• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows XP to be Phased Out by Year's End

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
Computer makers have been told they'll no longer be able to get Windows XP OEM by the end of this year, despite consumer resistance to Vista and its compatibility problems. By early 2008, Microsoft's contracts with computer makers will require companies to only sell Vista-loaded machines. "The OEM version of XP Professional goes next January," said Frank Luburic, senior ThinkPad product manager for Lenovo. "At that point, they'll have no choice". Despite Microsoft's constant promotion of Vista, manufacturers are still seeing plenty of demand from customers for systems preloaded with XP, especially in the SOHO market. Click here to read the full story.

Show full news post
 

RickyG512

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
477 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
Location
Croydon, England
Processor E6600 @ 3.4ghz 60 degree load stock HSF 1.5v
Motherboard P5B vanilla 0806
Cooling All stock
Memory 2x 1GB geil @ DDR-2 850 4-5-5-12(7100 sis mem bench)
Video Card(s) Powercolour X1900XT 512MB 681/792
Storage c:250gb 16mb 7k2 d:320gb 16mb 7k2 both WD and Sata-II
Display(s) Acer 19" 8ms widescreen 1440x900
Case Thermaltake skull
Audio Device(s) X-Fi eXtreme music
Power Supply Enermax 620 liberty
Software xp pro sp2
#2
maan i still prefer xp of vista soo much, i guese hopefully vista will be better by then
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#4
Well, I honestly think that XP will be around for a lot longer (probably just not in sold through retail outlets), it will be supported to well past 2010 from what I read somewhere. Something about pressure from the China for MS to support XP beyond what they initially announced when Vista was introduced.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
937 (0.21/day)
Likes
13
Location
Israel
Processor Athlon 64 x2 4000+ (65nm Brisbane)
Motherboard Abit AN-M2 (AM2) nForce 630a
Cooling Stock everything (for the time being), 2x120mm fans (intake & exhaust)
Memory 2GB (2x1024) OCZ Platinum PC2-6400 (4-4-4-15, 2T)
Video Card(s) PowerColor ATI HD 2600XT 256mb GDDR4 PCI-e
Storage Hitachi Deskstar 160GB SATA 3.0G/s, External USB2.0 WD 160GB
Display(s) LG 17' LCD (L1753TR)
Case HEC-Compucase 6A, black & grey
Audio Device(s) On-Board 7.1 (realtek)
Power Supply Spire Zeno 650W
Software WinXP Pro SP2 (32-bit, for the time being)
#5
can't say i'm surprised at all by this move by MS.
not that i approve of it (nor do i think that MS need my approval...), but i definantly can't say i'm surprised by this move...
 

RickyG512

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
477 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
Location
Croydon, England
Processor E6600 @ 3.4ghz 60 degree load stock HSF 1.5v
Motherboard P5B vanilla 0806
Cooling All stock
Memory 2x 1GB geil @ DDR-2 850 4-5-5-12(7100 sis mem bench)
Video Card(s) Powercolour X1900XT 512MB 681/792
Storage c:250gb 16mb 7k2 d:320gb 16mb 7k2 both WD and Sata-II
Display(s) Acer 19" 8ms widescreen 1440x900
Case Thermaltake skull
Audio Device(s) X-Fi eXtreme music
Power Supply Enermax 620 liberty
Software xp pro sp2
#6
i know businesses with networks wont move to vista by the end of the year
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
1,937 (0.48/day)
Likes
103
Location
Fremont, Ohio
System Name The Darkside
Processor Intel i7-2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB GSKILL Ares PC3-12800
Video Card(s) VisionTek R9 270x
Storage 250GB, 320GB, 1TB, & 2TB Seagate
Display(s) 40" Sharp Aquos Quattron 1080p
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Reltek
Power Supply Silverstone Strider 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#7
ummmm no it wont. I HATE Vista! until they patch it up ALOT, Im sticking to a OS that works hands down. I know ppl that still use Windows 98 and said they will never go to XP or Vista.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#8
I am running Vista Ultimate on my home rig. The installation and setup of Vista was far superior to any XP installation I have done, and as a MIS Manager I have done a lot.
There are a few annoyances with Vista, but I still fight with XP on a regular basis when loading machines on my work network.
I am really looking forward to moving my work network to Vista, but I doubt that will happen in the near future.
From an administrative standpoint, Vista is really nice. It does not, however, add much functionality to justify the move from XP on a corporate network.

Just my 2 cents.
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#9
XP will still be available, just not for retail sale. You buy a PC, you can still get the OEM version of XP with it.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#10
IMO Microsoft is going to try to remove XP from the market as fast as possible to minimize the support structure of maintaining it and writing patches/updates.

Almost all software companies do the same thing. Upgrade or be left behind.

I cannot blame them as the cost of supporting obsoleted code is high. If people do not want to leave Win98 that is fine, just don't complain when something doesn't work.

