• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Xp MCE upgrade

Joined
May 11, 2006
Messages
388 (0.09/day)
Likes
3
Location
Texas
#1
Hey guys i was just wondering: i have xp pro installed and i also have a copy of media center edition (which, i believe, the cd1=xp and cd2 just adds mce). If i do an upgrade install, will that mess up my registry (in other words will i have to format my hard drives or reinstall all my programs)?
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
#2
You cannot upgrade to MCE from PRO...you will have to do a fresh install...
 
Joined
May 11, 2006
Messages
388 (0.09/day)
Likes
3
Location
Texas
#3
dang. im wondering if its even worth the upgrade. The only reason i like mce is because of the way it looks, i had mce previously installed and i never used the media center feature.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
#4
MCE is great if you have a tv tuner and plug your unit to a hdtv (home theater PC)...you can get some nice tv-tuners for 30-60bucks.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,565 (0.62/day)
Likes
272
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#5
if u mean the theme , u can get it separately
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,565 (0.62/day)
Likes
272
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7