1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wipb-2010/1

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Radical_Edward, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,216 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,775
    Location:
    S.Cali
  2. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Sadly, there are some money limitations. Plus the only reason I'd get one would be for crunching, and I'd have to get the BE one... Plus then I would want a 5870 or 5970....

    So, a Phenom X4 is all I get. Plus I have to build the GF's PC as well. I plan on using my current Mobo/CPU/Ram for that.
     
  3. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,216 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,775
    Location:
    S.Cali
    You don't want a 5970, trust me. Your better off getting two 5870's;) The 955 is awesome and can be very easily oc'ed to a 965.
     
  4. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Yeah, I figured as much.

    Plus, there's another reason I have to save up cash, but the GF doesn't know about that one. ;)
     
  5. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    oh damn, you really gonna do the biggie:D

    good luck to you :D
     
  6. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Yeah. We've been dating for 3 years this October. We've been living together for the past year. Things have been going well and I can't see myself being with anyone else besides her... :eek:

    Anyways, here's some photos of my ASUS EAH5770.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    well then, i guess its time to "move on" to the next step:D

    i wish you 2 the best of luck with it.

    and that 5770 looks waaaaay better than your old one bro:toast: , and remember, benches might be a bit dissapointing, but the force is in gaming, :)
     
  8. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Yeah. I've already had the pleasure of testing it out in MW2, and Combat Arms. Works great. :D

    AC2 is still being a pain thou.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2010
  9. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Got AC2 working. Turns out I left my onboard drivers installed. D'oh

    [​IMG]

    Don't click the spoiler unless you've beaten the Venice area.

    [​IMG]

    My current windows score. :rockout:
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Got a new 320GB Seagate HDD today. :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Current Windows 7 score. :toast:
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    So, I have a Antec Spotcool and a Cooler Master Hyper 212+ coming sometime this week. :D
     
  12. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i have the same disk i think, its pretty fast for a regular drive i think... but i still miss my SSD :cry: :p

    oooh, a Hyper, they are pretty nice, but arent they huge? havent seen one irl yet, is it replacing the zalman?
     
  13. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    They are supposed to be tall. But I did some research and alot of people have them in their CM690's.... It will be replacing the Zalman. It's a great cooler and all, but the copper color doesn't quite go right with my blue theme.

    I plan on a new mobo and a X4 in the not so far away future. (As well as a new PSU and quite a few other things.)
     
  14. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    looks nice:)

    then you also have good CF options in the future if you're going that way :)

    and that AII x4 is very nice for the price imo:D
     
  15. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Yeah, I'm thinking a second 5770 is in my future. ;)
     
  16. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    :p they are awesome in cf :toast:

    what other things beside the psu are ├Żou thinking about?
     
  17. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Last edited: May 28, 2010
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    if you have 4gb already then i think its waste of money to get 4gb more when you wanna go with a new mb soon....but idk when that is of course and if youre doing photoshopping/editing on your rig


    and for psu then i would go with this one maybe? COOLER MASTER GX Series RS750-ACAAE3-US 750W ATX12...

    should be really nice afaik.

    not that seasonic is bad, its very good:)

    i just love that mousepad:laugh:
     
  19. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I want to stick with Corsair/SeaSonic for PSUs.

    I do a bit of photo/video editing. My GF does ALOT of photoshop for her art, and uses my computer pretty often.

    As for the Mousepad, it's cheap and funny. I just can't help but get it.
     
  20. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    UPS man brought me a present today. :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Got some cable management done too.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    So far I've seen a 3-4*C temp drop under load compared to my Zalman. :toast:

    Antec spotcool should be here soon...
     
  21. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Got my Antec spotcool. So far I have to say I'm not impressed one bit. The way the fan is mounted is BS. It's basically held together with their brand name sticker on the back and the wires that power the fan. :shadedshu

    It does help my 5770 stay a tad bit cooler, but not enough for me to want to keep it whatsoever. Pretty much $12 down the drain as I see it. :ohwell:
     
  22. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Somehow during shipping the "ball" of the shaft came loose, letting the fan "float" I simply clicked it back into place and all is well!

    Edit- This didn't work. It comes out of it's track. Time for some glue.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2010
  23. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    So I used some "rubber" two part epoxy with great success. Here's a photo. (The zip ties were clamps to keep the PCB in place to where I wanted it to stay.)

    [​IMG]

    I can now use the spot cool whichever way I choose to turn it. Without that horrid noise.

    [​IMG]

    I mounted it like this for two reasons, it cools a area my VGA cooler doesn't, and I don't see it in my case window unless I look from an angle.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2010
  24. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Did some testing with my 5770/Antec spotcool while playing AC2 at max settings with AAx2

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    So far so good. Looking at about a 3-6*C drop. Which isn't that bad. Considering that's enough to turn my GPU fan down a little and not worry as much. :D
     
  25. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Picked up a Corsair HX520W Modular PSU.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Next up on the list that I need VERY soon is some replacement fans for my CPU cooler, more case fans, a second Seagate 320GB HDD, a WD 500GB HDD with a enclosure, and some new damn headphones or some speakers.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)