I am not a Microsoft fanboy, but I do believe that is a solid business strategy.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2007
Messages
1,397 (0.35/day)
Likes
101
Location
Edmonds, Washington
System Name Computer
Processor Intel i7 920 @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage II Extreme
Cooling Air + Corsair Hydro H80i
Memory 16GB Corsair
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX970 G1
Storage Samsung 500GB 850 evo & WD Raptor 1TB, Thank You @ Linus from LinusTechTips for it :)
Display(s) Asus 24"
Case Corsair 600T
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply XFX 750W
Software Windows 7
#11
I am running Vista Ultimate on my home rig. The installation and setup of Vista was far superior to any XP installation I have done, and as a MIS Manager I have done a lot.
There are a few annoyances with Vista, but I still fight with XP on a regular basis when loading machines on my work network.
I am really looking forward to moving my work network to Vista, but I doubt that will happen in the near future.
From an administrative standpoint, Vista is really nice. It does not, however, add much functionality to justify the move from XP on a corporate network.

Just my 2 cents.
o agree i had some many more problems with XP and im fine with Vista most people that burn it never used it and they just cant take moving from one OS to the other they go crazy for some reason. i glad to hear XP is dieing
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
994 (0.24/day)
Likes
28
Location
SoCal
Processor Intel C2D E6420 (3.2 gHz @ 1.365v)
Motherboard Gigabyte 965P-DS3
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 LED
Memory 4 x 512mb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD 4870 512mb
Storage 200gb Maxtor SATA, 400gb WD SATA
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
#12
o agree i had some many more problems with XP and im fine with Vista most people that burn it never used it and they just cant take moving from one OS to the other they go crazy for some reason. i glad to hear XP is dieing
Contrary to your statements, I HAVE used Vista, and I absolutely HATE it. Sure, it looks nice and is supposedly more "secure", but it does all of that at the cost of system performance. Also, Vista needs special drivers whereas XP does not (namely, the ability to use Warcat driver for ATI cards). And most of the time, Vista won't let you run custom software (or even legit software that is a little bit older). Vista is the future? Vista HAS no future unless MS gets their act straight and work out all the kinks before they try to phase out XP.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
850 (0.22/day)
Likes
23
Location
USA
#13
Unfortunatly I have used and beta'd Vista. I will agree it has some administrative advantages. But for a user or a company it is hard to support (drivers, software, hardware) and it takes so much to be able to run.

I still love 98SE stability but sadly run it on nothing anymore. Right now I won't run anything but XP Pro (microsoft made that is).
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,605 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,282
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#14
I bet the push to Vista is based on hollywood and DRM more than anything.You see were at a stage in the game where regular television and On Demand is poping up all over the internet and I think it is in relation to that !
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.74/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#15
Importantly what are schools going to do. Hardware that would take XP is a lot less than Hardware that can take Vista. I can't see schools being able to upgrade for a long time, this isn't good news for getting kids into Vista at home. They're going to be forced to use the outdated and more and more uncommonly used XP in the future.

Selfish move by Microsoft, never thinking about the little guy. OK I understand that they want to make money but still......:shadedshu
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2005
Messages
471 (0.10/day)
Likes
27
Location
Surrey, England
System Name The Beast
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 2x2Gb Gskill Ripjaw X @ 2133mhz 9-11-9-28 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb no unlock :-(
Storage 3x500Gb 1x80Gb
Display(s) LG W2486L 24" LED Backlit 1920x1080
Case Hiper custom Osiris mid tower
Power Supply Hi-power modular 900W
Software Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#16
Importantly what are schools going to do. Hardware that would take XP is a lot less than Hardware that can take Vista. I can't see schools being able to upgrade for a long time, this isn't good news for getting kids into Vista at home. They're going to be forced to use the outdated and more and more uncommonly used XP in the future.

Selfish move by Microsoft, never thinking about the little guy. OK I understand that they want to make money but still......:shadedshu
agreed, a school down the road just had its entire i.t department updated to brand new machines all running xp at quite a cost, thing is though they also got pc's running with linux aswell. My god son goes there and he's 3 and a half, learning it all already:twitch:
 

KillZone

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
57 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#17
Windows 98 was officially supported for 10 years after XP came in so we can probably
expect a similar situation with XP. Its a great operating system and many people
will continue to use it for a long time yet.

Intel has already stated they will not even upgrade to VISTA until after the release
of the first service pack and even then it will be a slow process.

VISTA is cool and new and all that but lets face it XP gets the job done just
fine. From an IT point of view you would be foolish to upgrade office systems
to VISTA and have to deal with all the related hardware problems and driver issues.

VISTA will not become mainstream for a couple of years yet.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,748 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,015
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#18
And Microsoft have SP3 for XP scheduled for releaase January 2008 according to the magazine I am reading here.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#19
Importantly what are schools going to do. Hardware that would take XP is a lot less than Hardware that can take Vista. I can't see schools being able to upgrade for a long time, this isn't good news for getting kids into Vista at home. They're going to be forced to use the outdated and more and more uncommonly used XP in the future.

