working XP drive over to this computer and use the bootable XP to install XP onto my other drive and hopefully remove the old drive without any more problems.
Don't do that. It might not boot in ur new setup and might corrupt that install too.

Try changing Ram sticks. Try putting the ram in different slots. format the drive with say the drive tools from WD if the drive is from WD, Seatools if the drive is from Seagate etc. Make sure you partition your drive to something around 30 to 40 GB to eliminate the large drive issue.
 

Nothgrin

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
145
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 C1 @ 3.83GHz
Motherboard Asus P5E64 WS Evolution 0802
Cooling Sunbeamtech CR-CCTF Core Contact Freezer 120MM + 400W TEC
Memory Corsair Dominator DDR3 1800(PC3 14400) 4GB
Video Card(s) BFG NVidia GTX 260 (216 SP)
Storage Seagate Cheetah 15K.5 SAS 300GB (x2) 15K.6 SAS 300GB (x1) + Adaptec 2405 SAS RAID Controller
Display(s) LG 24" W2452T + LG 23" W2353V
Case Thermaltake Armor VA8003BWS Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Professional Titanium
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700W + 2x 400W 12V Meanwell Power Supplys
#7
ok I fixed my install. What happened was since XP didn't ship with SATA Raid Controller drivers you have to manually load them during the install. I went to an old computer and ripped the floppy drive to a working but not so new computer and booted XP to create the driver disk from my motherboard driver dvd. Then I ripped out that floppy drive to my new build so I could read it during the installation.

Thanks for your help