1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wipb-2010/1

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Radical_Edward, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,283 (7.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,744
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    That motherboard looks good but for alittle more you can go for the goal and get the best one ASRock has!

    ASRock 890FX DELUXE3 AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
    Worldwide exclusive 4 x USB3.0 ports, Turbo UCC


    Also dont get the X4 630 porpus CPU! it lacks L3 cache and is alot slower in games than a phenom II. (tested this with a X4 620) Get a Phenom II X2 555BE and unlock it to a quad. there the same price as the porpus CPU but most ive seen will unlock and alot will do 4ghz easy.

    AMD Phenom II X2 555 Black Edition Callisto 3.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 80W Dual-Core Desktop Processor - C3 Revision
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    That mobo is over my budget.

    I'm think about just getting a AMD Phenom II X4 anyways. I don't want to deal with unlocking cores.
     
  3. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    if you wanna get a new board then i would just get a 890GX, they're cheap, performs well and runs pretty cool.

    + they overclock very well, well mine does:D

    but if your mb supports the X4 then just get that to start with, and keep it at stock speeds or maybe a slight oc

    then you can always save up omney for a new mb if you need it or wanna go CF later
     
  4. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2010
  5. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I ended up choosing this enclosure for the 500GB WD I'm going to buy.

    Also, I hate online tracking sometimes. My Seagate 320GB doesn't get here until Friday, but I want it nooooooooow. :laugh:
     
  7. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Got a "good" condition used Seagate 320GB.

    [​IMG]

    I was all happy, until I booted my PC back up, and saw this....

    [​IMG]

    Then I was like this...

    [​IMG]
     
    dr emulator (madmax) says thanks.
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    thats just wrong to sell a half dead disc:shadedshu
     
  9. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    No crap. I'm demanding my money back on this one.
     
  10. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    So to cheer myself up after the hard drive issue, I got to work modding my case. as I would like to put a 5.25 bay fan controller in this thing. :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    I think it turned out pretty well. Need to order more fans and some other things soon thou.
     
    NAVI_Z says thanks.
  11. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    turned out very nice i think:D

    cant wait to get my multi dremel thingie and start butchering my case too:D
     
    Radical_Edward says thanks.
  12. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Thanks!

    I used a pair of tin snips, and a pair of wire clippers. :D
     
  13. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    tin snips FTW :D
     
  14. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Seriously.

    I need to find a good 5.25 bay fan controller in the $25-35 dollar area...
     
  15. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
  16. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    That Scythe looks promising.

    But I'm personally looking at this.
     
  17. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    damn, 45w per channel :eek: thats alot, that means it can take 10 fans PER channel with ease,
     
  18. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Plus, for $35 bucks, you can't really go wrong. :D
     
  19. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    id say that too, looks like a very nice one:D

    if it didnt cost a fortune in shipping id buy one-.-
     
  20. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Got a new hard drive today! :D

    [​IMG]

    WD 500GB Blue, sadly it's only 8MB Cache. :(
     
  21. steelkane

    steelkane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,370 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    it's even apple certified
     
  22. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Yeah, I'm going to be putting it in my external enclosure when it get's here.
     
  23. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    So, I made a tad bit of a mistake, and it seems my new WD Blue is the 16 MB cache. I was looking at the wrong HDD in Everest... Whoops.

    Next up on the order list...

    3 of these... F12 PWN fans

    2 of these... Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKS 500GB 7200 ...

    One of these... SunbeamTech Airbox EN-AIR-ES3-BK Aluminum (except ...

    2 sets of these... COOLER MASTER R4-L2S-122B-GP 120mm 4 BLUE LED LED ...

    That's all for this paycheck. The following will have to wait until next month.

    Mobo... ASRock 880G EXTREME3 AM3 AMD 880G HDMI SATA 6Gb/s ...

    CPU... AMD Phenom II X4 925 Deneb 2.8GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cac...

    RAM... G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333...

    Headset... ABS AZ1 Virtual 7.1 Surround Sound Light Weight Ci...

    Mouse... GIGABYTE GM-M6800 Noble Black 5+1 Buttons 1 x Whee...

    Mousepad... COOLER MASTER SGS-4000-KSM-1-GP CS-M FPS Tactics: ...
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2010
  24. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Just got my "replacement" cables for my PSU from Corsair. Got them free of charge. :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  25. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    cant wait to see how that 880G board performs:D


    thats very nice of them just to give them to you, but then again, its corsair, i've always had good experience with them :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)