Selfish move by Microsoft, never thinking about the little guy. OK I understand that they want to make money but still......:shadedshu
it all depends on if they were brough up on vista. 95, 98, 2000, xp all work the same basically (gui wise) vista gets rid of the taskbar with vista programs (like ie7). now if you were raised on 95,98,2000, xp you can get the taskbar, vice versa? no not possible...but that's probably not for 5 years? figure that the kid learning now is 5 years old, the school doesn't get comps until they're 10 years old (still early) so by then they'll either be in the transition or they'll be at vista already.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#20
In my opinion, it's about time. I am running Windows Vista right now from a laptop designed around it, and I can honestly say that it is a pleasure. My only complaint is that it gets quite warm when not plugged in, but that's Gateway's fault for not turning on the system blower. Otherwise, everything is very stable, very smooth, very elegant, and most of all, very easy. I'll be buying Windows Vista for my other two computers as soon as I can afford it.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.74/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#21
it all depends on if they were brough up on vista. 95, 98, 2000, xp all work the same basically (gui wise) vista gets rid of the taskbar with vista programs (like ie7). now if you were raised on 95,98,2000, xp you can get the taskbar, vice versa? no not possible...but that's probably not for 5 years? figure that the kid learning now is 5 years old, the school doesn't get comps until they're 10 years old (still early) so by then they'll either be in the transition or they'll be at vista already.
I'm just saying that they're stuff is going to be out of date and god only knows (and he always does because he's cool - I've done bad things, I need to say that to go to heaven:laugh:) when school are going to have enough cash to buy a whole line of new computers (from Dell:shadedshu)with "Vista capable" expensive hardware so that they can just about trundle about on Vista. C'mon guys these things are only going to have 512mb RAM probably. I bet you wouldn't want to run Vista on 512mb, my school computers (farily new) run on 512 with XP and they can run it alright, but Vista, no they're screwed. Most schools in the UK will definitely only have 256mb on their present machines and (shudder) 2-2.8Ghz P4's/celerons because they're so cheap.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#22
I'm just saying that they're stuff is going to be out of date and god only knows (and he always does because he's cool - I've done bad things, I need to say that to go to heaven:laugh:) when school are going to have enough cash to buy a whole line of new computers (from Dell:shadedshu)with "Vista capable" expensive hardware so that they can just about trundle about on Vista. C'mon guys these things are only going to have 512mb RAM probably. I bet you wouldn't want to run Vista on 512mb, my school computers (farily new) run on 512 with XP and they can run it alright, but Vista, no they're screwed. Most schools in the UK will definitely only have 256mb on their present machines and (shudder) 2-2.8Ghz P4's/celerons because they're so cheap.
i feel you with the whole vista on a crap comp. we have really really old comps at school and xp is a pain. i can tell you the comp is running 100% when i open ie ......taks forever. for the schools, i hope prices just keep on dropping, otherwise....idk, maybe they'll have a school verison or something.
 

KillZone

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
57 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#23
I'm just saying that they're stuff is going to be out of date and god only knows (and he always does because he's cool - I've done bad things, I need to say that to go to heaven:laugh:) when school are going to have enough cash to buy a whole line of new computers (from Dell:shadedshu)with "Vista capable" expensive hardware so that they can just about trundle about on Vista. C'mon guys these things are only going to have 512mb RAM probably. I bet you wouldn't want to run Vista on 512mb, my school computers (farily new) run on 512 with XP and they can run it alright, but Vista, no they're screwed. Most schools in the UK will definitely only have 256mb on their present machines and (shudder) 2-2.8Ghz P4's/celerons because they're so cheap.
And the fact is there is nothing wrong with those systems for that purpose. Do you think everyone is going to rush out and buy new loaded systems with min. 2gb or ram and C2D's , don't think so. And for what? some aero graphics and some other funky features?

VISTA is just a big money generating venture that MS must do so Bill can fly into space, lol!!!
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
195 (0.05/day)
Likes
7
System Name Money Pit
Processor Core2Duo E6600 @ 3.2
Motherboard Asus P5E
Cooling Zerotherm Nivana NV 120
Memory 4 gigs Corsair Dominator PC8500
Video Card(s) GeCube 3870--860/1350 & MSI 3870--860/1350 in CF
Storage 1- 250gig Western Dig.Caviar RE Sata and 1-160 gig Western Digital IDE
Display(s) Mag inovision 19"
Case NZXT Tempest ( IT ROCKS :D )
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi xtreme music
Power Supply Ultra X Pro 750 watt
Software Vista Home Premium with SP 1
#24
Considering the cost of Vista and the fact that the performance is upto 25% SLOWER than XP, IMHO its a waste of an "upgrade" especially considering the supposed security updates open you up to all sorts of attacks. As always MS can't get their shit straight and will again hurt you to "help" you, check this link and then tell me how wonderful Vista is

http://blogs.zdnet.com/security/?p=161&tag=nl.e589