• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows XP Professional X64

Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
55 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
i saw a new windows xp 64 bits beta version free trial at microsoft website. and they said you can have 120 days to evaluate it . but i 'm wandering what happen after 120 days. windows' gonna lock down? or is it gonna ask to buy the full version?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#2
yes it will no longer start but i think you can "unlock" it buy paying for it and wont have to reinstall
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.54/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#3
Man my cpu would fly on that, how big is the download?
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
55 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
i just ordered it i couldn't find any download link. but it only cost me 5 bucks so its worth it even if i have to reinstall every month. cuz i just got me an athlon 64 cpu and i wanna try how tht 64 bits work. you can order it at microsoft web site.
 

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#5

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#7
nyioo7@hotmail.com said:
does it really work? have you try it?
Personally NO, but friends of mine have tried it, and said that it really works.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.11/day)
Likes
1,331
#8
wtf8269 said:
Man my cpu would fly on that, how big is the download?
Actually from the benchmarks I've seen the difference between 32 and 64 bits isn't that great.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
55 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#9
DanTheBanjoman said:
Actually from the benchmarks I've seen the difference between 32 and 64 bits isn't that great.
but who cares . i just wanna see wht the new windows looks like and how the 64 bits works .
 

//mAr

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
188 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Location
near Stuttgart, Germany
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+
Motherboard DFI Lanparty nF4 SLI-DR Expert
Cooling watercooling
Memory 2x1024mb Mushkin Redlines XP4000
Video Card(s) PoV 7900GT
Storage 2x74GB Raptor; 2x160GB 7k250 Hitachi
Display(s) Viewsonic VX912
Case LianLi PC70
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ520W
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
#10
works fine (the x64 windows - don't know about the crack) ... small push in 3dmark01 and superpi!
 
Last edited:

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#11
I reckon they should make the 64bit windows free to XP users.. after all, whose fault is it we couldn't buy a 64bit version of windows when we bought our AMD64s?
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
55 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#12
all the cracks for x64 out there are just some craps. they 'll only make you think that it actually worked but not really. when the windows reach to its expiration day it 'll just lock up and the worst part is if you did the crack , you won't even be able to activate it any more because when the activation windows pop up it will keep on saying tht you already activated.

this is how those crack works. they just changed the permission of the regstry key called oobetimer in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\WPAEvents. they set all the permission to deny after applying the registry key that is already activated on another computer. so windows can't read the key so it'll think that it is already activated. but the time bomb is still clicking . and the time come it'll lock up and if you don't know how to change it back than you'll be stuck with the windows lock up and won't be able to activate unless you reinstall it. but the good thing about it is if you are not gonna activate it for a while , you can use it to make the activation warning disappear and when you wanna activate you can just reset the permission of the key.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#13

image7713

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
Fell into the X64 crack trap

Silly me, fell into the trap mentioned in an above post. Any clues on how to fix it without a re-install? Please help!
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
55 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#15
nyioo7@hotmail.com said:
all the cracks for x64 out there are just some craps. they 'll only make you think that it actually worked but not really. when the windows reach to its expiration day it 'll just lock up and the worst part is if you did the crack , you won't even be able to activate it any more because when the activation windows pop up it will keep on saying tht you already activated.

this is how those crack works. they just changed the permission of the regstry key called oobetimer in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\WPAEvents. they set all the permission to deny after applying the registry key that is already activated on another computer. so windows can't read the key so it'll think that it is already activated. but the time bomb is still clicking . and the time come it'll lock up and if you don't know how to change it back than you'll be stuck with the windows lock up and won't be able to activate unless you reinstall it. but the good thing about it is if you are not gonna activate it for a while , you can use it to make the activation warning disappear and when you wanna activate you can just reset the permission of the key.

this statement i said has been proven wrong. if u look for it hard enough there's one tht actually work
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,859
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#16
yeah, but you still won't be able to use windows update.
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,859
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#19
Really? Cool. I thought cracked versions couldn't update... Sorry, my mistake.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#20
There is an add-on in the IE options that can be disbled to get past WGA, but I won't talk about that here.
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,859
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#21
yeah, good point
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
55 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#22
yeh dude stop talkin about crack i only mentioned it once just to warn pplz from getting their registry f up. this is not the tread to talk about crack. it is to talk about xp x64
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
55 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#23
image7713 said:
Silly me, fell into the trap mentioned in an above post. Any clues on how to fix it without a re-install? Please help!
oh yeh also wht the hell r u talking about trap. did u even read it? it said don't use it or it'll happen. and u actually used it and u said u fell into my trap. wht the hell dude. :mad: